Search Unity

Game design theory and practice?

Discussion in 'Game Design' started by dharmadischarge, Sep 14, 2020.

1. dharmadischarge

dharmadischarge

I am trying to transition from board game design to video game design. And find all of it overwhelming mainly because I have had little experience with coding prior to actually starting development on my current demo. I am mainly relying on tutorials. but find that the documentation of bolt is not the best. and understanding how to implement any feature that isn't already a cliche is slowing progress to a crawl.

The main point of switching to digital games was to use ideas that just wouldn't work in a boardgame.

I intend on giving a summation of what I aiming to have as a feature list in the game below along with some of my game assets in hope that I may be able to find collaborators. but if not any constructive criticism would be welcome. and if there are any blogs with better documentation of bolt that would be a dream come true.

The elevator pitch of my current game is spelunky meets stardew valley. The idea of the gameplay loop is seeds and the base resources of the farming aspect are found during foraging through spelunky like levels. I want to make something that is like Minecraft but with more emphasis on survival than making a playground. there is more to it than that but I don't know if this is the appropriate forum for my elevator pitch for collaborators but if you are interested I can give more details on what I want the game to be.

The main thing I have done for the last couple of days was start to develop the aesthetic of the sprite art. I am really fascinated by nes and early arcade game so have focused on bright colors over a black background. examples below. mushroom fiend Sprite-0001.gif rio-0002.gif Sprite-0004 attack.gif Sprite-0004.gif

mushroom fiend Sprite-0001.gif rio-0002.gif Sprite-0004 attack.gif Sprite-0004.gif