Search Unity

  1. Click here to see what's on sale for the "Best of Super Sale" on the Asset Store
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

★ Game Creator ★

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by Catsoft-Studios, Jul 12, 2017.

  1. malditonuke

    malditonuke

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2017
    Posts:
    16
    This tutorial shows how to make a destructible item:
     
  2. MAXFORCE

    MAXFORCE

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Posts:
    45
    A non "game creator" character have a script, where is health = 100. And non "game creator" character (a robot or creature with 5-6 legs and 3-4 hands) have a weapon to kill "game creator" character. I don't know how to give damage both.
     
  3. ron-bohn

    ron-bohn

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2015
    Posts:
    152
    Are there any roadblocks in creating gamepad support with Game Creator compared to using the existing input system with c# ? I've set up basic gamepad support on a couple c# projects by changing "GetKeyDown" etc to "GetButtonDown" etc where I can define both keyboard controls and the gamepad axis for the target platform(s) in the default input manager.

    I understand that unity is re-working their input system, but can I just change the code manually in c# to set-up my own gamepad support in the meantime? Just wondering how hard it would be compared to a strictly c# project currently...doing it manually without your built-in "triggers" system. Thanks!
     
  4. malditonuke

    malditonuke

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2017
    Posts:
    16
    I didn't try Unity's new input system since I already have the InControl asset. Using that I was able to add gamepad support without much trouble. I used the PlayerCharacter script as a base class and it works fine.

    You don't have to use the trigger gameobject system either if you don't want to. It's fine for setting up simple things, but for more complicated behaviors I use my own scripts. You can also use the Behavior Tree addon for player actions, but it's kind of tricky.
     
  5. malditonuke

    malditonuke

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2017
    Posts:
    16
    That's a hard question to answer with many possible answers. If you add the Stats component to the characters, then the video shows how to use triggers to reduce the "health" of a character. The stats and trigger components can be added to any gameobject.

    And you don't have to use stats component. You can also add the Local Variables component to any object and track its health there.

    If you are using some other system for health, then it really depends on the system.
     
  6. ron-bohn

    ron-bohn

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2015
    Posts:
    152
    So the input is accessible via a single script. Sounds easy enough!
    That's good to know I can drop in my own custom behaviors. As for the Behavior tree, that seems useful for AI (with or without input commands), or for switching between characters in real-time like many sports games. Sounds like the Behavior Module can easily schedule AI update times too. Very cool! Thanks!
     
    malditonuke likes this.
  7. Nanomid

    Nanomid

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Posts:
    7
    Not inspired. Error on first use because array bounds were not checked.
    Here:
    Code (CSharp):
    1.         private void PaintToolbar(int currentSidebarIndex)
    2.         {
    3.             EditorGUILayout.BeginHorizontal(EditorStyles.toolbar);
    4.             GUILayout.FlexibleSpace();
    5.  
    6.             currentSidebarIndex = Mathf.Clamp(currentSidebarIndex, 0, DATABASES.Count - 1);
    7.             if (DATABASES[currentSidebarIndex].dataEditor.CanBeDecoupled())
    8.             {
     
  8. davidoggo

    davidoggo

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Hi Catsoft-Studios !
    I was wondering if the inventory module supports mobile input. If so, is a mouse click equal to a single touch? As I'm able to drag and drop items on PC, would It be the same on a touch screen?
     
  9. unknown_game

    unknown_game

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2019
    Posts:
    8
    I too have a question similar to maxforce's question i have the stats module on a game object using another character controller. the other character controller has a damage function that takes a number (a float i believe) when i use game creator's call method action it does not accept any variables from game creator. i own all game creator modules plus a few unofficial ones if there is any way to use call method with a variable from game creator i would like to know
     
  10. Catsoft-Studios

    Catsoft-Studios

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Posts:
    637
    Did you remove any Game Creator files? The bounds are checked using the Clamp method. However, if there's no database object (a custom scriptable object with a specific layout) this error will pop. However, this should never be the case unless these files are moved or deleted. Is this the case? If not, could you tell us a bit more about the steps you took when this happened?

    Touching the screen with a finger is translated as a left click and touching the screen with two fingers is translated as a right click. The Inventory should work, although I'm not 100% sure dragging and dropping items does. I'll test this out and circle back!

    As long as the "health" is a Stats component (from the Stats module), you should have no problems using the Actions "Attribute Change" or "Stat Change" and setting the target either a Game Creator character or a non-GC character.

    You can then separately have a Trigger that detects when a character's health reaches zero and play the death animation and cascade the side effects of such state (non-controllable, etc...)
     
  11. brombs73

    brombs73

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Posts:
    3
    Hi,
    Does Game Creator use RVO using NavMeshAgent?
     
  12. Tzontonel

    Tzontonel

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2016
    Posts:
    3
    You have the Melee combat implemented? I'm looking for a first-person controller with a melee combat system.
     
