Search Unity

  1. Unity 2019.2 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice

Game executables wont run.

Discussion in '2017.3 Beta' started by JeffNik, Sep 27, 2017.

  1. JeffNik

    JeffNik

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Posts:
    8
    Windows game executables generated by Unity 2017.3b2 wont run. They get to splash screen (in both windowed and fullscreen mode) and crash. Tried on home PC and work PC.

    Steps to reproduce:

    uninstalled all previous versions of Unity.

    Installed Unity beta 2017.3b2.

    Created new project, added default cube object, compiled for Windows desktop x64.

    Generated game.exe

    Close Unity environment (or leave open - no diff)

    Run game.exe in place... get to splash screen, then crash. :-(
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Charles_Beauchemin

    Charles_Beauchemin

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2017
    Posts:
    342
    Hi JeffNik,

    Can you create a bugreport for this issue and post the link here for reference?

    Thanks for your help,
    Charles
     
  3. PhilSA

    PhilSA

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2013
    Posts:
    1,121
    Had this probelm with Vulkan (or was it Dx12?) in b1. Did you leave the graphics API to default?
     
  4. JeffNik

    JeffNik

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Posts:
    8
  5. JeffNik

    JeffNik

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Posts:
    8
    Left graphics system to default - and I cant find a setting to choose a graphics API. If you tell me where I can set it, I'd love to test that...
     
  6. PhilSA

    PhilSA

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2013
    Posts:
    1,121


    In Player Settings, if you uncheck "Auto Graphics API for Windows", you'll get to choose your graphics API
     
  7. JeffNik

    JeffNik

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Posts:
    8
    Thanks. No luck. On my work machine (Win 7) - tried OpenGL instead of DX11 (worked on 2017.1), and on my home (Win10) - Tried DX12. Same crash, both machines.
     
  8. Hagn

    Hagn

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Posts:
    8
    I also submitted a bug report for a similar issue. Only the 32 bit standalone player runs. The 64 bit player crashes after logging "The file '..._Data/level0' is corrupted! Remove it and launch unity again!"
     
  9. JeffNik

    JeffNik

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Posts:
    8
    Confirmed - looks like the same issue - I just recompiled for 32bit, and the executable runs fine. Thanks!
     
  10. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    6,644
    This is a known issue. It's fixed in 2017.3.0b3.