Search Unity

  1. Click here to see what's on sale for the "Best of Super Sale" on the Asset Store
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

GAIA - AAA terrain generator, procedural texturing, planting and scene creation

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by AdamGoodrich, May 21, 2015.

?

Would you pay an upgrade fee for Gaia 2 so that we can hire to accelerate its development?

Poll closed Sep 3, 2018.
  1. Yeah super cool - I would pay a $15 upgrade fee to get it faster!

    83 vote(s)
    80.6%
  2. No way - you promised free and i am happy to wait!

    20 vote(s)
    19.4%
  1. AdamGoodrich

    AdamGoodrich

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Posts:
    3,695
    Hey everyone,

    We are very pleased to announce that Path Painter 1.1 is now live on the asset store!

    Path Painter is a cool tool of ours that allows you to create roads, ramps, paths and rivers on Unity terrain and works perfectly with Gaia & CTS!

    In this video you can see how we can use Path Painter to take advantage of a Gaia Terrain and the height blending with CTS to create perfectly blended paths with your terrain:



    Enhancements:

    • The paint button is now bigger.
    • Changed the size hotkeys to CTRL+Q/E.
    • Updated for 2018.3 to use the new terrain API.
    • Path Painter can now be placed into any directory.
    • Single active terrain is now automatically selected on open.
    • Made the status bar hotkey tips adapting to OSX (CTRL/CMD).
    • Added visualization to show the active line (editable) and display when straight painting.
    • Added a workaround for the Unity bug that causes things not to not render over the terrain in 2018.3.
    • Updated warning message for non-square terrains to make it more clear that only square terrains are supported.

    Fixes:

    • Stop null pointer exceptions when the environment changes. Path Painter should now do a much better job recovering from these situations.
    • Avoided cursor pointer exceptions on OSX!

    You can get it here: https://assetstore.unity.com/packages/tools/terrain/path-painter-127506
     
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2019
    FargleBargle likes this.
  2. FargleBargle

    FargleBargle

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Posts:
    708
    Wow! When I think of all the work it took to lay down and texture paths on my island terrain using the native Unity tools, I only wish something like this was available 2 years ago. And now that I've converted it to a mesh terrain, I wish I had tools like this when I need to make changes to it. Oh well, plenty of other terrains I can use it on. Sold (actually, I bought it a while ago - I just didn't realize how powerful it was)..
    I know you're reluctant to talk much about Gaia 2 under the circumstances, but just for laughs, is there anything you can tell us about what Unity is planning? I know the details are probably in flux, but if you have access to any big picture broad stroke ideas they're working on, and are at liberty to talk about them, I'm sure there are lots of people here who are curious. The terrain system is long overdue for some TLC, and has been on their long range road map for years, but they haven't been that forthcoming about their plans. If they're finally getting close to rolling something out, a few teasers would be nice.
     
    AdamGoodrich likes this.
  3. SickaGamer

    SickaGamer

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2018
    Posts:
    1,013
    Adam can't tell you until 2019.3 is out...
     
  4. AdamGoodrich

    AdamGoodrich

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Posts:
    3,695
    Sneak peek of automated lighting setup in next FREE point release of Gaia!

    It's in the final stages of completion now and we hope to have it out later this week. We add full 2018.3 plus LW and HD water support, and a very cool automated pipeline and lighting setup which is coming along really nicely.

    Grab_20190226050430_w1829h815_x318y81z-371r193.jpg

    We have added interest to the hills using other trees and rocks from Nature Manufacture... looking pretty nice!
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2019
    elbows, runningbird and camta005 like this.
  5. AdamGoodrich

    AdamGoodrich

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Posts:
    3,695
    Sorry, am under NDA :)
     
  6. FargleBargle

    FargleBargle

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Posts:
    708
    Pity. Companies do love their secrets. They used to have an "official" discussion thread here, but it's locked now that they're actually working on it. I know they want to avoid getting expectations up about features they might not be able to deliver, but nature hates a vacuum. In the absence of anything official, rumors spread like wildfire. I doubt anything they talk about now that doesn't pan out could be more disappointing than some of the overblown rumors turn out to be. I suppose if it was just their customers, they might be more forthcoming and transparent, but I guess they also need to worry about spilling too much to the competition. :rolleyes:
     
  7. BrandStone

    BrandStone

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Posts:
    75
    Full 2018.3 support meaning that it supports multiple terrains?
     
