Search Unity

Frontface and Backface equal lighting

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by GixG17, Oct 17, 2015.

1. GixG17

GixG17

I'm new at writing shader code but so far I've been doing pretty good as there's enough documentation on the internet for me to get by. There's one thing I just can't seem to find information on, though.

I'm trying to write a shader that'll work for non-billboard grass. If I just use a standard shader with a cutoff, one side is lit properly but the other side of the grass blades don't get any light. That's to be expected and that works pretty well for most things except for grass or anything that should have some sort of translucency.

So the problem isn't about rendering the backface, it's about computing both sides as if it were one. If light hits the backface, the frontface should get the same info and vice versa. If two different lights hit both sides, maybe it could even it out or just compute the strongest light or something. I'm not looking for anything accurate.

The only documentation that I can find is about backface culling but I already know how to render the backface. I can't just use a unlit shader as I don't want my grass to glow in shaded areas.

Can anyone help or steer me in the right direction? Thanks!

2. Hjeldnes

Hjeldnes

Well, make grass blades that are one sided, only one visible side, like the default plane. Then it will be lit the same on both sides.
    Turn off culling, use a dotproduct between the normal and the light. if it returns positive, then that pixel is lit, and negative, then its in shadow and you can do tinting etc....

GixG17 likes this.
  3. bgolus

bgolus

While the above is an answer to the question you asked of "how to get lighting in both sides to be the same" it doesn't solve the issue you're experiencing. What you actually want to do for something like grass is a little different.

A couple of options people use: