Search Unity

  1. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

GeNa - Sophisticated procedural content spawner

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by AdamGoodrich, Oct 22, 2016.

  1. Mike891

    Mike891

    Joined:
    May 18, 2019
    Posts:
    16
    Thanks
     
  2. S4G4N

    S4G4N

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Posts:
    2,894
    Hey man, you must also try the DISCORD, you will get support way faster there :)
    Procedural World Discord
     
  3. Gua

    Gua

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Posts:
    382
    I've noticed that in latest GENA we can spawn texture. Can we get a tutorial on that feature?
     
  4. Gua

    Gua

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Posts:
    382
    How do I delete spawned tree instances in GENA 2.5?
     
    S4G4N likes this.
  5. S4G4N

    S4G4N

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Posts:
    2,894
    You should join the Procedural World Discord
    Many users and support staff there 24/7
     
  6. Gua

    Gua

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Posts:
    382
    If it gets answered on this forum. Other people can find it and future me, that will forget it will be able to find it using google.
     
  7. BryanPW

    BryanPW

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2017
    Posts:
    134
    We are working on getting updated tutorials out as soon as possible!
     
  8. BryanPW

    BryanPW

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2017
    Posts:
    134
    You can go to the Gena Spawner- Spawn Prototypes- Details- Delete Instances, or you can Ctrl and BackSpace- this will delete them as well. Please note this will delete all of the prefabs under that spawner.
     
  9. Gua

    Gua

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Posts:
    382
    At least for objects added through tree terrain but spawned with Gena it doesn't work.
     
  10. BryanPW

    BryanPW

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2017
    Posts:
    134
    Can you please try this option, and let me know if this works?
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Gua

    Gua

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Posts:
    382
    I don't have this button for terrain trees objects (Unity 2018.4.20). It's there for game objects, but not for terrain trees.



     
    Last edited: May 15, 2020
  12. Mike891

    Mike891

    Joined:
    May 18, 2019
    Posts:
    16
    That was March 2. Now July 14. You still keep to sell with splines on asset website and know buyers don't get it. For 4 months already. How do you think deceptive means?
     
  13. AdamGoodrich

    AdamGoodrich

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Posts:
    3,689
    If only the real world conformed to our best laid plans and intentions. Sadly it doesn't. The fact that it doesn't does not make us deceptive. It just makes us normal. When we have further news on GeNa then we will announce it.
     
    S4G4N likes this.
  14. blacksun666

    blacksun666

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2015
    Posts:
    190
    Adam, you are breaking UK consumer law (I don't know about the laws of other countries). You promise and charge for a list of features, yet in this forum say people will have to pay extra for those promised features. Please amend your advert, you are knowingly misleading people. Alternatively retract your statement that spines will incur additional money.
     
  15. AdamGoodrich

    AdamGoodrich

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Posts:
    3,689
    Removed as per your feedback.

    In the bigger picture we always try and do what we think is fair.

    A huge amount of work has gone into the next version of GeNa, about 9 man months of a professional developers time and counting.

    As we did and continue to do with Gaia 2, and Gaia Pro, we have done a lot more to the product than what we promised. The sad reality is that most people don't seem to care or appreciate that we go further and push harder to make better products. Splines is just the beginning of what we have added. We have taken the tool to an entirely new level and have even bigger plans for it in the future as well.

    Anyways. We are refining our approach to our products on the asset store as a whole and have a plan for GeNa that we hope everyone here will like. For most people it will be a massive boost in value.

    When we are ready to launch we will share more information.
     
    Mark_01, S4G4N and StevenPicard like this.
  16. blacksun666

    blacksun666

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2015
    Posts:
    190
    Thank you Adam. I do not doubt the work that goes into your products, nor that they are excellent value for money. Gaia was the first ever asset I purchased from the asset store and I've bought many other Procedural World assets since. I wish other asset store vendors came with the same level of professionalism, support, and longevity as those offered by Procedural Worlds, but have been burnt several times by other vendors.
    I look forward to your future offerings and news.
     
    Mark_01, S4G4N and AdamGoodrich like this.
  17. StevenPicard

    StevenPicard

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2016
    Posts:
    717
    Will the new version work in 2019.4 LTS? I know you might name it something like Gena 2020 but I plan to stay in this version for awhile and Gena is a great tool.
     
  18. AdamGoodrich

    AdamGoodrich

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Posts:
    3,689
    Yeah it should. Nothing in there at moment that i can think of that would cause issues.
     
    StevenPicard likes this.
  19. BryanPW

    BryanPW

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2017
    Posts:
    134
    As far as I know, no one has reported any issues with that version!
     
  20. StevenPicard

    StevenPicard

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2016
    Posts:
    717
    Are you talking about the new version still to come out? That's the version I'm talking about. I have owned Gena since version 1 first came out and version 2 works great.
     
  21. BryanPW

    BryanPW

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2017
    Posts:
    134
    I mean 2019.4 doesn't have any issues that we have been made aware of. I am testing it and nothing is wrong so you should be fine!
     
    StevenPicard likes this.
  22. StevenPicard

    StevenPicard

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2016
    Posts:
    717
    I have to say. This is still one of my all time favorite tools!
     
    BryanPW likes this.
  23. BryanPW

    BryanPW

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2017
    Posts:
    134
    We are glad this is the case!!!
     
  24. nanditho

    nanditho

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2018
    Posts:
    14


    Hello,
    I really love the asset until i mess up with Vegetation Studio.
    So i uninstalled the vegetation studio because the error, then bad error occur to Gena 2.
    GENA 2 keep asking the namespace of Awesome technology which is Vegetation Studio.

    I have tried the solution below:
    https://proceduralworlds.freshdesk....ing-vegetation-studio-pro-in-the-same-project

    But turn to other error. Im using Unity 2019.4. LTS

    Can you help me
     
  25. BryanPW

    BryanPW

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2017
    Posts:
    134

    Hey there,

    Can you please go to edit- project settings- and go-to player. If you can copy the scriptable define symbols and send it or send a screenshot.

    What I believe is the problem is that it may not have removed this from the defined symbols and this may be what is causing the issue in code as it is still acting like it is there. Please let me know if this is the case.

    Also, note that you have to delete it and hit enter or it will not save.
     
  26. newguy123

    newguy123

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2018
    Posts:
    412
    It looks like some of the Nature Manufacture Assets are compatible with RTX in 2020.1

    Would I be able to use HDRP in RTX mode and use GENA2 to scatter the plants?
     
  27. BryanPW

    BryanPW

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2017
    Posts:
    134
    Yes, you can create your own spawner and add the vegetation to the spawner!
     
    newguy123 likes this.
  28. newguy123

    newguy123

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2018
    Posts:
    412
    I dont actually own GENA2 (yet)

    Is it simple enough to scatter things over meshes (not terrain)

    Typical use case:
    Import HIGH Poly Tree Meshes FBX from 3ds Max, then scatter 3 or 4 different types of high poly trees over another mesh (not a terrain, but typically another mesh that was created in 3ds Max using either a flat plane, or polygons that was derived from AutoCAD contour data)
     
unityunity