Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

From the start to the finish.

Discussion in 'Game Design' started by Deadly_fallout, Jul 17, 2018.

1. Deadly_fallout

Deadly_fallout

Hello unity community!

I am now 22 years old, I never really learned game development in any school or college but I am a gamer at heart.

4 years ago I started learning C++, some modelling and animating but in the end I stayed with C++. 2 years ago I Discovered unity and C# and kept building up on that. I made some small games for myself where I just shoot up some zombies and all that kind of stuff. I learned how to use LODs, rendering and Vfx for no apparent reason. I never thought of creating my own games.

I modded games like skyrim and Minecraft(I loved those to no end) but everything felt wrong, like something is missing. I wanted to create my own thing and not matter how I tried, my mod never felt like it belonged to me.

So a few days ago I came to a conclusion, I had something in my head that I wanted to play all my life. A game that adds elements from my favourite games, but with my own touch built by me. While I loved a lot of games, there was always something missing. Skyrim was great, but it was to glitchy. Minecraft is great but even heavily modded it just misses a goal you want to accomplish. Witcher series is a masterwork, but it doesn't have a in depth crafting system like Skyrim does. Trove would be great, but it lacks content and is too much of a grind. Dark souls has a great fighting system, but it lacks in depth otherwise.

The game I dream about is a mix of those. A cube based game with a real story like witcher, a fighting system like darksouls and monsterhunter. A crafting system like Skyrim.