Search Unity

  1. Click here to see what's on sale for the "Best of Super Sale" on the Asset Store
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

GAIA - AAA terrain generator, procedural texturing, planting and scene creation

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by AdamGoodrich, May 21, 2015.

?

Would you pay an upgrade fee for Gaia 2 so that we can hire to accelerate its development?

Poll closed Sep 3, 2018.
  1. Yeah super cool - I would pay a $15 upgrade fee to get it faster!

    83 vote(s)
    80.6%
  2. No way - you promised free and i am happy to wait!

    20 vote(s)
    19.4%
  1. docsavage

    docsavage

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Posts:
    1,003
    40 mins that doesn't sound right. Do you have a massive amount of game objects? Are they very complex? I have a less powerful rig than that and it rarely takes over 1 min with loads on.
     
  2. ektw

    ektw

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2016
    Posts:
    3
    I'm literally copying the quick start guide step by step, using the same stamps etc, nothing custom

    edit Im new to Unity so was hoping there was something you guys take for granted the should be off or on that I don't know about
     
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2016
  3. Adrad

    Adrad

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2015
    Posts:
    11
    Do you happen to have the Lighting on auto for the scene by chance? If you go to the window tab and go down to lighting. It is a check box at the bottom of the scene tab called other settings.. Next to the Build button. Uncheck it . It is usually on auto every time you make a new scene
     
    ektw likes this.
  4. ektw

    ektw

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2016
    Posts:
    3
    Bingo! Many thanks :)
     
  5. Adrad

    Adrad

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2015
    Posts:
    11
    No problem. Glad I could help.
     
    ektw likes this.
  6. pneill

    pneill

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Posts:
    207
    Anyone else having problems using Gaia with build settings set to TVOS? When I try to stamp a terrain with my build settings set to TVOS, the unity editor freezes up and becomes completely unresponsive. I need to force quit. If my project is set to desktop (either windows or mac) it works just fine. It's 100% repeatedable using just an empty project and Gaia.
     
  7. FargleBargle

    FargleBargle

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Posts:
    709
    This almost sounds like a Unity bug, like the one that caused errors when importing packages with it set to WebGL a while back. Is it only the actual stamping/spawning that chokes, or does it not like the finished terrain either? I don't have an explanation for why, but I can suggest a possible workaround: Create your terrain with it set to Desktop PC, and then set it back to TVOS when you're done. Gaia just makes a standard Unity Terrain, so as long as the TVOS platform can handle the resolution and detail settings you've used, it should still be usable. ;)
     
  8. AdamGoodrich

    AdamGoodrich

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Posts:
    3,695
    It's being slowed down because I parent them - and every add causes the entire tree of objects to recalculate their entire layout - this gets a bit crazy with tree and game object spawning.

    A quick and dirty work around is to just select something other than unity while this is happening - unity wont be forced to draw the updates - and will do it all in one hit when you re-select it.

    I am looking at a better solution for this in the next release.
     
    BackwoodsGaming and ektw like this.
  9. AdamGoodrich

    AdamGoodrich

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Posts:
    3,695
    Hmm.. i had no issues when i was trying Gaia for a Samsung TV project. I will take a look - as commented above, this tends to be related to obscure exclusions of some of the .net framework.

    A workaround that is non ideal but works - is to do all your Gaia work on a desktop target, and then switch back to the tv target when done. This will cause a slow and painful asset rejig - but unless you are constantly redoing your terrain this should be largely one off.
     
  10. BackwoodsGaming

    BackwoodsGaming

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Posts:
    2,209
    I'll play around with this a little bit this week as well. I wasn't getting Gaia thread updates and missed out on these last week.. :(
     
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2016
  11. pneill

    pneill

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Posts:
    207
    I had my build target set to Apple TVOS so perhaps it's unique to that environment? Yup, the workaround you suggest does work. It's just not an idea solution as you noted.
     
  12. Quique-Martinez

    Quique-Martinez

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2013
    Posts:
    117
    Great idea! I would definitely consider that.
     
