Search Unity

Game Objects placed on ground plane in AR always sliding but no one's talking about it

Discussion in 'AR' started by mhussar, Apr 15, 2020.

1. mhussar

mhussar

Hi All,

I scoured the internet via search engines, online tutorial sites, Youtube and Unity forums, but after days of searching can not get a straight answer on how to ensure that when game objects are placed on a ground plane in AR that they do not slip and slide. Now I've implemented my AR IOS apps using all the best practices like proper lighting, real-life floors with varied physical features like knots in wood, etc, being mindful of reflective surfaces, using the latest verified packages for AR Foundation, ARKit, etc, using simple test code as a POC.
    I'm not a newbie developer and I've exhausted all the obvious possible reasons why the object doesn't stay fixed to the floor. I found some hope in possibly using ARAnchors but even this doesn't seem to be doing the trick. I'm coming to the conclusion that while creating ARKit apps via Unity is pretty neat, it's perhaps still not fully baked and can't yet achieve the feat of fixing a game object to a physical location like native Xcode ARKit can do.

Can someone please disabuse me of this conclusion and direct me to a GitHub repo, Youtube video, code snippet, etc. that allows me to understand how to achieve this seemingly impossible feat in Unity.

Please, kindly do not just direct me to ARAnchor in the Unity docs. I've already read the unity docs for AR and the existing docs do not help to resolve the problem.

Best
    Mike

BanzBowinkel likes this.
  2. DreamPower

DreamPower