Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.

★ Game Creator ★

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by Catsoft-Studios, Jul 12, 2017.

  1. BillBurr

    BillBurr

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    Hi guys! I have my player set to Input type: Side Scroll X and its rotating by default facing away from the camera, Is it possible to have the player snap to one side and how would I go by to implement that.

    Thancks and love the asset btw.
     
  2. stain2319

    stain2319

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2020
    Posts:
    377
    So I have a weird problem. I am wondering what might be the issue.
    Using: GC, Melee, Stats

    I have a cube (Rigidbody) with a box collider on it and a trigger 'on receive attack' which causes it to take damage. Every time the player hits the cube the trigger should go off and it has some conditions/actions on it.

    The conditions/actions work fine...

    The problem is that it takes damage every time the player attacks, even if the player is nowhere near the cube. I checked the box collider and it's in the right place/right size so I can't figure out why it thinks it is being attacked...
     
  3. stain2319

    stain2319

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2020
    Posts:
    377
    I feel like I must be missing something. I set up a very simple cube with "on receive attack" trigger, which prints a Debug Message "attack detected." I put it waaaaaaaaaaay in the corner of my scene. I set up a character trigger for "on key down (keypad 5)" input melee attack A.

    When I press 5, the character attacks (swings sword) and I get "attack detected" message... even though the cube with this trigger on it is 20 meters from the player.

    Does this trigger not do what I think it does? Do I have to do some additional check to see what the character hit?
     
  4. stain2319

    stain2319

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2020
    Posts:
    377
    A little more detail: on the "On Receive Attack" trigger, if I set the Type to "Ignore" then the attack is not detected at all (even when it should be.) If I set the type to "Receive Damage" then it detects the attack even when there is no collision.

    I have created a video showing my steps from creation of new project all the way to reproducing this issue... not sure what to do about it. I'm simply trying to create destructible objects by detecting attacks against those objects...

     
    Vaupell likes this.
  5. stain2319

    stain2319

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2020
    Posts:
    377
    If I set the minimum distance here it seems to resolve it-

    upload_2020-12-8_7-53-50.png


    We could really use some more thorough documentation.... :)
     
  6. stain2319

    stain2319

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2020
    Posts:
    377
    I still question whether this really makes sense. I'm not sure what the purpose of having a collider is if it's not for detecting collisions...
     
  7. kdgalla

    kdgalla

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Posts:
    4,037
    No it doesn't make any sense to me. I just tested this in my own project. In my project the OnReceiveAttack trigger absolutely does not fire on a random cube, whether they have a collider or not. Only an object with a CharacterMelee component should be able to "receive" an attack. Not sure what's going on in your case.

    Edit: oops, no. Actually it looks like my cube does trigger an OnReceiveAttack after all, but only when colliding with a blade, as expected. Are you sure the collision box on your blade is set to a reasonable size and shape?
     
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2020
  8. stain2319

    stain2319

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2020
    Posts:
    377
    positive. I am using the example sword that came with the Melee Examples.

    One thing, though: I do not have a CharacterMelee component on my cube (because it's not a character.) Is this absolutely necessary? I am just trying to make a destructible object at this point...

    Another thing: You said ..."whether they have a collider or not" but when I add an OnReceiveAttack, it insists that I need a collider... just pointing that out.
     
  9. stain2319

    stain2319

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2020
    Posts:
    377
    I note that there is also a "Target Melee" component I can add, I am not sure if that's what I need here either. The documentation does not mention this at all...
     
  10. kdgalla

    kdgalla

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Posts:
    4,037
    Forget about that part. I was wrong the first time. As I mentioned in my edit, the cube later did work properly. That time it did it with a collider and no CharacterMelee component. Sorry about the confusion.

    So strangely, for me it's working exactly how you think it should.
     
  11. stain2319

    stain2319

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2020
    Posts:
    377
    Ok so I think I got this working and I think it's down to an issue with the example weapon. I edited the SwordWeapon prefab and although the hit box was only a little bigger than the blade I made it smaller so it fit the blade more closely. I also noted a "debug mode" checkbox and turned that off. This seems to work better...

