Search Unity

Question Future of MobileVR

Discussion in 'VR' started by saadraza, Oct 25, 2020.

1. saadraza

saadraza

Hi guys.

This is more of a general discussion. I am a final year undergrad student who wants to create a VR game for mobile devices as my final year project. I know the basic understanding of game development and VR implementation. I have a good idea in mind but the future of mobileVR is holding me back since Samsung gear and google cardboard are officially over. So, just wanted to know whether the future of mobileVR holds any prospect or not. Any feedback would be highly appreciated.

Thanks.

Ps. I could not target oculus quest due to hardware limitation.

2. JoeStrout

JoeStrout

If by "mobileVR" you mean sticking your phone inside some cheap headset that holds it up to your face, no, there is no future in that.

Mobile VR nowadays means Quest (and its Chinese clones). The future of that is bright. But using your phone for VR was a brief interlude.

Of course if this is just a university project and a phone is your only option, then download an older version of Unity and have at it. :)

3. TheNullReference

TheNullReference

I think it will exist but not in such an obvious state. They're already creating "mobile hardware" VR and I think as time go on there will be a convergence with your smart phone and standalone XR devices. Manufactures will ready make their hardware for XR.

Regardless, development for the different devices wont be too different.

4. arfish

arfish

I'm hoping for Cardboard VR to support OpenGLES 3, which as far as I understand is required for the universal render pipeline. There are so many phones out there now with good displays and decent hardware to run basic VR. And act as entry-level for dedicated hardware VR headsets.

5. FakeByte

FakeByte

Google abandoned its Daydream VR and open sourced google cardboard, while other companies like Samsung also stopped working on their mobile VR.