    SickaGamer likes this.
  8. SickaGamer

    SickaGamer

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2018
    Posts:
    1,013
    @AdamGoodrich
     
  9. buc

    buc

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    Posts:
    61
    Importing into a fresh project I get a bunch of errors (even after importing the dependencies):

    I've nothing found for this. How can we solve it?


    Assets/Gaia/Scripts/Editor/GaiaManagerEditor.cs(658,21): error CS0246: The type or namespace name `GaiaReflectionProbeUpdate' could not be found. Are you missing an assembly reference?

    Assets/Gaia/Scripts/Editor/GaiaManagerEditor.cs(659,21): error CS0246: The type or namespace name `GaiaUnderWaterEffects' could not be found. Are you missing an assembly reference?

    Assets/Gaia/Scripts/Editor/GaiaManagerEditor.cs(660,25): error CS0841: A local variable `theProbeUpdater' cannot be used before it is declared

    Assets/Gaia/Scripts/Editor/GaiaManagerEditor.cs(663,50): error CS0841: A local variable `effectsSettings' cannot be used before it is declared

    Assets/Gaia/Scripts/Editor/GaiaManagerEditor.cs(2026,22): error CS0234: The type or namespace name `GX' does not exist in the namespace `Gaia'. Are you missing an assembly reference?
     
  10. buc

    buc

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    Posts:
    61
    Deleted the Gaia-folder and reimported. Now it works.
     
  11. skaratxova

    skaratxova

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2019
    Posts:
    3
    Hi, I'm making a big terrain with gaia and I have a problem when I spawn my trees. They are too dark at the background and the fog doesn't affect to them so it doesnt look good. Any trick, advice or solution to make them not to be so dark or at least dissapear at certain distance on the background? Thank you very much! Here is an image
     

    Attached Files:

  12. StevanJay

    StevanJay

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Posts:
    79
    I would guess there's an issue with the shaders you're using on your tree billboards there. Try changing the shader on your billboards and see if that fixes the problems you're seeing...
     
  13. PWPeter

    PWPeter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2018
    Posts:
    516
    No, multi-terrain support is still planned for Gaia 2, not for the upcoming update.
     
  14. PWPeter

    PWPeter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2018
    Posts:
    516
    Your error messages look like the "3rd Party Sampler > Ambient Skies Samples" folder was missing from the Gaia Installation, Gaia takes parts from Ambient Skies for the skybox / water / post-processing setup. So probably that was missing or there was some compilation error, glad to hear it is working for you now.
     
  15. PWPeter

    PWPeter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2018
    Posts:
    516
    As StevanJay has pointed out, this could be an issue with the tree billboard shader, please see these threads that cover the same issue:
    https://forum.unity.com/threads/tree-billboards-fog-and-transparency-issue.526936/
    https://forum.unity.com/threads/global-fog-doesnt-affect-billboard-trees.473300/#post-3090612
     
  16. Ivoryjw

    Ivoryjw

    Joined:
    May 20, 2018
    Posts:
    31
    Nvm, problem fixed.
     
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2019
  17. BrandStone

    BrandStone

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Posts:
    75
    Hi,

    I see that there’s a lot of silence around Gaia 2. I’m one of those people that waits for it because I need multiple terrain support. Back in December there was a sale and I bought Gaia 1 mainly to support development for Gaia 2. Back then the ETA for Gaia 2 was January. Then January passed and here we are in March with no ETA on the horozon.

    I do understand that Unity is overhauling terrain and you need to wait for it to settle first. Problem is that there’s nothing on the unity roadmap related to terrain. 2019.1 has no terrain updates rather than fixes.

    What does this mean for Gaia 2? Unity releases once every 3-4 months. If 2019.1 releases this month without the long-awaited terrain updates then does this mean that Gaia 2 will maybe come out 4 months from now? 8 months from now?