    A little disappointed that i haven't gotten any "official" help on this either here or on the discord. The documentation for the Melee module seems really sparse... and I didn't find any "on receive attack" trigger anywhere in the example scene...
     
  12. EA72W

    EA72W

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Hi i would need help creating a jump pad. I succeeded by creating a trigger on my object and putting a jump action as soon as my player touches it but the action is only repeated once
     
  13. BillBurr

    BillBurr

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    I have a problem with changing the 3D character model, I downloaded the character model from mixamo and after dragging and dropping it in the character model slot the player is stuck in the T pose.
    Is there a problem with Game creator or am I doing something wrong? I men the character is moving but for some reason it's not being animated.
    Do i have to change something in the import settings?
     
  14. Catsoft-Studios

    Catsoft-Studios

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Posts:
    699
    Yes, you most likely forgot to change the Rig type from Generic to Humanoid. Select the 3D model and in the Inspector, choose the Rig tab and select "Humanoid". Drag and drop it again onto the scene Character and should work just fine.

    Did you use a "On Player Enter" Trigger? If you did, the only thing that could be causing an issue is if you marked the "Destroy After Finishing" checkbox in the Actions that make the player jump. Make sure that's unticked.

    Hope you got it working at the end. Just like not all scripts are mentioned in the documentation, the TargetMelee component is not meant to be used by the end-user. That's why it's not mentioned. Not sure why you don't get any "On Receive Attack" callbacks, as these should work just fine (tested it now and works). Did you use a custom-made weapon?
     
  15. WinterT

    WinterT

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Posts:
    9
    Hello, I just recently purchased Game Creator and a few modules and I have to say it's pretty fun and intuitive. Lots of information so I've been living in YouTube land watching tutorials but my project is coming along. I do have a question I could not find an answer to though. Is is possible to use a generic (rig) model, with only 4 bones in conjunction with the melee module? I've got a simple character model that I've got walking, jumping, even added emotes using triggers. But for the life of me the bloody thing will not draw a sword. I've added a debug message to the trigger when it draws a weapon I do see, but no weapon is visible, even if I update the weapon to attach to "Root". Not exactly sure what to do to make this particular model work.
     
  16. Corva-Nocta

    Corva-Nocta

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Posts:
    776
    Love this asset and its bundles! Just got a bunch of them and I've been having a lot of fun with them!

    I've noticed a small amount of camera jitter when following the player though. Any thoughts on how to fix this? I'm sure its been asked but I can't find an answer!
     
  17. Boomboyag

    Boomboyag

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2020
    Posts:
    33
    Hey, I recently purchased Game Creator and was wondering if it was compatible with Emerald AI. Anyone know if it is?
     
    Vaupell likes this.
  18. Vaupell

    Vaupell

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    Posts:
    301
    Comments like this is why i feel reluctant to buy in to the thing, Emerald AI (without trying to advertise) its been around much longer than GC, and it is one of the old and few assets actually maintained over many years.
    But lucky enough, it's very easy to make it work with GC, because it's using their event system, just like GC
    However, because of the event system, both GC and EAI have prefab issues when spawning them in.

    In both cases, minor scripts are needed, but it is very possible to integrate EAI with GC.,

    Other than that, i think both assets GC and EAI is amazing.
    Even though i strongly dislike the business idea of DLC for assets the way GC is doing it.
     
  19. Vaupell

    Vaupell

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    Posts:
    301
    Fibonaccov likes this.
  20. TheGhost0

    TheGhost0

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2017
    Posts:
    29
    i get this error

    Code (CSharp):
    1. InvalidOperationException: You are trying to read Input using the UnityEngine.Input class, but you have switched active Input handling to Input System package in Player Settings.
    2. GameCreator.Characters.PlayerCharacter.UpdateInputDirectional () (at Assets/Plugins/GameCreator/Characters/Mono/Characters/PlayerCharacter.cs:139)
    3. GameCreator.Characters.PlayerCharacter.Update () (at Assets/Plugins/GameCreator/Characters/Mono/Characters/PlayerCharacter.cs:104)
    4.  
    please help me
     
  21. Catsoft-Studios

    Catsoft-Studios

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Posts:
    699
    You're using Unity's Input System but have disabled Input Manager (these two names can be easily mixed up :p ). To fix this, go to the top toolbar and select Edit -> Project Settings -> Player. Then, scroll down until you see "Input Handling" and choose the option "Both". This will allow you to use both Unity's Input Manager and Input Systems.

