Search Unity

Garbage for every OnUpdate when using ECS

Discussion in 'Entity Component System' started by BonneCW, Jan 10, 2020.

1. BonneCW

BonneCW

Hey there,

I'm relatively new to ECS and wonder if it's okay that every system I have allocates memory each frame. E.g. a very simple one for energy regeneration:

Code (CSharp):
    1. using Unity.Entities;
    2. using UnityEngine;
    4. public class EnergyRegenerationSystem : ComponentSystem {
    6.     protected override void OnUpdate() {
    7.         Entities.ForEach((ref EnergyData data) => {
    8.             if (data.CurrentEnergy >= data.MaxEnergy) return;
    10.             data.CurrentEnergy += data.RegenerationRate * Time.deltaTime;
    12.             if (data.CurrentEnergy <= data.MaxEnergy) return;
    14.             data.CurrentEnergy = data.MaxEnergy;
    15.         });
    16.     }
    18. }
    It seems when ForEach is executed a new NativeArray and underlying a new List ist created.

I'm using Unity 2019.2.17f1 on Windows with Entities 0.1.1.

Is this a bug, intention or am I just doing something wrong?

2. daschatten

daschatten

Profile this in a build, should be gone there. This is due to safety checks in editor.

3. Lucas-Meijer

Lucas-Meijer

Unity Technologies

If you use the new Entities.Foreach feature in JobComponentSystem instead of ComponentSystem, you can do this without garbage and with burst.

deus0 and Diukrone like this.
  4. Sarkahn

Sarkahn

Unless I'm mistaken I think it's from the lambda - the old ComponentSystem doesn't do the compile time magic to avoid the GC allocations when using lambdas.

5. Opeth001

Opeth001

As a workaround im creating local function and put them in Delegates then pass the Delegates to the Entities.foreach which prevent the creation of GC on every frame. This is working for me.

6. Sarkahn

Sarkahn