Search Unity

Game Idea - Is it enough

Discussion in 'Game Design' started by Wannabeuk, Feb 9, 2017.

1. Wannabeuk

Wannabeuk

OK so I've been working on the design for my game on and off for a couple of years, and recently got the time and resources to begin working on it. I've been prototyping for a while now and I've now come back to my design and I must admit to having a slight worry that my game won't offer enough to get other people interested in playing.

The basic concept of my game is the player is on a spaceship that is badly damaged. Top-down style with click to move controls, There a numerous systems around this ship that work together, these systems are in a state of disrepair and need work to fix them.

For example a doorway may be lacking power, as such the player would need to locate the nearest power distribution node and work out why that is, it could be that there is not enough power in the system for everything at which point the player could manipulate the power junctions to redistribute enough power for the door. Or they could find and repair something that is preventing enough power to flow into the system (Such as other nodes or generators).

The game is built up from this basic concept into more and more complex system, such as the engine systems with dozens of component systems that all need to be working and correctly configured in order to get the engines back online. With catastrophic results for misrepair/config.

The game has atmosphere simulation, power system, resource systems and such to build into these complex systems that will need repairs.