    We'll check this out, thanks for the link! See if we can work something out in the future.

    Despite this, let me say I understand your reasoning against trusting GC's Behavior Tree system. However, Game Creator has a very particular visual scripting system that plays very nice with our tweaked behavior trees, something that we couldn't do with Emerald AI (because it isn't part of the standard implementation of behavior trees, all things said).

    This is because Actions are "chained instructions" executed one after another, where the next one holds the execution until the previous one has finished. With Behavior Trees you can make this by using a Sequence Composite node, which lays these horizontally. However, this also makes behavior trees grow a lot horizontally, something that should be avoided at all costs, since you will usually want to have everything as compact as possible.

    Basically you can squeeze an entire 10 node (or more) composite sequence (which again, take a whole lot of real estate) into a single node without having a single drawback.

    Sorry for the late reply, I hadn't seen your message. Just for future reference, jittering usually happens if you attach a "Adventure Motor" or "FPS Camera Motor" on the player. These motors should be at the root of the scene or parented under an object that doesn't move.

    The reason of the jitter is because the motor tries to compute the movement of the camera, but because it's parented under an object that also moves, it inherits and adds up the movement on top.
     
  22. dragonborn360

    dragonborn360

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    Good day I need some help please. I recently started my fps project and decided to go with with fps arms only opposed to a full body. So I added the player character and set up the fps camera and camera motor and so everything seems to be working fine. But I later noticed that when moving the camera up and down on the x axis the fps arms wont follow the camera it only seems to follow the camera on the y axis and not the x axis. Is there anyway to fix this because I am now stuck and cant go on before I solve this problem. Any input regarding a solution would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2021
  23. Catsoft-Studios

    Catsoft-Studios

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Posts:
    699
    Just answered the same message you sent me via PM, but I'm posting the answer for future reference:

    The FPS hands should be set to Humanoid so that Game Creator's FK system can move the arms up and down according to the pitch of the camera. Check out the FPS demo included with the Shooter module.

    If your model doesn't have support for Humanoid characters, you could always try to attach the arms onto the camera controller so it inherits its rotation and position. However, I'm not sure if that will cause any issues with the muzzle position from where shots are fired.
     
  24. dragonborn360

    dragonborn360

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    Hi thanks for your reply, the problem is that its only fps arms so it not a humanoid rig and therefore I cant change the rig to humanoid. I also cant parent it to the camera motor because it completely messes up the movement of the arm rotation on x and y axis. The solution I found was to parent the fps arms to the camera but when I use the change model action it instantiates the fps arms in the player again, then I aim back at square one, because when the fps arms are parented to the player I can only move the arms horizontal and not vertically, in other word the fps arms model itself doesn't adjust with the pitch of the player.
     
  25. Jamie067

    Jamie067

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    Posts:
    5
    Hi. I'm having some trouble importing a character I made in blender to the character model section. I can use other models that I have downloaded and I can import the model I made into my scene, but I have no idea why I can't use it as a character. Any help is greatly appreciated.
     
  26. Jamie067

    Jamie067

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    Posts:
    5
    Nevermind. I spent hours trying to figure this out and as soon as I post a message, I see what I did wrong. The rig wasn't set to humanoid.
     
  27. Jamie067

    Jamie067

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    Posts:
    5
    I've got a couple more questions that I've been struggling with for a long time now.
    First, I have my PC, a human enemy and a wolf enemy in my scene. I have a list of humans for the wolf to detect and attack but it only half works. The wolf is able to track both PC and the other human on the list but is only able to see the PC. Both humans are using the same model and I have no idea why the wolf can only see one of us.
    The second question is about being able to hit the human enemy with a weapon. Both the characters have weapons and the weapons can hit each other but can't hit the characters. I'm wondering if the two issues are related but if anyone knows what is going on here, I really need the help. Thanks.
     