    AdamGoodrich likes this.
  13. RonnyDance

    RonnyDance

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2015
    Posts:
    557
    I know, i know :(
    I already created like 5 videos but deleted them all because of my bad english ;)
    But tutorial video is coming this days, promised :)
     
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2016
    S4G4N and AdamGoodrich like this.
  14. AdamGoodrich

    AdamGoodrich

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Posts:
    3,695
    Hehe - don't worry about the english - I am more interested in the settings and what they do. I was initially very conscious of stumbles in my tutorial videos and nothing ever was good enough. In the end I decided to just put them out - and when I made an error - just corrected it :)
     
    Tinjaw, S4G4N and hopeful like this.
  15. Phesant33

    Phesant33

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2015
    Posts:
    34
    Yes please
     
    AdamGoodrich and S4G4N like this.
  16. Saladon

    Saladon

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Posts:
    86
    Hey guys,

    I'm wondering what your suggestions would be for assets to go alongside Gaia? I'm looking for the following:
    - Shader Effects pack (Bloom, etc)
    - Volumetric clouds & sky solution?
    - Vegetation, Rocks, Terrain Models pack
    - Realistic Grass pack?

    I have a budget of $100 so I'm not sure if all this is feasible? Any advice would be appreciated.
     
  17. Arganth

    Arganth

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Posts:
    280
    $100 is not a lot as you will soon see :D
    RTP oder Distingo for the terrain shader
    volumetric fog and clouds (forgot the real asset name)
    the turbopasceulr (or something like that XD) for the grass/vegetation stuff, if you buy one bundle you get the other one cheaper

    and then there is much more
    speedtree if you want (pretty expensive and there are currently problems with them
    apart from a rather big performance hit if you dont target really high end pcs)

    unistorm for the weather (there are atleast 2 other products but i have unitstorm ^^)

    scion if you want a non-terrain shader pack or alloy (this alone is more than 100$ or UBER)

    then there are vegetation managers like infinigrass....


    if money is a concern you should definitely nail your use case down first
    there is simply too much stuff to buy


    if you go for RTP or UBER you get the other one cheaper ;)
    and i am happy with both



    last but not least aquas for the water/effects if you need waterstuff ;)


    AAAAAAANDDDDD of course all stuff from cobus :D
    the medieval exterior is superb ^^

     
    S4G4N likes this.
  18. docsavage

    docsavage

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Posts:
    1,003
    Agree with Arganth. $100 wont go far so. Also good recommendations there as well.

    Recommend use unity's own cinematic image effects. They are in beta but are really nice and free. If they have managed to nail the performance then you won't need anything else for bloom. The ambient occlusion looks really nice.

    Realistic grass - turboscalpuers are great and well supported. There are others. It's mainly down to what you like the look of and style.

    vegetation, rocks etc - can get free ones on the store to test. All dependent on your project though really.

    Volumetric clouds - Sky Master ultimate is on sale at the moment and has them now as well and will be updated to do more from what I heard . It's a big pack with lot's of features. nasos is always adding features that can get lost in the very comprehensive packs he produces. Great developer. Customer service up there with Adam and Cobus(3dforge).
    .
     
  19. Saladon

    Saladon

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Posts:
    86
    Man, my wallet's telling me no... but my mind's telling me to sell a kidney and go for it.
     
    S4G4N likes this.
  20. Arganth

    Arganth

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Posts:
    280
    other people have kidneys too :p:rolleyes:

    but if Sky Master ultimate is on sale
    take a good look at it

    nasos is really good at supporting his stuff (infinigrass is also by him)
     
    S4G4N likes this.
  21. Saladon

    Saladon

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Posts:
    86
    Thanks for your advice. Will probably look at using Unity's built in image effects. I also saw people mentioning SE NAtural Bloom & Dirty Lens. But I saw there were some negative reviews recently so not sure.

    https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com/en/#!/content/17324
     
