Search Unity

Funny switches between transparent and non-transparent

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by jashan, Mar 20, 2008.

1. jashan

jashan

Hi there,

not perfectly sure this is the right forum (might also be UnitySupport), but I'm trying to get a better understanding of how shaders are handled in Unity (yesterday, I did my first few experiments with shaders, so you can call me a complete noob in this area ;-) ).

The setup I have is as follows (and the setup might be the problem):

• - Plane with the MirrorShader from the UnifyWiki to cause "reflective look"

- Floor-Plane with a Transparent/Specular level right above that (0.01 above, to be exact); this creates the raster (blue with yellow lines). The texture has an alpha channel, so the "mirror" from below shines through, also the main color has opacity 75% to let the mirror shine through a little more than what is defined in the alpha channel (at first, I tried putting that texture on the "mirror plane", but that completely failed to look he way I wanted it)

- Floor-Smoke with Particles/Alpha Blended, the "center" of the smoke is "solid" but through the alpha channel, the edges "bleed out" to transparent, color animation goes from fully transparent to fully opaque and back. Currently, the renderer is set to Billboard, I might go back to "Sorted Billboard" when the FPS is high enough, which would probably remove some of the artifacts - but these are not what I'm worried about. What is important is that people can't "see through" the smoke as long as it's dense. This is really important because the idea of the smoke is to make the walls hard to spot for other players - if this suddenly becomes transparent, that give players with this "bug" an advantage they should not have.

- Walls are just specular (no reflections there)

- These "power-up boxes" with Transparent/Diffuse shader, center with text is fully opaque, edges are fully transparent, main color is fully opaque (Opacity = 100%)