Search Unity

  1. Unity 2020.1 has been released.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

GAIA - AAA terrain generator, procedural texturing, planting and scene creation

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by AdamGoodrich, May 21, 2015.

?

Would you pay an upgrade fee for Gaia 2 so that we can hire to accelerate its development?

Poll closed Sep 3, 2018.
  1. Yeah super cool - I would pay a $15 upgrade fee to get it faster!

    83 vote(s)
    80.6%
  2. No way - you promised free and i am happy to wait!

    20 vote(s)
    19.4%
  1. 99thmonkey

    99thmonkey

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Posts:
    524
    Nice videos! Thanks
     
  2. BackwoodsGaming

    BackwoodsGaming

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Posts:
    2,205
    To be honest, it has been a while since I captured it. Have some memory issues left over from medical crap and sometimes can't remember details. I remember I had to scale up to the largest box possible on the site and even then it took several captures to get the entire area. I then pulled those individual PNGs into Photoshop, combined them, saved the PSD and then used the PSD to scan for my stamp.

    I believe Gaia can do a PNG as well but seem to recall there was something odd about the Terrain.Party ones that made me have to save them in photoshop first. That was when Adam told me I could just use my PSD files.
     
  3. runningbird

    runningbird

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Posts:
    380
    Just purchased and played around for a bit over lunch and WOW!!!

    I've gone through and done my own terrain design for weeks and some up to months to make it look amazing.
    But after 15 minutes of playing around I am just amazed at how easy this is to use.

    I can't wait to go home and start creating zone after zone with this.
     
    AdamGoodrich and S4G4N like this.
  4. BackwoodsGaming

    BackwoodsGaming

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Posts:
    2,205
    This is something that has been discussed in beta... Not sure if Adam will do this as part of Gaia or an add-on type thing but I know he has at least been bouncing around ideas for this.
     
  5. BackwoodsGaming

    BackwoodsGaming

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Posts:
    2,205
    Cobus (3DForge) and Adam are developer buddies. Cobus used the kit he put on sale to make the sampling of medieval era houses for Adam to include with Gaia. Buying his kit would allow you to make custom houses and villages or you could download blueprints (prefabs) that are for prebuilt houses made with the kit that can then be modified to fit your needs. Really another HUGE value. Especially if you look at the first post in his thread and see all of the planned updates that are coming down the road.
     
    AdamGoodrich and S4G4N like this.
  6. BackwoodsGaming

    BackwoodsGaming

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Posts:
    2,205
    Even though the pack is free, it would still require the artist's permission to include within Gaia. But stuff like this is definitely links that could be shared!
     
    AdamGoodrich likes this.
  7. gurayg

    gurayg

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2013
    Posts:
    232
    Since Gaia is able to use any heightmap or mesh and blend it with the underlying terrain (stamps) I was wondering if it would be possible to blend color maps as well?
    Chances of such a thing is slim but wanted to ask anyway :)

    Also Is there a planned feature to let use revisit and adjust our Gaia terrains?

    Thanks!
     
  8. smada-luap

    smada-luap

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013
    Posts:
    945
    Some of the other beta testers use colormaps so there's probably some discussions going off about this :)

    What do you mean by "revisit and adjust" ?
     
  9. BackwoodsGaming

    BackwoodsGaming

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Posts:
    2,205
    Just pulled this using http://terrain.party. If you are looking for height maps of Australia, use it. The only problem I have with it is you are limited to a 60km square. So it isn't great if you need a huge land mass like the whole continent, but it still work.. This is from one of the southeastern portions..

    Australia Height Map (Merged).png
     
    AdamGoodrich likes this.
  10. MythicalCity

    MythicalCity

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    408
    The package seems to be missing from the Asset store now:
    Unfortunately, Gaia - Terrain Creation, Texturing, Population is no longer available.
     