    S4G4N likes this.
  22. Arganth

    Arganth

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Posts:
    280
    i have SE and it works but if i would buy stuff now
    get their stuff:
    they also have watermarked trials for all their products
    (downloaded some of them just yesterday to compare them to the new beta image effects)
    https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com/en/#!/search/page=1/sortby=popularity/query=publisher:707
     
  23. Twoonebe

    Twoonebe

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Posts:
    174
    I have a little question, how can i paint my ways/path in the direction would i wan't ?
    for example here in the video how it is possible to do this art of way/path

     

    Attached Files:

  24. S4G4N

    S4G4N

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Posts:
    2,945
    HAHA, thanks for the compliments :);)
     
  25. AdamGoodrich

    AdamGoodrich

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Posts:
    3,695
    There are some amazing FREE assets as well:

    * Unity Cinematic Image Effects - I have used this a bunch and largely don't even bother with other postfx now
    * True Volumetric Lights (Open Source) - Its expensive perf wise - but the effect is beautiful!
    * CG Tutes Free HDRI Skies - Really beautiful HDRI skyboxes
    * Kode 80 Volumetric clouds - Pretty amazing volumetric clouds

    And these are brilliant and a bargain at the price the authors are charging
    * AQUAS - High performance, pretty and cheap @ $25
    * Distingo - Sorts out terrain tiling and makes your terrains pop - a steal @ $15
    * HQ Photographic Textures Grass Pack Vol 1 - brilliant value @ $10

    So that gets you PostFX, beautiful lighting, beautiful skies, pretty water, plus great terrain and awesome grasses.

    3DForge Village Exteriors Kit is also massive value and when you consider how much is included and what you can do with it.

    I can't go past SpeedTree for trees - and their Desktop Tree Pack is top notch but expensive - if you keep an eye out on their own store you will see some amazing deals from time to time.
     
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2016
  26. magique

    magique

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Posts:
    3,838
    Here are some inexpensive alternative suggestions:

    uSky
    PA Particle Field - Great GPU accelerated effects including rain, snow, clouds, and more
    GPFX - Fast bloom and gaussian blur effects
    ats Colormap Ultra Terrain Shader
     
    TheSeawolf likes this.
  27. AdamGoodrich

    AdamGoodrich

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Posts:
    3,695
    I think $100 goes a long way if you are prepared to be a little creative in your approach :)
     
  28. AdamGoodrich

    AdamGoodrich

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Posts:
    3,695
    Suspect you will need to use some form of decal system to do this - its not so trivial and unity terrain can't do anything that nice.
     
  29. Twoonebe

    Twoonebe

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Posts:
    174
    thanks adam for the information but you said it so easy but it's not easy :)
     
  30. AdamGoodrich

    AdamGoodrich

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Posts:
    3,695
    Nope not easy - i wonder if EasyRoads 3D would do this for you ? There is a free version here you could try.
     
  31. CaptCanada

    CaptCanada

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2013
    Posts:
    236
    Hi all. I just started using Gaia today and I am absolutely blown away! After the first half hour of reading the quickstart guide and the full guide I had a decent looking terrain with water and villages! I know, not much!

    One thing though the quickstart guide mentioned how to fix the speedtree errors I got upon importing the asset but I don't have a speedtree folder inside the Gaia folder. Any ideas as to where it might be? I selected all upon importing the asset. Everything else is there except for the Speedtree folder.

    Thanks!
     
    AdamGoodrich likes this.
  32. AdamGoodrich

    AdamGoodrich

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Posts:
    3,695
    If you don't un-select them then they will be somewhere under the Standard Assets folder.
     
  33. AdamGoodrich

    AdamGoodrich

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Posts:
    3,695
    I get asked about assets so much that I decided to create a categorised mega list of free assets - this list includes a bunch of Free & High Quality assets and as I come across more I will add them to this list.

    I have used a good percentage of either these assets - or other assets bu the same author - and they will drive your $100 so much further!

    If anyone thinks I have missed something then please let me know and I will add it.
     
  34. magique

    magique

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Posts:
    3,838
    Great list, but why is GAIA on the list? Is it free now?
     
