Search Unity

★ Game Creator ★

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by Catsoft-Studios, Jul 12, 2017.

  1. PaulGK

    PaulGK

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2016
    Posts:
    27
  2. Catsoft-Studios

    Catsoft-Studios

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Posts:
    539
    As @PaulGK says, the best way would be using the Behavior module, as it's specifically designed to handle NPC behavior. Check out this video on how to create a Hide & Seek game. Translating it into a combat framework shouldn't be difficult to pull.



    On the other hand, if you don't want to purchase the Behavior module, you can try (if your AI is very simple) using the Move Character To action and add some threshold radius, so the enemy doesn't try to get into the player's position, but stays a bit far. Setting this Action to "Wait till Complete" will allow it to execute an attack right after, as it means the enemy is close enough to attack the player.

    Hope this helps!
     
  3. Daniel-Talis

    Daniel-Talis

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Posts:
    366
    Is there a tutorial that shows how to switch between the First Person and Adventure Cameras with a key press or a button click?
     
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2019
  4. Catsoft-Studios

    Catsoft-Studios

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Posts:
    539
    Not at the moment, but is quite easy to do. We've noticed we need to create more "basic" tutorials and hope that this one, which has been requested a few times now, will make it soon to our Youtube channel.

    But meanwhile, you can use the "On Key Down" Trigger to detect when a key is pressed and use the "Change Camera" action to switch between different camera motors.
     
  5. Daniel-Talis

    Daniel-Talis

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Posts:
    366
    Thanks, I have another basic question that I hope you can answer.. I can turn off 'run' and have the Player walk but is there a way to replace the default walk animation with another? I have a female Player and the default walk is 'very' male.
     
  6. Catsoft-Studios

    Catsoft-Studios

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Posts:
    539
    Sure, it's quite easy. The locomotion animations are part of a sub-system called States. A State is basically a list of animation clips that are internally arranged and picked from when playing a character's animation.

    To change the default walk animations, right click on your project and select Create → Game Creator → State. Check this link to know more about States and how they look like: https://docs.gamecreator.io/game-creator/game-creator/characters/states#custom-states.

    You can drag and drop your custom walk animations. Once you've done that, select your scene Character and drop the State object onto the "Default State" field. This will tell Game Creator you wish do use a custom set of animations instead of the default ones.

    Screen Shot 2019-07-28 at 10.24.48 AM.png

    That's all. Hope this helps! For more information about States & Gestures, make sure to check our tutorial:
    . Cheers!
     
  7. Daniel-Talis

    Daniel-Talis

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Posts:
    366
    Great, this asset is starting to look very useful indeed. :)
     
    Catsoft-Studios likes this.
  8. Daniel-Talis

    Daniel-Talis

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Posts:
    366
    Got this to work really well with a new idle and walk for females from Mixamo. Only problem I'm having is that the idle won't loop even though the imported animation is set to loop. Is there a another tickbox that I'm missing. I've looked around on the Player but can't find one?
     
  9. Catsoft-Studios

    Catsoft-Studios

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Posts:
    539
    The idle should loop as long as you check the "loop animation" checkbox in the animation clip. But you say you already have done it. Could you post some screenshots of the State as well as the animation clip settings?
     
  10. Daniel-Talis

    Daniel-Talis

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Posts:
    366
    Solved.. I had a couple of animations looped but not the one I am using.. thanks, so pleased to get it working. :)
     
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2019
    Catsoft-Studios likes this.
  11. Catsoft-Studios

    Catsoft-Studios

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Posts:
    539
    Glad to hear it ;) Cheers!
     
  12. Catsoft-Studios

    Catsoft-Studios

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Posts:
    539
    We just added a new tutorial that shows how to switch between different camera motors and thought you might be interested. Cheers!

     
    anton88pro, PaulGK and Daniel-Talis like this.
  13. akuei2

    akuei2

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2018
    Posts:
    68
    Hi, look like inventory support skin mesh now :)
     
    Catsoft-Studios likes this.
  14. Catsoft-Studios

    Catsoft-Studios

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Posts:
    539
    Yes! We added support for SkinMesh Renderers :) For anyone interested, it's as simple as using the "Instantiate Skin" Action and select the mesh prefab. It will automatically retarget the bones to the target's character:

    https://twitter.com/catsoftstudios/status/1156567625515905024.
     
    akuei2 likes this.
  15. anton88pro

    anton88pro

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2017
    Posts:
    36
    Hi!