  13. kdgalla

    kdgalla

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Posts:
    2,486
    Catsoft-Studios and Tzontonel like this.
  14. Tzontonel

    Tzontonel

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2016
    Posts:
    3
  15. Catsoft-Studios

    Catsoft-Studios

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Posts:
    637
    Touch controls appear automatically when GC detects you're running the game on a mobile device. For example, if you set the Player's input mode to directional (that would be using the WASD keys on your keyboard), it will pop a virtual joystick on the left side of the screen when running on an Android or iOS device.

    We'll update the documentation to reflect this accordingly. Thanks for the heads up!
     
    Tzontonel likes this.
  16. Tzontonel

    Tzontonel

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2016
    Posts:
    3

    @Catsoft-Studios thank you very much for the explanation, but I can't see any virtual controls in editing mode, they are fully customizable or at least supports other touch control assets? For example, if I want to map controls to specific UI buttons?
     
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2020
  17. Prefab

    Prefab

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Posts:
    68
    Hi @Catsoft-Studios , I have just discovered this great asset and I am looking through all the modules and features, very impressive stuff! Thank you for creating this asset.

    I have a few questions which I couldn't find answered in the live stream videos and forum, apologies if they have already been answered (just link me to the answer if they have). Here they are:

    1. Is it possible to dual wield the same weapon eg. one revolver in each hand, one sword in each hand?
    2. It it possible to have a weapon that you can choose whether to single or dual wield eg. single wield a sword and hold with two hands, or grab another sword and dual wield both (one in each hand)?
    3. Is it possible to wield both melee and shooter weapons eg. revolver and shield, revolver and sword?
    4. While using the traversal module, can weapons be used while interacting with climbable objects eg. shoot revolver while hanging from ledge or going down zip line or while in cover?
    5. After climbing up to the top, is there a way to drop back down onto a ledge to be able to climb back down? When I tried this I kept falling of the top of the building, but could be just me stuffing it up
    6. For melee weapons (but could be relevant to shooter as well), is it possible to configure specific reaction animations per weapon attack/combo (for the same weapon) eg. small stagger for knife stab, medium stagger for knife thrust, knock down for knife smash etc, so that different attacks have different reactions?
    7. Similar to the above, is it possible to set reaction animations based on the state of the enemy eg. if enemy is not stunned a knife stab will stun them, but if they are already stunned a knife stab will knock them down?
    8. Is there a way to configure which states weapons can and cannot be used in eg. can use weapons while walking, but not while running or jumping?

    Hopefully that's not too many questions. Thank you and looking forward to learning more about this.
     
  18. Danirey

    Danirey

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    Posts:
    542
    Hi all,

    i’m new with this system but not new to unity, just want to keep things simple since i got stuck too many times doing things by myself. I can think how to code some stuff, but not sure how to do that with this system.
    i’m wondering if is it possible to avoid the character stops on each corner of a navmeshpath when using point and click input system.

    also have another question, if i want to create a rts like camera and move it with WASD and QE for rotate, the first idea was to use a character and remove the model so i can reuse all the built in movements, but i think it will be a pain at some point, for example moving the camera over zones not suitables for a character.... so the question is, how can i move an object without a character controller?

    Thanks a lot for the help
     
  19. Danirey

    Danirey

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    Posts:
    542
    Hi again,

    I'm playing with custom stuff and can't get this condition working...
    Code (CSharp):
    1. namespace GameCreator.Core
    2. {
    3.     using GameCreator.Characters;
    4.     using System.Collections;
    5.     using System.Collections.Generic;
    6.     using UnityEngine;
    7.     using UnityEngine.Events;
    8.  
    9.     [AddComponentMenu("")]
    10.     public class GetState : ICondition
    11.     {
    12.         public TargetCharacter target;
    13.         public string stateName;
    14.         public override bool Check(GameObject target)
    15.         {
    16.             Character character = this.target.GetCharacter(target);
    17.  
    18.             var state = character.GetCharacterAnimator().GetState(0);
    19.             if (state.name == stateName)
    20.             {
    21.                 return true;
    22.             }
    23.             return false;
    24.         }
    25.      
    26.         #if UNITY_EDITOR
    27.         public static new string NAME = "Custom/GetState";
    28.         #endif
    29.     }
    30. }
    Any clue of what is wrong here? The goal is to get the current state of the character and compare it with the string provided. So for example, if "Crouch" state is active, returns true... Right?

    Cheers!
     
  20. MAXFORCE

    MAXFORCE

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Posts:
    45
    I bought game creator, and modules quests, stats and melee. But other modules I got free and I don't have an invoice. When I want to download community addons, that need invoice for them, I can't download. Example Condition - Has Required Items For Recipe from https://hub.gamecreator.io/content
    there is message "User does not have permission to access the file". Is there a solution for the problem?
     