  35. BackwoodsGaming

    BackwoodsGaming

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Posts:
    2,209
    He said "... & High Quality ...".. Probably should change that to "High quality free and low cost ..", Adam... :)

    I think there are a few of them on the list that aren't free but are low cost. Good catch @magique.. :)
     
  36. magique

    magique

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Posts:
    3,838
    I did see that he said that, but on the actual page it only says "Free Unity Assets Mega List" and "This page contains a categorised megalist of quality free tools and models to start your Unity game with." and it is categorized as "Best Free Unity Assets - Categorised Mega List" so anyone who just goes to the page will think GAIA is free. He should definitely change the actual blog to be labeled properly and to make sure the Free items are separated or clearly identified from the pay ones.
     
  37. BackwoodsGaming

    BackwoodsGaming

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Posts:
    2,209
    Ohhhh.. I see what you mean.. DOH! I thought there were other lower priced assets in the list too but on quick glance, I think those may all be free, except Gaia..
     
  38. AdamGoodrich

    AdamGoodrich

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Posts:
    3,695
    Hmm I take your point. Personally i thought it was a bit funny. Maybe I have been sitting in front of my computer for too long :)

    That's an interesting nuance as well. Was thinking of also doing another page with good assets that go nicely with Gaia as people ask about them in this forum all the time. Maybe today if I get some time.
     
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2016
  39. Quique-Martinez

    Quique-Martinez

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2013
    Posts:
    117
  40. AdamGoodrich

    AdamGoodrich

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Posts:
    3,695
    I am actually going to be exploring using this with Gaia - i suspect they will probably make really good sister products.
     
  41. Hans

    Hans

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Posts:
    422
    All i can say is wooo my goodness me yes Please

    Also will you be adding Stiching terrains together in Gaia?

    Thanks
     
  42. AdamGoodrich

    AdamGoodrich

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Posts:
    3,695
    Yes.

    Ok... so there are over 130 free and quality assets there... the AQUAS Lite version is $5, so i flagged that, and I made GAIA an addendum to the end of the page and requested that people take a look, which isn't that much of an ask given the value of the list.

    http://www.procedural-worlds.com/blog/best-free-unity-assets-categorised-mega-list/

    But the page really is what it says it is - and I was really surprised at how much was in there!!
     
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2016
  43. magique

    magique

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Posts:
    3,838
  44. AdamGoodrich

    AdamGoodrich

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Posts:
    3,695
  45. magique

    magique

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Posts:
    3,838
    Yes, I know. I spoke with him a while back about it too and was going to help him test. I was wondering if he was still working on it.
     
  46. AwesomeX

    AwesomeX

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    Posts:
    114
    This looks pretty neat, but I'm wondering. Is this seed based? I'm interested in using it for a networked game, and unless the terrain can be replicated without a ton of effort, I can't really use it.

    Also, is this usable at runtime? I'd be using it to create a new terrain at the start of a new networked game. So players have new terrain to play on each time.
     
  47. AdamGoodrich

    AdamGoodrich

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Posts:
    3,695
    It is seed based, and you can generate at run time, but you need to write code to do that as the approach I have taken has been oriented more towards the editor.

    I would not really recommend taking that approach unless you are a good coder.
     
  48. TheAlmightyPixel

    TheAlmightyPixel

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Posts:
    263
    Sorry if this was explained somewhere else - but does GAIA use a custom material like Unity's default terrain? I'd like to know what texture maps I'd be able to use with it before purchasing it. And what about Substance support?

    Thanks,
    TAP
     
  49. AdamGoodrich

    AdamGoodrich

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Posts:
    3,695
    Gaia does not come with any shaders or other non standard Unity features by design. My development goal was to work with what Unity provides in order to maximise compatibility with other assets and to not limit your choice of other assets.

    As far as I am aware, Unity terrain does not support substance materials, but maybe you can find some other shaders that do offer this support.
     
  50. TheAlmightyPixel

    TheAlmightyPixel

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Posts:
    263
    So GAIA terrain uses the default Unity terrain material? Or would I be able to use the Standard shader with GAIA?
     
unityunity