  28. yousif199189

    yousif199189

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    what's up I have problem with the melee module the enemy start attacking even when he's far form the player I tried to fix it but no luck yet can you help me with that.
     
  29. Jamie067

    Jamie067

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    Posts:
    5
    I'm trying to make a true first person controller with the camera fixed to the head of the player. I've got it looking pretty good with a target camera motor targeting 20 infront of the player but can't look around so is there a way to move the target with the mouse? Another way I am thinking of doing it is to change the camera to one on the head but use a different controller and a script to stabilize it but I can't find a way to change camera or disable the current motor.
     
  30. Aspiron94

    Aspiron94

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
    Posts:
    12
    Hi, thanks for this great tool but I have a question about dubbel jump. Is there a way to count the jump times in a variable or something? so I can do a Attack on the second jump? Thanks in advance!
     
  31. Aspiron94

    Aspiron94

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
    Posts:
    12
    Swap cameramoters can be done in the Actions Component -> Add "Change Camera' -> put the cameramotor of your choice in there.or try it with 'Set Active' and put the cameramotor in there.
     
  32. Aspiron94

    Aspiron94

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
    Posts:
    12
    Hi guys I've another problem. When I press button to attack my character doesn't move untill attack is ended. Why is this and how can I fix this issue?
     
  33. Helerion92

    Helerion92

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Hi guys, can we add the value of one variable to another variable? I'm working on a money system.
     
  34. G_Trex

    G_Trex

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2013
    Posts:
    95
    Is it worth asking a support question here? I notice the asset creator hasn't posted since Feb 7.

    I sent an email on Wednesday, but still haven't received a reply. What's the best way top get any help?
     
  35. kdgalla

    kdgalla

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Posts:
    4,037
    A better place to ask is the GameCreator discord:
    https://gamecreator.page.link/discord

    There are a lot of users that can probably answer your question, and the author does come on more frequently there.
     
  36. G_Trex

    G_Trex

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2013
    Posts:
    95
    Thanks. I'll give the discord a try next time I'm stuck.

    Since I'm here, I'll also give the answer to the questions I had:

    Is the dialog system compatible with an controller (ie xbox360/xbox one)?
    Yes! Selecting the responses and everything work well with the controller.

    Can you use your own player character?
    Yes. With the Dialog system too.
    Just make sure they have the hook component added from this asset, and make sure a character controller is added.
     
  37. HideoKojimaPunchFace

    HideoKojimaPunchFace

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Posts:
    274
    I HAVE to use Unity 2021.x because of many many issues for XR/Mobile on 2019.x and 2020.x ... however, after I entered my invoice number to get the latest 1.1.11 version from the hub still in Unity the GC-Screen tells me I can't install it > LTS bla bla....

    please! I want a refund. I do this 30 years now, and honestly - if it doesn't work right out of the box - it's not a penny worth! It get's complicated? then it should be free!

    BOLT for example doesn't make any issues!
     
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2021
    Jeepeedee likes this.
  38. tgentry

    tgentry

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    Posts:
    36
    When I create a Player with Game Creator. They are always running. How can I make them walk using the wsad keys then run holding shift-wsad?

    edit: I found on page 9, the video about crouching that looked like something I could use for walking by default and running with shift. So... I will look into that once I am back at work. Thanks Have just bought everything you have and looking forward to more.
     
    Last edited: May 2, 2021
  39. Jeepeedee

    Jeepeedee

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2016
    Posts:
    6
    Hi guys,

    I just tried to build a game i made with Game Creator and test it on my android phone. I get a splashscreen saying "WELCOME TO GAME CREATOR" when I launch the game, and cannot figure how to get rid of it. Maybe a dummy question, but this is annoying...

    Please help, the developper doesn't reply...