    Do you have any plan to implement raycast hover trigger? It's necessary feature for every fps games: crosshair needs to change color when aiming at enemies or pointing at interactive element, raycast hover is also needed to trigger events or display information.
    Otherwise, FPS in Game Creator seem to be incomplete even for a walking simulator. And as I remember, you wanted to bring shooting module, but I don't see how you can do it without bringing raycast hover trigger first.
    I've also noticed Game Creator hub has "Cursor Raycast Any". Is what I needed? Would it work with the latest version of Game Creator (this module was updated 2 months ago). module link
     
    Catsoft-Studios likes this.
  16. Devision4

    Devision4

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Posts:
    1,310
    Catsoft-Studios and anton88pro like this.
  17. Devision4

    Devision4

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Posts:
    1,310
    You can join the discord Channel. We are nice and try to help each other! Its a great community.
     
    Catsoft-Studios likes this.
  18. mikemuk01

    mikemuk01

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2016
    Posts:
    44
    Please can someone help me. I am new to Game Creator and I have set up a Player in my scene, but I would like to use my own character. The GC manual says I should click the ‘change character ‘ button but I cannot find this button. I also cannot find a way to alter the walking speed of the Player, I have only a running speed entry which doesn’t seem to work. I’m using GC version 0.9.9 Thank you
     
  19. PaulGK

    PaulGK

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2016
    Posts:
    27
    If you click on your Game creator player you have created in your hierarchy you should get the option to set speed, change the character model, plus lots of other goodies you can alter in the inspector.
     
    Catsoft-Studios likes this.
  20. awesomedata

    awesomedata

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2014
    Posts:
    830
    @Catsoft-Studios

    This looks rather well-designed so far!


    I think your approach is pretty good regarding modularity. There is one thing I'm unclear on though -- It seems like the input system should be modular too. For example, Rewired isn't supported, nor are actions from the new Input System from Unity. Supporting the latter would be best IMO. How might one go about changing over to Unity's new Input System from the current version?

    One other thing I noticed...

    It is simple to make small simple behaviors, but wiring up complex ones gets repetitive.

    Is there any way I might've missed to create a single (combined) action out of a list of actions?
    Maybe using Nested Prefabs?
    Perhaps you could convert the existing actions into a "meta" action via script or something? This ability made Bolt's approach speedy as you only needed to wire things up once, then use it like a method, dropping it in and providing it some inputs. Gameflow is really great in this regard too. Maybe it could be useful to mark certain fields of certain actions as "arguments" that should be kept _variable_ after conversion to a grouped "action", leaving all other arguments hardcoded after conversion (for speed purposes). I could imagine writing my own input controller this way.

    That said -- From a user standpoint, these two things are really all I can see that needs to be improved! :)
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2019
    Catsoft-Studios likes this.
  21. Catsoft-Studios

    Catsoft-Studios

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Posts:
    539
    I don't think that's what you need. Instead, check out the Hotspot component: It allows to change the cursor when hovering over objects automatically (as well as other things). See the documentation for more details.

    I think I already answered you via email, but just for anyone's with the same question: The Change Model button is no longer a button, but a drop zone. See documentation with a GIF showcasing this.

    As for the walk and run speed, we simplified this too. The Walk speed is always the half of the Run speed. So if your character runs at a speed of 10 units per second, its walking speed will be 10/2 = 5. This is due to it simplifies the syncing between the idle/walk/run animation cycles.

    Thank you! Agree on this, but we didn't want to add a Rewired dependency on Game Creator, as we can't force them to purchase Rewired if they want to use our package. When Unity releases a stable version of the new Input System and makes it the default one, we'll definitely add support for it.

    Excellent question. If I understood this correctly, indeed, that's possible. Although we don't have a proper name as Bolt does (I think they are called Macros) you can create a Prefab out of an Actions object. You can then use the Action Call Action to execute another Action. This can either be a prefab or a scene Action. This is very useful since you can create common mechanics and pack them as prefabs, allowing you to reuse them throughout the entire game.

    For arguments, you can make use of Local Variables. I'm not quite sure if you were referring to this, so please, further explain if I missed the point :)

    Thank you and happy game making everyone!
     
  22. Catsoft-Studios

    Catsoft-Studios

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Posts:
    539
    This thread is very quite lately, so in case someone is only following this, here's a quick recap of what we've been up to.

    Unite Copenhagen 2019: We're going! If someone ones to share a beer, drop us a message! Would love to meet in person and talk :)

    Game Creator 1.0.1: Yup! It's out of Beta! We have just launched the latest version which fixes a bunch of issues and should be ready for production. Let us know what you think!

    Support Channel: In addition to Discord, we've set up a new Forum where you can ask your questions, share ideas and give suggestions. Anyone can participate! https://support.gamecreator.io

    Shooter module: The latest addition to the family of modules designed for Game Creator is about to be complete! We'll do a live stream on Wednesday 18th at 06:00 PM UTC on Youtube, where we'll overview how this module works as well as listen to suggestions, try your ideas and hear your opinion. You can set a reminder on the following link:


    (Click on the title and go to Youtube. Live Streams are not supported on embedded iframes)

    Happy game making!
     