    At least give us some rough ETA so we can plan accordingly. I need multiple terrain support in order to launch my game next year. For marketing purposes I can use Gaia 1 because it alteady supports HDRP but the uncertainty of an ETA is scarry.
     
  18. AdamGoodrich

    AdamGoodrich

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Posts:
    3,695
    Thanks for your support.

    While we feel that the massive amount of free capability and ongoing support we have consistently delivered with Gaia for since it was launched back in 2015 is way over and above what we ever committed to, "multi tile" will be a sticking point to some and Gaia 2 will be free in order to honor an old commitment.

    Eta will be as soon as we can get it out. I would say in the next 2-3 months.
     
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2019
    BrandStone likes this.
  19. BrandStone

    BrandStone

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Posts:
    75
    Thank you very much for the quick reply and rough ETA, I'm glad that it will come out in the near future. And I will continue to support Gaia as it's a quality product.
     
  20. prawiramuhammad496

    prawiramuhammad496

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2019
    Posts:
    9
    Hello Adam
    My Users "Invector Third person " And "Gaia " so the question
    How do I Bake Navigation With "nevmesh Unity " it?
     
  21. PWPeter

    PWPeter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2018
    Posts:
    516
    Hi, Gaia creates default unity terrain, so you should be able to bake nav meshes the same way you would do with any other scene in unity, there are no special requirements for it.
     
  22. prawiramuhammad496

    prawiramuhammad496

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2019
    Posts:
    9
    Question I tried Nevmesh In "Gaia Terrain " but the result is ugly Especially Terrain Open Many layers ...
    And Another Requested A Picture How "Nevmesh " Right On Gaia?
     
  23. PWPeter

    PWPeter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2018
    Posts:
    516
    Can you please post a screenshot to show what is ugly about your navmesh? Here is a screenshot after baking navmesh on a Gaia terrain with the default settings. It has some gaps in it but these are because the terrain is to steep in these areas which should be correct:

    navmesh.JPG
     
  24. PyroStudios

    PyroStudios

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Posts:
    233
    Hello!

    So I know Gaia doesn't support multiple terrains (yet). However I have several terrains made that are islands and in separate scenes. Is it possible for me to use something like World Streamer (or standard asset streaming) to place these terrains side by side and make one large world? Since the terrains are all using water at their border, I don't need them to connect.

    I know this isn't 100% Gaia specific but the terrains will all be made in Gaia. Thank you.
     
  25. SickaGamer

    SickaGamer

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2018
    Posts:
    1,013
    Is the new update for Gaia ready yet?
     
  26. PyroStudios

    PyroStudios

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Posts:
    233
    While I'm here, I wanted to show 2 beautiful islands I made with Gaia! This asset is so amazing. 2019-03-09.png 2019-03-10 (1).png
     
  27. PWPeter

    PWPeter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2018
    Posts:
    516
    Yes, in general you can have multiple terrains in the same scene and also use Gaia on them as well, you only can't use Gaia on all of them at the same time (yet). What you can do is to deactivate all terrains first and then activate one terrain after the other and use Gaia on the single active terrain only. This allows you to use the same Gaia settings on multiple terrains.

    You can then try to have them all active at the same time during runtime, however this usually takes some heavy toll on your performance when you have multiple full-sized terrains in your scene. You can use a tool like World Streamer or Sectr to load in the terrains only when the player is close, but I fear that if you want to load full-sized terrains it will not perform well and there will be a noticeable hitch in gameplay then.
    You would need to split up your terrain into smaller chunks with these tools for streaming. This would allow you to have only smaller portions of the terrain loaded around the player during runtime to save performance
    - BUT -
    This also increase the effort in terrain creation quite a bit and your gameplay logic might need to be adapted for this as well (E.g. a NPC would need to be able to handle it if a terrain chunk suddenly disappears because the player moved away.)

    When you are working with islands anyways it could be an alternative to build a separate scene for each island and then replace the other islands with cheaper mesh placeholders since you only see them from further away, and then when the player travels between islands you would have a loading screen & switch scenes. Not as elegant as open world, but takes out a lot of the complexity of terrain streaming.
     