  21. Catsoft-Studios

    Catsoft-Studios

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Posts:
    637
    This means you need to link your Asset Store invoice with our servers, so we can validate the purchase. To do so, simply go to the top-right corner of the Game Creator Hub website and go to Settings. Scroll down and copy & paste the invoice number (usually starts with INXXXXXXX) on the last field, where it says Licenses: Invoice.

    There's a bit of confusion between a character state and the "State" object returned by the Character script. That "state" object contains a bunch of values that inform of the current character's locomotion, which is primarily used by the Character Animator component.

    States are basically runtime controllers that are stacked on top of each other using Unity's Playable API and they have no name once they start playing. I'm afraid there's no easy way to get the top-most playable node's name.

    However, if you should be able to check if the current state is "crouch" if you create a Local Variable of type "Bool" and set it to TRUE every time you use change the character's state to Crouch, and to false when you remove the state in that specific layer.

    Hope this makes sense.

    If the character stops at corners and drags their body means there's a difference between the character's radius and the navigation mesh tolerance radius. Try baking again the navigation mesh.

    On one hand, there's an unofficial RTS module coming up, so you may want to take a look at that on our Discord server. If you want to still do it by yourself, using an "invisible" character is a good idea as you on't have to start from scratch. You can use Layer Masks to make the character not collide with scene geometry, but you'll need to carefully prepare which objects should be part of which layer. As a tip, look up on Google "Unity Collision Matrix", and it should help you build a scene where you have a flat surface where the invisible character can freely move while having the game geometry as you would normally do.
     
  22. Prefab

    Prefab

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Posts:
    68
    Hi @Catsoft-Studios , are you able to also reply to my questions please, I would really appreciate it. Happy if you prefer to send it as a PM instead.
     
  23. Catsoft-Studios

    Catsoft-Studios

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Posts:
    637
    • Is it possible to dual wield the same weapon eg. one revolver in each hand, one sword in each hand?

    Not natively, although the community has been hard at work on this and there are a couple of ways to do this. I haven't been able to test it, but here's a video showcasing it: VIDEO
    • It it possible to have a weapon that you can choose whether to single or dual wield eg. single wield a sword and hold with two hands, or grab another sword and dual wield both (one in each hand)?
    Because it's not supported by design, I can't really answer this, but I believe that with the aforementioned system from Lieutenant Cats, any weapon can be dual-wielded.
    • Is it possible to wield both melee and shooter weapons eg. revolver and shield, revolver and sword?

    Yes, this is possible. A shooter weapon and a Melee weapon work independently. However, bear in mind you'll have to make some mechanism that prevents from shooting while attacking with a sword. Unless you want to be able to do both things at the same time.
    • While using the traversal module, can weapons be used while interacting with climbable objects eg. shoot revolver while hanging from ledge or going down zip line or while in cover?
    That would require to have separate animations for each weapon, and for each Climbable position, so it's not something we plan on supporting. However, from the code perspective, nothing stops you from doing so. Just that it would require x10 the number of animations at least!
    • After climbing up to the top, is there a way to drop back down onto a ledge to be able to climb back down? When I tried this I kept falling of the top of the building, but could be just me stuffing it up
    Yes. The Ledge prefab doesn't have this functionality, but you can check out the Ladder, which has this. If you are at the top of a platform where there's a ladder coming down, there's a Trigger at the top tip that, upon pressing Space, the character drops and grabs the ladder. You could do something very similar with Ledges.

    This is a nice feature, I'm taking note and may include it as a built-in element in the next update.
    • For melee weapons (but could be relevant to shooter as well), is it possible to configure specific reaction animations per weapon attack/combo (for the same weapon) eg. small stagger for knife stab, medium stagger for knife thrust, knock down for knife smash etc, so that different attacks have different reactions?
    Reaction animations are defined inside the Shield assets, so it doesn't depend on the attacker's weapon of choice, but on the current weapon wielded by the defender.

    However, when using the "On Receive Attack" Trigger, you get access to the attacker's character object. This attacker could have a Stat or Local Variable that indicates how long will it stagger its opponent based on the weapon it's currently wielding.
    • Similar to the above, is it possible to set reaction animations based on the state of the enemy eg. if enemy is not stunned a knife stab will stun them, but if they are already stunned a knife stab will knock them down?
    The Melee system comes with a stagger system called "Poise". Each subsequent attack diminishes a character's own poise meter (which refills over time). When it reaches 0, you can play a "knockback" animation or any other animation you may have (like a longer stun). Check out the WebGL demo and keep an eye on the Poise meter.
    • Is there a way to configure which states weapons can and cannot be used in eg. can use weapons while walking, but not while running or jumping?
    A state by default has all default animations in place. If you have a weapon that doesn't allow you character to run, simply use the "Character Property" action to disable the "Can Run" checkbox. On the "On Unequip" Actions list of that weapon, change the "Can Run" to true so when the character unequips the weapon can run again.