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2019
  23. blueFire

    blueFire

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Posts:
    60
    Any idea how soon the shooter module will be released or what the price will be?
     
  24. JC_LEON

    JC_LEON

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Posts:
    439
    amd iss there a registration of the stream i missed the event and would to see it.. and hope shootermo dule can accomplish my needs so i could start to use really Game Creator.. since ihave it on my asset library but ner really used it
     
  25. blueFire

    blueFire

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Posts:
    60
    You can see the video showing the shooter module on Youtube here:
     
  26. blueFire

    blueFire

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Posts:
    60
    It mentioned in the shooter video above that the shooter module was for ranged combat only and has no melee attacks included. How easy is it to add melee attacks using what is currently available in Game Creator? Are there any easy to follow tutorials anywhere showing how to add melee attacks?
     
    Catsoft-Studios likes this.
  27. Catsoft-Studios

    Catsoft-Studios

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Posts:
    539
    I'm about to release a new Game Creator version that fixes some compatibility bugs. After that, I'll work towards polishing the Shooter module and getting it ready for release. My take is that at the beginning of October it should be available. About the price, I still haven't decided yet, but expect a price somewhat around the liking of the rest of the packages. Maybe a slightly higher due to it has taken more time to develop.

    As you correctly mention, the Shooter module aims to help you build games with ranged combat capabilities. For close quarter combat we intend to create a separate module called Melee. We'll start working on it right after the Shooter is released (we'll also give some time to update previous modules with new features though).

    Initially we wanted to create one single combat module, but swords and guns have little to do with each other. Fighting close quarter is more about timing, having combos and dealing with stun locks, managing distance, etc... Whereas gun fighting deals with quick aiming, reloading times, fire rate, ammo and other quirks. So in order to create clean modules, we decided it was better to have these two systems as separate packages.
     
  28. SLASH24

    SLASH24

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Posts:
    123
    hello @Catsoft-Studios !
    my name is Adjo,

    there seems to be an issue with the latests versions of GameCreator core.
    and its seems to be a big blocker issue...
    I've installed it correctly with right after, all the other modules except for network multiplayer,
    then I added a player with no customizations, hit play try to move the player to the right,
    release the right key, wait until the player stops totally, then hit right key again:
    issue, because the player doesn't move! he would eventually rotate if facing the opposite direction, but no movement...
    then keep on holding the key and wait a few seconds, yeah its a matter of several seconds, then it will start moving again !

    to sum up there's an issue with character movement, running, stopping and running again. if you stop moving then moving again is problematic.

    I've tried to re-install, even made a new empty project, but no solution.
    I hope it helps, and that it'll be fixed soon ! any one else notice the same issue ??

    next:
    keep going with the good work and modules it's great. I like what you are creating and working on. since more than 2 years for me now!

    Also:
    you talked about a traversal module, or locomotion... I'm waiting for this actually ! take a look at an asset called HEROIC TRAVERSAL by ANIMATION BANDIT, it would be awesome to make Third person game with almost all these acrobatic moves, jumping, wall running, climbing,shimmy, swinging, vaulting over, etc... but easily, you know, the game creator way yeah... it should also make it easier to make use of root-motion animations to achieve traversal motions and specials moves. what are your thoughts about it??

    next, I'd love to make a "Max Payne, bullet time, mid air diving hero" the same way as the rockstar's franchise... aiming in all directions while in air. but of course quite easily to setup, for the programmers and designer...

    next,
    another important thing is the INPUT, yeah we need an input Module or update to the core functions !
    key points would be:
    *using gamepads and controllers easily for developers and gamers / users as well
    *allowing the modification of controls for the gamers, during runtime, through menus...

    still I'm waiting hard on shooter and melee modules too !
    I have bought every items on your asset store page...
    it's very useful. I worked with it often this year.

    many thanks in advance !
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2019
  29. Catsoft-Studios

    Catsoft-Studios

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Posts:
    539
    Hi Adjo. We haven't been able to reproduce what you're describing. In order to keep track of this issue, could you open a ticket at our support channel? Also, it would really help if you could screen-capture what you're doing as well as the result. This will enormously help us see were the problem might be.

    The support page is the following: https://support.gamecreator.io

    Thanks :) Super glad to hear that!

    Yup, the Traversal module is coming right after the Melee (which will enter pre-production phase after we release the Shooter module). We're still gathering a list of moves that the character will have, so feel free to send us suggestions (you can use the "ideas" tag in the support channel. We'll definitely take a look at the heroic actions package. We'll provide some basic animations, but you'll be able to replace them with any custom ones (or purchased, such as the aforementioned package).