  11. BackwoodsGaming

    BackwoodsGaming

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Posts:
    2,205
    Yup.. That is a limitation of terrain.party. Doesn't matter how much you zoom.. A km is still a km.. And that is how that little box is set up. Only thing I hate about that site... Like you, I wish it would scale. But point is, it isn't Australia limiting what you can get. The heightmaps are there if you are willing to take it in the small chunks terrain party allows.. If you go directly to Bing maps, though.. I think you can get the larger scale versions. If you have World Composer you can pull those in fairly easy enough.
     
  12. smada-luap

    smada-luap

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013
    Posts:
    945
    Yeah. Don't know what's happened there. Adam has just been made aware.
     
  13. BackwoodsGaming

    BackwoodsGaming

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Posts:
    2,205
    Actually it looks like Asset Store as a whole having issues.. I can't load main asset store page either.. Give the Unity folks a chance to sort it out.. :(
     
  14. gurayg

    gurayg

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2013
    Posts:
    232
    Thanks for the reply!

    I meant something like a project file; Which holds all settings of all stamps. So I can revisit and change something later and create a new Terrain with the new settings.
     
  15. ZenMicro

    ZenMicro

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    Posts:
    206
    Trees lately have been a huge issue for me.. see this post http://forum.unity3d.com/threads/xfrog-tree-usage.361650/

    And from what i can gather Unity Trees cannot be rotated or the billboards would be wrong as they use the same billboard per tree... correct me anyone who knows better!

    so adding them as Objects you may not be getting any bill-boarding happening at all - almost certain.
     
  16. nasos_333

    nasos_333

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Posts:
    8,471
    Thanks, should be fine with the undo
     
  17. BackwoodsGaming

    BackwoodsGaming

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Posts:
    2,205
    This is something else that has been talked about. I think Adam even talks about it a couple pages back here in the thread. It is not something that is in Gaia at this time but it is something I think he is looking into for possible addition.
     
  18. eagleeyez

    eagleeyez

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Posts:
    369
    Why is Gaia as from now, today, tonight unfortunatly no longer availabel on the asset store?

    I just bought it today, so I have it but it is now gone WHY? and if it is gone for good, do I get my money back?
     
  19. jonfinlay

    jonfinlay

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Posts:
    535
    Yeah the direct link shows this Unfortunately, Gaia - Terrain Creation, Texturing, Population is no longer available.
     
  20. norby

    norby

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Posts:
    274
    Same here , i bought it today and i wanted to download it tonight but it is gone :(
     
  21. Hadryel

    Hadryel

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2014
    Posts:
    7
    Its seems the asset store isnt working as its not loading at all. I will be patient and wait for Unity to fix it.
     
  22. Teila

    Teila

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    Posts:
    6,817
    Probably something minor. Give them a chance to figure it out. I trust that was a mistake or an asset store issue.
     
  23. jonfinlay

    jonfinlay

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Posts:
    535
    It's disappeared from my download box too, never seen anything disappear from there
     
  24. eagleeyez

    eagleeyez

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Posts:
    369
    I do hope that the asset has not been banned and if it's not banned but just a Unity mistake, then I hope that the author gets compensation for loss of sales. As this is a Gem Asset and I would miss it.
     
  25. tapticc

    tapticc

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Posts:
    365
    Glad it isn't just me, I bought it earlier in the week and just tried to use it for first time and was like, I'm sure I bought it?!
     
  26. BackwoodsGaming

    BackwoodsGaming

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Posts:
    2,205
    Be patient folks.. Adam is working with the asset store to try to figure out what is wrong.
     
  27. tapticc

    tapticc

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Posts:
    365
    While we are waiting, has anybody tried the seed generation with multiplayer? I would like to know if say the trees will always be generated in the same place using the same seed so each player sees the same world
     
  28. OHG777

    OHG777

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2014
    Posts:
    20
    Hopefully Unity makes this right for Adam and if a competitor try to derail Adam's efforts and success that author should be banned permanently. This is a really low blow for sure.
     
  29. tapticc

    tapticc

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Posts:
    365
    It's showing in my purchased items list at least :)
     
  30. smada-luap

    smada-luap

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013
    Posts:
    945
    It's back
     
  31. eagleeyez

    eagleeyez

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Posts:
    369
    It's not back
     
  32. Teila

    Teila

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    Posts:
    6,817
    It will be soon. :)
     
  33. jonfinlay

    jonfinlay

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Posts:
    535
    back for me, wonder what happened?
     
