Search Unity

Games aren't what they used to be.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Redux, Sep 26, 2021.

1. Redux

Redux

The title is misleading, this isn't a "back in my day" speech. I'd say it's more just a guy complaining he personally doesn't find the same enjoyment playing games that he used to. I still love developing games, I've been working on Project Warlike for three years and it's coming together awesomely. When it comes to playing games, however, I find myself losing attention pretty quickly, and my mind drifts. Games just don't sink their teeth into me like they used to.

Wondering if anyone else has had a similar experience. What thoughts did/do you have on it? Life getting busy? Just not having as strong of an imagination as we age? Am I just a cranky 36 year old? Probably some combination of all of them.

aer0ace and Martin_H like this.
  2. EternalAmbiguity

EternalAmbiguity

Depends on the game. I played Elex a few months back and had a blast. Currently playing Persona 4 and finding it hard to play for long periods of time.

I think part of it is I feel bad about spending so much time on entertainment...but I don't really have this problem browsing the internet (mostly reddit), so I don't know.

3. NocturnalWisp

NocturnalWisp

I feel exactly the same way. I'm definitely not at an age where I can say "back in my day" but I do feel that I am less and less invested. Stories don't pull me in like they used to. Honestly the last game that pulled me in was Rage 2 (which kinda leaves a sour taste in my mouth cause it's not even that good imo)

I may come back to a good game here and there like Slay the Spire, but it's just not the same

I'm not going to say I know the answer, but the more and more I develop games the less magical they become for me, possibly? It could also be the quality of games more recently, or there may be something to say about the way we scroll through lists of games on online stores/game streaming platforms.