Search Unity

Question GameManager references between load scenes

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by Nayas, Sep 27, 2021.

1. Nayas

Nayas

Hello Everyone,

I am new to Unity and started a week ago.
    I am going through a book (Developing 2D Games with Unity) and some YT video (mainly this one) to learn the Unity basis, mostly 2D stuff at the moment.

I have a question about references between scene load. I have a problem with my dummy project and I do not understand why it does not behave as it should.

I have a GameManager object, which holds some values and references (player, text, ennemi).
    As I read on this forum/reddit/stackoverflow, I am running this code :

Code (CSharp):
    1.     public static GameManager instance;
    3.     private void Awake()
    4.     {
    5.         if (GameManager.instance != null)
    6.         {
    7.             Destroy(gameObject);
    8.             return;
    9.         }
    11.         instance = this;
    12.         SceneManager.sceneLoaded += LoadState;
    13.         DontDestroyOnLoad(gameObject);
    When I move to a locate that load another screen, I lose the references to the player, enemy and weapon.
    I still have the values for the other int that I save in SaveState() and load in LoadState().

I tried to remove the Destroy(gameObject); line, to see the difference between both GameManager object.

The original one has no references anymore to the player, enemy and weapon but has the value for some other int.
    The newly created GameManager has references to player, enemy and weapon but has no values to the other int values.

I added some Debug.Log(""); text in the awake to follow the execution and it seems to be OK.
    I do not understand the behavior and how I can fix it.

Anyone could share some help on problem?

Thanks!

2. JoeStrout

JoeStrout

I'll see if I can help you understand what's going on.