Search Unity

Game built for mac has much lower graphics quality than that in the Unity Editor

Discussion in 'OSX' started by Yujingping, Feb 20, 2017.

  1. Yujingping

    Yujingping

    Joined:
    May 28, 2016
    Posts:
    13
    Hi there. I am currently making a game for MacOS. When I try to test my game in the Unity Editor, everything is just fine. However, when I build the game to MacOS Application and run it on my MacBook 15inch Retina with Iris Pro graphics card, it seems to me that the images become blurry and aliasing, just like a very low resolution!

    It is obvious that the game run in the player is much worse than that in the Unity Editor. I have tried googling all manners of solutions, including Quality settings, texture overriding and etc. Obviously none of them worked. However even though I just create an empty scene and add only one UI Label in Unity UI canvas, the quality is still annoying:


    This is what it looks like in the Build Application.

    This is what it looks like in the Editor.

    Quality Setttings:

    Fantastic - green arrow by default both in player and editor.

    Pixel Light Count : 4

    Texture Quality : Full Res

    Anisotropic Textures : Forced On

    Anti Aliasing : Disabled (Although disabled, it shouldn't be that the player has more blurs and aliases than the editor)

    Unity Version : 5.5.1f1

    MacOS version : 10.12.3

    MacBook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, Mid 2015)

    Intel Iris Pro 1536 MB

    Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!
     
  2. Yujingping

    Yujingping

    Joined:
    May 28, 2016
    Posts:
    13
    Just mention a bit. It seems that the built application only supports LDR rather than HDR ... I don't know whether this is the problem of Unity Editor or the MacOS system or the graphics card.
     
  3. Yujingping

    Yujingping

    Joined:
    May 28, 2016
    Posts:
    13
    Important Update: I built the same game for Windows and it runs correctly. Hence I think this issue is for the MacOS System. I am currently using the newest 10.12.3.
     
  4. JoeStrout

    JoeStrout

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    8,057
    Wait, when you say it looks great "in the Unity editor," are you running this (Unity) on the same system as the one you're testing on?
     
  5. Yujingping

    Yujingping

    Joined:
    May 28, 2016
    Posts:
    13
    Yes of course. I am running Unity on my MacBook, and everything is just fine. I built two versions of the game, one for the MacOS and one for the Windows. I ran the MacOS version of game on the same MacBook and the aliasing and blurry effect is shown. However when I ran the Windows version of game on another computer, everything is fine. Thank you for your reply, and if you need any more information please simply tell me.
     
  6. JoeStrout

    JoeStrout

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    8,057
    OK, then it can't be a problem with the system hardware or OS — if it looks great within the editor, then the system is (of course) capable of making it look great.

    This means it must have something to do with the quality settings. But I know you've already fiddled with all the knobs you can think of. Hopefully somebody else will chime in with a good suggestion.

    One more question though: are you running in windowed mode, or full screen? Does that make a difference?
     
  7. Yujingping

    Yujingping

    Joined:
    May 28, 2016
    Posts:
    13
    I tried both running in windowed mode and full screen mode on MacOS and such an aliasing effect remains under both settings. However here is something weird when I tried windowed mode: my screen resolution is of 2880 * 1800, and when I tried a 1920 * 1200 windowed option, the game window is actually as large as about 3200 * 2000 rather than in common situations where the game window should locate totally inside my screen, which means my hardware actually rendered my game in 1920 * 1200 resolution but the OS has enlarged the window to 3200 * 2000 and potentially cause the effect.
     
  8. JoeStrout

    JoeStrout

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    8,057
    Yes, it sounds as though you're somehow using the screen magnifier feature of the OS. When in this state (with the window), are you able to scroll around to different parts of the bigger-than-the-screen window by moving the mouse? And at the top, is the menu bar also magnified? Or is it just the window content?
     
  9. Yujingping

    Yujingping

    Joined:
    May 28, 2016
    Posts:
    13
    I can move the window by dragging the menu bar, not by scrolling. The menu bar is not magnified. Only the windows content is influenced.
     
  10. JoeStrout

    JoeStrout

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    8,057
    OK, then I don't quite understand this:

    Can you post a full screenshot?
     
  11. 333worm

    333worm

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Posts:
    1
    I has the same experience: in the editor all looks great, but when I build the game(with Fantastic quality) for Mac OS X the quality became much worse(it seems like all textures are low resolution).
    I'm using: MacBook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, Mid 2015).
    OS X version: 10.11.6 (15G31)
    Unity version: 5.5.1f1 Personal
     
  12. JoeStrout

    JoeStrout

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    8,057
    Have you checked the export settings on your textures? It's quite possible that Unity is doing exactly what it's been told to do...
     
  13. HonorableDaniel

    HonorableDaniel

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Posts:
    2,799
  14. JoeStrout

    JoeStrout

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    8,057
    I wonder if this is what the posters above are seeing?

    Anyway, I agree, it's rather shocking. I don't use a Retina display myself, so I never noticed, but it's something I assumed would Just Work (tm). It's very disappointing to hear that Unity doesn't support retina displays.

    I've added my vote!
     
    HonorableDaniel likes this.
  15. Gerold_Meisinger

    Gerold_Meisinger

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2015
    Posts:
    93
    There is another known issue that if you ever happened to build it with Resolution Dialog and selected low quality or low resolution, the setting is remembered on your computer for ever. Rebuilding or changing the resolution dialog flags won't fix it.

    Try deleting these files:
    ~/Library/Preferences/unity.your.bundle.identifier.plist
    ~/Library/Application Support/Your Company Ltd
    ~/Library/Containers/your.bundle.identifier/
    Maybe also ~/Library/Preferences/Unity but this wipes your editor settings too

    Or try on another Mac and make sure you select High Quality with a high resolution.
     
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2017
    JoeStrout likes this.
  16. HonorableDaniel

    HonorableDaniel

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Posts:
    2,799
    Doesn't PlayerPrefs.DeleteAll() work?
     
  17. FrozenGun

    FrozenGun

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2014
    Posts:
    9
    macOS retina support is scheduled for Unity 2017.2, have a look at the Roadmap:
    https://unity3d.com/de/unity/roadmap

    It's listed as "On Track", so hopefully in a few month we will have this. :)
     
  18. HonorableDaniel

    HonorableDaniel

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Posts:
    2,799
    It's available right now. Go grab 2017.2 :)
     
    JoeStrout likes this.
  19. JoeStrout

    JoeStrout

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    8,057
    Hooray!
     
  20. adam_mehman

    adam_mehman

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Posts:
    102
    WebGL build on Mac is still really in bad quality for me, I am using Unity 2019.

    Standalone build looks great.

    Anyone has any clue what could be wrong?
     
  21. PixelJ

    PixelJ

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2018
    Posts:
    114
    Unity WebGL builds don't currently support retina. That being said, they will in the future!
     
    JoeStrout likes this.