    Phew that was quite the text. Hope this is clearer now!
     
    Prefab likes this.
  24. Catsoft-Studios

    Catsoft-Studios

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Posts:
    637
    I was answering them while you answered. Just wanted to answer them as a separate post because of the amount of questions :)
     
    Prefab likes this.
  25. Prefab

    Prefab

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Posts:
    68
    Thank you!
     
    Catsoft-Studios likes this.
  26. MAXFORCE

    MAXFORCE

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Posts:
    45
    Catsoft-Studios - You don't answer for my problem. Yes, I have copied and pasted all my invoices. But not inventory, shooter, behavior, dialogue. I own all of them. Only not the traversal. And what to do, any solution for problem. No solution?
    game creator invoices.jpg
     
  27. vorokoi

    vorokoi

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Posts:
    39
    @MAXFORCE you want access to community made actions even though some of the modules you have were acquired illegally? Ok...
     
  28. MAXFORCE

    MAXFORCE

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Posts:
    45
    No. They were free. They are legal. Free - no invoice. And when you got with voucher - there is no invoice.
    game creator.jpg
     
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2020
  29. Catsoft-Studios

    Catsoft-Studios

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Posts:
    637
    I think I understand. At the very, very beginning, some modules were free on the Asset Store because we needed users to test them in order to give us feedback and improve them.

    As for downloading Actions and Conditions that require these licenses, I'll open a ticket and have a look. Just to be sure, you can download all Actions that have Game Creator as a requisite, but not other licenses, such as the Inventory. Correct?
     
  30. MAXFORCE

    MAXFORCE

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Posts:
    45
    I don't have invoices for inventory, shooter, behavior, dialogue.
    I have invoices for melee, quests, stats, game creator.
    I have not bought traversal. But I plan to buy.
     
  31. Catsoft-Studios

    Catsoft-Studios

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Posts:
    637
    I understand the issue, and I wasn't aware Unity didn't issue invoices for free products. However, right now there's no way for us to verify that a user has purchased an asset without an invoice, and that's the foundation for the whole Hub platform.

    If it was a Condition I had created, I would simply send it to you, but I can't since it is from another user. However, I'd encourage you to get in contact with him/her. In each package page there's a comment box at the end. Try asking if they can send it to you or change the clearance level.
     
  32. digiross

    digiross

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012
    Posts:
    268
    I have kept my eye on Game Creator for awhile since I want to create and not get too bogged down with coding. About a month ago I looked at some examples/demo's and it seemed like it ran slow, performance didn't seem right.

    Do you have an performance comparisons? Better demo/examples I can check out. Thanks
     
  33. MAXFORCE

    MAXFORCE

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Posts:
    45
    Author - Persistent Idiot, Condition - Has Required Items For Recipe. How send him message?
     
  34. Catsoft-Studios

    Catsoft-Studios

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Posts:
    637
    There's a chat box below each Action, Condition and Trigger page in the Game Creator Hub. You can write a message there.

    Edit: I've talked to the developer and he is okay with releasing the package under no dependencies. You should already be able to download it from the Game Creator Hub!
     
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2020
  35. MAXFORCE

    MAXFORCE

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Posts:
    45
    I can't download. No ability.
     
  36. Catsoft-Studios

    Catsoft-Studios

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Posts:
    637
    Said that too early and the metadata hadn't yet propagated through the CDNs. Could you try now?
     
    MAXFORCE likes this.
  37. MAXFORCE

    MAXFORCE

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Posts:
    45
    Thank you. Now I can download.
     
    Catsoft-Studios likes this.
  38. digiross

    digiross

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012
    Posts:
    268
    Terrain Question: Before I purchase, this works for any terrain correct? Gaia? Low poly? Procedural?

    Performance Question: Any performance results/comparisons?

    Thanks
     
    Catsoft-Studios likes this.
  39. Prefab

    Prefab

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Posts:
    68
  40. Catsoft-Studios

    Catsoft-Studios

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Posts:
    637
    Yup, Game Creator should work on any type of terrain, as long as there's a collider. Also, if your terrain supports NavMesh, it can also allow characters to traverse it avoiding obstacles. Just make sure to check the "Use navmesh" checkbox under the Character's Advanced Properties, in the Inspector, after selecting a Character.

    Just answered you. Sorry for the late reply.
     
  41. mike_unity261

    mike_unity261

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    What was the solution to this? I'm getting it too. Unity 2020.1.8f1 Personal on Windows 10.

     
  42. sky_dragon

    sky_dragon

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Posts:
    28
    hello, how to control [Is enabled] by actions in the Melee?

     
unityunity