    Mark_01 and PyroStudios like this.
  28. PWPeter

    PWPeter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2018
    Posts:
    516
    Not yet, we are still working on it. ETA is still "in the next few days".
     
  29. Mlackey

    Mlackey

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2014
    Posts:
    35
    Would you be willing to permit access to beta versions as they are improved so that we can become more used to the, likely, new workflow that Gaia 2 will bring about? I'd be more than willing to pay for the license key to upgrade to Gaia 2 in order to play around, report bugs, and determine if my current workflow for my project might benefit change for the new system.

    I'm sorry if this has been asked before but there are 199 pages of comments lol. :)
     
  30. prawiramuhammad496

    prawiramuhammad496

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2019
    Posts:
    9
    Thank You Sorry Slow Reply
     
  31. Funkymotha

    Funkymotha

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2016
    Posts:
    24
    PyroStudios likes this.
  32. PyroStudios

    PyroStudios

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Posts:
    233
    I'm using Vegetation Studio pro for the grass/trees. Works perfectly with CTS 2019 (which is being used also).
     
  33. PWPeter

    PWPeter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2018
    Posts:
    516
    We usually do betas for our updates and new products as well, if you are interested I would invite you then for testing when 2.0 is ready for beta testing.
     
  34. elbows

    elbows

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Posts:
    2,448
    Have you been keeping up with various terrain changes that already made it into recent Unity versions and were discussed in roadmap talks over the last year?

    I havent been fully keeping up with it and obviously more stuff is planned by Unity going forwards, but I thought I would ask because your post made it sound a bit like no big terrain changes had happened yet, and this isnt really true on either the tools or runtime sides of Unity.
     
  35. AdamGoodrich

    AdamGoodrich

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Posts:
    3,695
    Gaia 1.9.2 is live!

    Release notes for Gaia v1.9.2 March 2019

    New Features:
    · Added pipeline switching support in 2018.3 or higher.
    · Added shader switching between High Definition, Lightweight and Built-In.
    · Added Lightweight and High Definition water shaders.
    · Gaia Ambient Skies Samples supports Lightweight and High Definition light configuration.
    · In Unity 2018.3 or newer Gaia creates Terrain Layers for new terrain system.
    · Added Occlusion Culling setup in GX Ambient Skies Samples.
    · Improved 2018.3 compatibility.

    Enhancements:
    · Gaia GameObject spawner settings improved for better spawning chances.
    · Updated Daytime Audio to be more atmospheric and have less bird sounds.
    · Updated water reflection probe y size to fix reflection bug on the water surface.
    · Underwater script optimized for better performance.
    · Underwater effect now supported in Lightweight and High Definition pipeline.

    Fixes:
    · Fixed warning message from FPS Controller.
    · Fixed Terrain Layer warnings in Unity 2018.3 or higher.
    · Fixed Session Manager data corruption in 2018.3 or newer.
    · Fixed Dependencies importing in Unity 2018.x or newer.

    Scene Lighting:
    · Updated Ambient Skies samples lighting setups and redone post processing profiles.
     
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2019
  36. AdamGoodrich

    AdamGoodrich

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Posts:
    3,695
    And Ambient Audio, and Ambient Skies are due in about a week as well!

    Grab 20190311093139 w1924h1041 x-822y53z-56r166.jpg
     
    PyroStudios and camta005 like this.
  37. loliconest

    loliconest

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Posts:
    28
    Hi guys, sorry for not going through the entire thread for similar questions so I want to apologize at front if my question is already answered.

    So I've used Unity's terrain editor before, and I remember that you can use something like a paint brush to "paint" the terrain's mountains and plains.

    However I am having a tough time to find a similar function in GAIA.

    Basically all I want to do is to flatten out a specific area that I want to put a large building on it. I don't want to change where I place the building because I like that spot with other terrain features, the only problem is that the spot is not flat enough for me to put my building on it.

    So, is there a way to flatten/rise a specific part of the terrain?

    Thank you very much!
     
