Search Unity

Bug GameCenterPlatform.ShowDefaultAchievementCompletionBanner not working as described

Discussion in 'iOS and tvOS' started by Freddicus, May 22, 2022.

1. Freddicus

Freddicus

Hello and thank you for taking the time to view my post.

I’ve been scouring the internet for information related to the API mentioned in this thread’s subject. Best I can garner is that there was a bug early on in the Unity 5.x days but the trail goes cold after it was ostensibly fixed.

I cannot get this to work for the life of me. I’m able to successfully log into Game Center. I’m able to successfully report achievement progress. I’m also able to view the completed achievements in Game Center. I even refactored my code so it wouldn’t load a new scene during submission to Game Center. My code more or less looks exactly like the example code. Set flag. Authenticate. Report progress in success condition of Auth.

My background is that I’m a professional software engineer, and I’m at a loss on how to debug this black box piece of functionality.

I’ve posted to Reddit and in several Discord communities, and no one has responded to me. Please help. I don’t know where else to turn.

API link: https://docs.unity3d.com/ScriptRefe...m.ShowDefaultAchievementCompletionBanner.html

Edit: I’m on 2021.3.3f1 LTS Apple Silicon

Edit 2: Short of reverse engineering Unity, in GameKit I imagine the analogous property is this: https://developer.apple.com/documen...t/1521058-showscompletionbanner?language=objc

I see plenty of il2cpp code in the compiled Xcode project with regards to ShowDefaultAchievementCompletionBanner, but I think it's all just internal calls to Unity Engine and not native Objective-C or Swift that invokes GameKit.

Last edited: May 23, 2022
    dan_ginovker likes this.
  2. Freddicus

Freddicus