Search Unity

Feature Request full onnx support

Discussion in 'Barracuda' started by olmewe, Nov 14, 2021.

1. olmewe

olmewe

hi! this is not only a request but also a question, in a way.

i'm building an app that requires body tracking, and i've been experimenting with barracuda for almost a year now to make that work. i'm not experienced with the neural network toolsets available nowadays, so i'm often wandering around pinto model zoo, which is full of well known NN models converted to multiple file formats, as well as onnx.

the thing is that only a handful of the models in there actually work with barracuda; i often resort to people who manually convert models to work with barracuda and publish them online, which leaves me with a more limited set of resources to work with, as not everyone is doing the exact same thing as me.

so yeah! as someone who has no idea how to work with the internals of an onnx file, it'd be nice if i could just plug any onnx in unity and have it working.

at the same time, knowing that you guys took the approach of slowly implementing node support as people request them, i can imagine there's something going on that makes node implementation not trivial, and i feel bad for just straight up asking for full onnx support like that hahah which also makes me curious! what are the challenges for this?

dare i also ask, whom exactly is barracuda made for? sometimes i feel like i'm in the wrong for expecting all this from barracuda, and that i'm actually the one responsible for converting these models. but as someone who doesn't have the time and energy to learn how every node type works or how to work with python notebooks, i genuinely wish for an inference engine that just lets me treat models as black boxes, and i think i expect that from a package that's on version 2.3.1 already. i might be wrong though! am i missing a roadmap or anything?

(also yes i'm aware of the (very few) alternatives, but i like barracuda's API best, i think!)