    Regarding root motion, we don't have plans on supporting it at the moment. The reason being that root-motion animations can be easily converted to character controllers that don't use root motion, but not the other way around. There are a couple of technical reasons, but although with time we could get around them, it's much easier to have one single universal locomotion system that works out of the box.

    You can already do this! Check out this livestream (timestamped) where I showcase how you can create a quick bullet time effect. Note that you'd probably want to add some post-processing effect while being in this mode, like adding chromatic aberration, making the camera turn black and white or some sort of fancy effect.



    Glad you're bringing this up. Unity's current Input system works fairly well, but it's not flexible at all. You can already make use of gamepads modifying the input schema at Edit -> Project Settings -> Input.

    However, Unity's new Input system will make this process much more streamlined. As soon as the new one becomes the default one, we'll switch to supporting it.

    Thanks! We promised to release the Shooter module last Friday, but due to some last minute issues we had to post-pone it to this week. But it's coming imminently ;)

    Hope everything's clear. Let me know if you have further questions.

    Happy game making!
     
  30. SLASH24

    SLASH24

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Posts:
    123
    hello, @Catsoft-Studios :
    I've made a youtube video, featuring screen capture and text comments to show the situation on my laptop:

    I will soon open a ticket on your site too.
    EDIT: here it is
    https://support.gamecreator.io/comm...-players-character-keyboard-controls-movement

    I hope that it's clear now. the video shows it well. it seems to be very particular issue though !
    am I the only one with these issues ? I use a ROG Strix Scar II laptop.
    does anyone notices the same issues ?
    Please note that before there was no issues with movement. Game Creator and unity used To be all fine with that.
     
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2019
  31. David5988

    David5988

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    Posts:
    140
    Can I use another character controler and use Game Creator for the game system?
     
  32. unicat

    unicat

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Posts:
    404
    Hi, have done a video now:
    After long time i made a video:
    test.gif
    As you can see looking up and down is restricted(max pitch 120). The camera turns horizontal 360 degrees if my player stands still. If the player walks or run it works fine (The camera turns with the players head).
     
  33. Catsoft-Studios

    Catsoft-Studios

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Posts:
    539
    We can continue this conversation on the support ticket you opened. Seems there's an issue with the latest acceleration and deceleration. We're looking into it.

    You can. All you need to do is add the "Hook Player" component to what you will identify as the Player. This will allow Game Creator to know what object is referred as the player.

    However, we don't recommend doing so, as you won't be able some unique Game Creator features, such as moving Characters with Actions, changing character properties or playing States & Gestures. Basically anything related to characters.

    Aha! Okay, understood now. In order to solve this you'll most likely need to remove the head of the Player. Most FPS games have a separate model for the head which isn't rendered by the camera (only by reflections, and not many games have that, so sometimes the head is completely cut off).

    The last Game Creator update has a couple of solutions for this. One is a new Character model without the head. This is perfect for FPS, since removes any possibility of the head clipping through. The other one is at the bottom of the First Person Camera Motor, under the Experimental section. There's an option to "Stiff Body". This allows to keep the torso straight, reducing the amount of bouncing of the head.

    Bear in mind that animations for First Person games are very different from other genres: body movement is reduced to a minimum to remove motion sickness. Take a look at the following video of Mirror's Edge third-person mod. You'll see how the body is kept very still to avoid adding unnecessary movement to the Player's head.

     
  34. SLASH24

    SLASH24

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Posts:
    123
    hello @Catsoft-Studios ! there are some news:
    today I've made a simple character controller of my own, not Game Creator at All, but my own scripts from scratch
    I move the character with arrows keys, I use the unity built in component character controller
    for some reason that I'm not sure, I ended with the same issues that I had with GameCreator ! the character takes times to start moving !
    I'm worried, because I begin to believe it's my hardware or configuration's fault ! I don't know what to do !
     
  35. Catsoft-Studios

    Catsoft-Studios

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Posts:
    539
    Hi @SLASH24 , thanks for the heads up! I'm a bit behind schedule (still have to answer messages from the support forum and I think I saw another message from you there, so excuse me if I say things two times). I've just finished writing the documentation for the Shooter module (Yai!) and I'm getting hands on the Game Creator update along with the other modules.

    First thing I'll be looking at is this controller problem. I've received quite a lot of reports regarding this, so my intuition is that we made a mistake on the last update. I'll circle back as soon as I have some news. Hopefully it's not a hardware problem! :)
     
  36. vudong

    vudong

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2015
    Posts:
    50
    Support 2D game ?!
     
  37. Catsoft-Studios

    Catsoft-Studios

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Posts:
    539
    Although we have plans on adding support for 2D, it's not on our roadmap at the moment. We prefer to focus on 3D and make it work as stable as it can possible be.
     
    vudong likes this.