  38. camta005

    camta005

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2016
    Posts:
    317
    You can still use the unity terrain tools and Gaia. In this case you want the set height tool:
    https://docs.unity3d.com/Manual/terrain-SetHeight.html

    I use it when a building spawns on uneven ground to flatten the area around and under the building. With the height tool selected hold shift to sample the height you want to paint at then flatten the area you want.
     
    PWPeter likes this.
  39. PWPeter

    PWPeter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2018
    Posts:
    516
    As camta005 already pointed out you still can use the default unity terrain tools to edit the height map. Note that these tools are "hidden" under the brush icon in the newer version of (Unity 2018.3 and newer):
    flat0.JPG

    You can also use the "Blend Height" stamp mode of Gaia and take a flat stamp to flatten out a terrain while keeping its natural features. Here would be a good place to build something, but the terrain is a bit too rough:
    flat1.JPG

    We can apply a flat stamp (low height) and with "Blend Height" stamp mode & distance mask to the area to blend the height there to become flatter:
    flat2.JPG

    Here is the result after I hit the spawn button 5-6 times, we have a natural plateau now without destroying the surrounding terrain.
    flat3.JPG
    You might still need to flatten the terrain further with the Unity tool to place your buildings, but this technique can help you to create a natural looking flat starting point for building a base.
     
    FargleBargle likes this.
  40. Mlackey

    Mlackey

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2014
    Posts:
    35
    I would love to be invited for testing when 2.0 is ready for beta testing.
     
  41. pilgrimage80

    pilgrimage80

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2019
    Posts:
    4
    Hi I am using Unity 2018 version 3.8f1. Gaia I have imported version 1.9.1, but gaia unfortunately does not work. How can I solve this problem?

    Untiy Console Warring !!


    i attached gaiaerror.txt.

    thankyou.
     

    Attached Files:

  42. cygnusprojects

    cygnusprojects

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Posts:
    707
    Warnings should block Gaia from working, they will always be there especially with Unity changing their API with every new version increment. In need of help? Best reach out in their web forum (proceduralworlds) or via discord. Best describe there what exactly isn't working for you.
     
  43. PWPeter

    PWPeter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2018
    Posts:
    516
    The warning messages in the error log are due to certain functions in 2018.3 became obsolete, Gaia 1.9.1 should still work regardless of these warning messages. We also just released a new Gaia version 1.9.2 that will get rid off these warning messages and brings new features for Lightweight and High Definition Rendering. Can you please download and try the newest version 1.9.2 to see if you still got issues after that?
     
  44. Vedrit

    Vedrit

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    Posts:
    508
    Hey Adam, I don't know if you've seen this or have any interest, but I thought that rain erosion would fit right in with the sort of stuff you do.
     
    AdamGoodrich likes this.
  45. AdamGoodrich

    AdamGoodrich

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Posts:
    3,695
    Yep very cool!
     
  46. loliconest

    loliconest

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Posts:
    28
    Ohhhh, I see. Didn't notice the terrain component on Gaia's terrain. My bad!
     
    camta005 likes this.
  47. loliconest

    loliconest

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Posts:
    28
    Hi, I got another question: how to make GAIA not turn on the fog?
     
  48. PWPeter

    PWPeter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2018
    Posts:
    516
    While the game is not running, go to Window > Rendering > Lighting Settings and deactivate Fog at the bottom. Note that deactivating fog completely will also influence the underwater rendering if you are using the Gaia Water in the scene. I personally think it looks strange if the fog is turned off underwater because you can see to far.
    You can create a compromise by leaving fog enabled, but tune the near and far distance in such way that it is less visible overwater, and underwater Gaia will change the fog automatically according to what is set up in the scene hierarchy under
    Gaia Environment > Ambient Skies Samples > Directional Light > Gaia Under Water Effects component
    In this way you can have 0 or little fog over water, while fog will still kick in when you are going under water.
     
  49. loliconest

    loliconest

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Posts:
    28
    Yea I created a script to turn of the fog every time.
     
  50. loliconest

    loliconest

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Posts:
    28
    Guys I have another question: when I look at the grass and flowers and other environment details in the editor they looks fine, however when I run it in the build, the details become many tiny pictures:

     
unityunity