Search Unity

1. Unity Asset Manager is now available in public beta. Try it out now and join the conversation here in the forums.
    Dismiss Notice

From kinematic to dynamic after a collision

Discussion in 'Physics Previews' started by FloBeber, Apr 3, 2020.

1. FloBeber

FloBeber

Hey guys,

I'm new to DOTS and starting to experiment with physics. I'm trying to build a simple wall built from many blocks. Those blocks should be influenced by gravity only after a collision with a cannonball. For that purpose, I'm trying to switch from motion type "Kinematic" to "Dynamic".

The code below works almost as expected except that, for some reasons I don't understand, the angular velocity of each block remains 0 after being set to Dynamic. Also, and this is very likely for another reason, I would like these block to correctly react to the collision with the cannonball, while at the moment, they just fall straight.

Any help would be much appreciated :)

Code (CSharp):
    1. [UpdateAfter(typeof(EndFramePhysicsSystem))]
    2. public class CollisionEventSystem : JobComponentSystem
    3. {
    4.     BuildPhysicsWorld BuildPhysicsWorldSystem;
    5.     StepPhysicsWorld StepPhysicsWorldSystem;
    7.     protected override void OnCreate()
    8.     {
    9.         BuildPhysicsWorldSystem = World.GetOrCreateSystem<BuildPhysicsWorld>();
    10.         StepPhysicsWorldSystem = World.GetOrCreateSystem<StepPhysicsWorld>();
    11.     }
    13.     [BurstCompile]
    14.     struct CollisionEventDataJob : ICollisionEventsJob
    15.     {
    16.         [ReadOnly] public PhysicsWorld PhysicsWorld;
    17.         public ComponentDataFromEntity<CollisionEventData> CollisionEventDataGroup;
    19.         public void Execute(CollisionEvent collisionEvent)
    20.         {
    21.             Entity entity = collisionEvent.Entities.EntityA;
    23.             if (CollisionEventDataGroup.Exists(entity))
    24.             {