Search Unity

FSM and multiple entities

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Bonfi_96, May 15, 2018.

1. Bonfi_96

Bonfi_96

Hi guys, I'm studying a bit FSM and trying to figure out how to use them correctly
    My current implementation has an interface to implement states, so each state is a class on its own.
    The problem comes when I want to have multiple entities using FSM.
    Let's say I have a player with some states and an enemy with some completely different states. What's the best way to differentiate between them?
    Would it make sense to have inherit the state interface? Like having an IState, and IPlayerState, IPotatoCannonState,...

Thanks!

2. dgoyette

dgoyette

I found this tutorial to be pretty useful, which explains how to build a fairly simple, but flexible, FSM in Unity using ScriptableObjects:

https://unity3d.com/learn/tutorials/topics/navigation/intro-and-session-goals?playlist=17105

The basic idea is that States aren't really anything special; they're just collections of Actions and Transtions that you can build out however you want. Here's an example of how I've used this approach recently to create an AI in my game:

upload_2018-5-15_10-58-32.png

This is an instance of a state which the AI enters when they are chasing after a target. It defines the actions to be performed while chasing (basically, set NavMeshAgent's destination), and Transitions, which are conditions that might cause the AI to transition into a different state. In this case, it keeps checking whether it's in Combat range (in which case it transitions to the Combat state), and it keeps checking whether the target is visible (if not, it starts looking around).

Attached Files:

3. Bonfi_96

Bonfi_96

That's a really interesting way of using scriptable objects!