Search Unity

GAME ENGINE using Unity 3D

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by sidegame, Feb 28, 2013.

1. sidegame

sidegame

Hello there!:)
    I’m new to Unity and Unity Community so sorry if I posted in wrong place; i have a question (I don’t know it’s a fool question or not?) can I create a GAME ENGINE using Unity 3D I mean (My own Game engine that can create game for iOS with easy scripting).
    I know that creating game engine needs (Open GL + Open Al + etc…) and also good experience in C++ and high Math.
    But these are the things that are so difficult to me so, is it possible to create a game engine using Unity3D.
    Thanks!

2. Jaimi

Jaimi

Of course it is. And since it's already a game engine, you have an incredible head start on making a more specialized game engine.

3. wccrawford

wccrawford

Unity *is* a game engine.

4. poncho

poncho

yeah, it is like using excel, and make some templates, after you make a game in unity, that can be used as a "game engine", where to make a whole new game you would only need to change sprites, world and other few elements, dont worry about the graphic libraries unity does it for you. good luck

5. imaginaryhuman

imaginaryhuman

mmm yes Unity is a game engine, you could add another layer of your own script language, gui interface, features, tools, etc on top of it and call that your engine. You can't really peel back the hood too much to get to the lower levels and implement stuff like a better use of OpenGL etc, but you can build on what's there.

6. kalamona

kalamona

There was a serious try, but their KS failed. It is here:
    http://axisgamefactory.com/

There are also some frameworks in the asset store (rpg kits, rts kits and such), that might be considered a "game engine inside unity".

7. kingcharizard

kingcharizard

that axis thing is pretty cool, looks fun to play with.

8. sama-van

sama-van

Unity is a game engine running on PC and mac.