    Screenshot_20210503-190442.png
     
  40. kdgalla

    kdgalla

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Posts:
    4,037
    Open the build settings. There's a section called "scenes in build" which has a list of scenes that go in your build.
    https://docs.unity3d.com/Manual/BuildSettings.html

    Whichever scene is at the top of the list is the one that will load first when you run the game. The Game Creator demo scenes are probably listed there right now. Make sure that you add your own scene and move it to the top of the list.
     
    Jeepeedee likes this.
  41. trueh

    trueh

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2013
    Posts:
    42
    Hi:

    I can see in Game Creator's home page that a new module is coming up soon. What iss that module?

    Regards
     
  42. Tuqka

    Tuqka

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    I need help when I attack my enemy and he does a perfect block I get this error:
    NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object
    GameCreator.Melee.CharacterMelee.LateUpdate () (at Assets/Plugins/GameCreator/Melee/Mono/Components/CharacterMelee.cs:191).

    Help!!!
     
  43. tgentry

    tgentry

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    Posts:
    36
    Character Slides before stopping at Marker
    I am using the most up to date version of Game Creator with Behavior. Everything is a simple setup nothing complex yet. I build a behavior upload_2021-6-15_9-44-23.png

    upload_2021-6-15_9-45-29.png
    I place markers and tell the character to move to markers.
    upload_2021-6-15_9-46-48.png
    The character travels to each marker like expected, but stops walking prior to the marker and slides into the marker. The markers have a stop Threshold of 0, so that should not be a problem. upload_2021-6-15_9-52-39.png
    I am in an empty project and have tried multiple versions of Unity, all with the same result. At least I am constant each time I do this. What am I missing?

    Thanks
     
  44. ddesmond

    ddesmond

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Posts:
    163
    has anyone used ooti motion controller with game creator?
     
  45. baumxyz

    baumxyz

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2017
    Posts:
    92
    Does the project still exist? "Catsoft Works" is no longer a publisher in the Unity Asset Store? At least the link doesn't work anymore: https://assetstore.unity.com/publishers/7791

    Also, I can't find any assets with the name Game Creator anymore. What happened?


    Okay, seems like the Asset Store is buggy right now.
     
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2021
  46. AGregori

    AGregori

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Posts:
    514
    @baumxyz When in doubt, just check their Discord channel, it's pretty much active and alive.
     
    baumxyz likes this.
  47. tomobiki

    tomobiki

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2020
    Posts:
    65
    Hi, I need to assign to a local variable the value stored in the 2nd item of a variable list, but I don't find an action to do this, becuase the "assign" action only allows to assign a specific value to a variable, but not the value of another variable. Thanks
     
  48. jeroll3d

    jeroll3d

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Posts:
    239
    Game Creator is great for me. I've been testing things (movements and multiple cameras) and everything turned out really good. However, now I want to add secondary actions to my character. I can walk, run, jump, be idle (multiple animations). My challenge now is to 'sit in a chair' (or several with different angles). I believe that, first, I will have to have animations for this (sit - transitions). An object with 'trigger' and 'collider' (my intention is to use the left mouse click to trigger the 'sit' action). The 'sit' action - in my case - will dispense with 'angle transitions' at this point - that is, the 'chair' can be at any angle, the following animation is 'click on the object, player is taken to the axis X and thus triggering the sit animation'.

    I would like to translate this in GC. If a tutorial on is possible, it would be nice. :)

    Just to illustrate my intent - except for character movement or control (in this case I use WASD from the GC). In other words: I just want to use the left mouse button on the 'chair' object to trigger the sit action according to the X axis - direction).

     
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2021
  49. Rusted_Games

    Rusted_Games

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Posts:
    134
    @jeroll3d for animations I would suggest the "Have A Sit Animation Pack" from the Epic Marketplace https://www.unrealengine.com/marketplace/en-US/product/have-a-sit-animation-pack then you can convert them to Unity Humanoid, I made a video here
    , finally as per the sitting tutorial I believe the creator covered a similar task when interviewed by messycoder here:
    hope it helps
     
    jeroll3d and AGregori like this.
  50. jeroll3d

    jeroll3d

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Posts:
    239