  34. eagleeyez

    eagleeyez

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Posts:
    369
    I am in Germany and it is still not online, maybe I / we just have to wait. I already have it downloaded but before I use my weekend for this I would like to know that it is here to stay.
     
  35. Teila

    Teila

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    Posts:
    6,817
    Adam should be the one to tell you, but it was a mistake. It will be back up totally soon.
     
  36. AdamGoodrich

    AdamGoodrich

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Posts:
    3,688
    Hi Guys,

    There was a bit of a technical glitch. The fine folks at Unity are onto it and we should be back up shortly.

    Cheers,
    Adam.
     
    Hadryel and BackwoodsGaming like this.
  37. HeadClot88

    HeadClot88

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Posts:
    709
    Thanks for the heads up :)
     
  38. eagleeyez

    eagleeyez

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Posts:
    369

    Ok, then as Douglas Adams once said, “DON’T PANIC” in friendly bold pink letters, then I will wait.

    As the blind man said, “we will see”, to the death man who said, “What?”
     
  39. BackwoodsGaming

    BackwoodsGaming

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Posts:
    2,205
    The Gaia store page appears to be back up now! Darn those glitches! Thumbs up for @AdamGoodrich and the Unity team for getting this resolved quickly!
     
    AdamGoodrich and HeadClot88 like this.
  40. HeadClot88

    HeadClot88

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Posts:
    709
    It is back up for me as well :)
     
    AdamGoodrich likes this.
  41. eagleeyez

    eagleeyez

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Posts:
    369
    Yupp, it's back and now I will use my weekend for this.
     
    AdamGoodrich likes this.
  42. QuantumTheory

    QuantumTheory

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Posts:
    1,072
    @AdamGoodrich

    I'm updating my PolyWorld packs with a much faster/better rewritten terrain generation component. As illustrated in an earlier post, Gaia and PolyWorld can work great together. Would you mind if I featured Gaia and PolyWorld together in a video and some screenshots? My updates are due out early next week.
     
    S4G4N, OHG777, AdamGoodrich and 3 others like this.
  43. kilju

    kilju

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Posts:
    124
    Hi all
    if u are trying to use gaia on many terrain tiles example 5x5 tiles
    i found workaround to work with them.
    just disable all exept one tile and move it to position 0,0,0 then will stampin work. after stamp just move it back to its orginal position.

    seems like problem might be too long distance from origin causes off range error
     
  44. SIV

    SIV

    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Posts:
    186
    Playing with Gaia :D

     
  45. BackwoodsGaming

    BackwoodsGaming

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Posts:
    2,205
    Good catch! I know Adam mentioned the disabling but never thought of tile position being an issue. Wonder if it is part of the math problem Unity has with huge terrains or something. Hopefully all that will be resolved with the multi-tile update when it gets here! :)
     
  46. Teila

    Teila

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    Posts:
    6,817
    I love texturing the terrain in Gaia. While I have tried other tools, Gaia just looks so realistic in the way it blends textures, as seen with the sand hills on a coastal terrain.

     
    siblingrivalry, John-G, ibyte and 6 others like this.
  47. AdamGoodrich

    AdamGoodrich

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Posts:
    3,688
    It would be an honor - cant wait to see it :)
     
    S4G4N, SIV, HeadClot88 and 2 others like this.
  48. BackwoodsGaming

    BackwoodsGaming

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Posts:
    2,205
    Loving the collaboration! By the way, @QuantumTheory has a great Rocks and Cliffs pack. I have used some of them in my spawners in some of my Gaia tests early on.
     
    QuantumTheory likes this.
  49. Teila

    Teila

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    Posts:
    6,817
    Oh, I have those! They are nice. :)
     
    QuantumTheory likes this.
  50. SIV

    SIV

    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Posts:
    186
    Cant resist.. more screenies :D





     
unityunity