Search Unity

Free Sky - multiplayer space shooter

Discussion in 'Made With Unity' started by JavaChilly, Apr 13, 2008.

1. JavaChilly

JavaChilly

This is about 3 weeks of on again / off again work using some standard assets, files we had laying around from another project and a lot of scripting fun. I'm a coder, so this was an exercise in function, not form. I know it could be a lot prettier. :)

Be sure to play it with a friend or two (or 16!). Your feedback would be greatly appreciated.

http://www.sindome.org/verse/freeskysd.html

[/url]

2. crockett

crockett

humm I couldn't manage to control the space craft, the controls seem very strange and I'm a flight sim junky.

I will say I learned something interesting, my Sidewinder joystick worked with your game to a basic extent. When pushing the stick forward that worked as the throttle. Backwards made the ship go back and side to side made it roll.

I notice the mouse option for yaw and pitch. I'm thinking you should make a settings option to allow users to select their own control mappings.

I'm quite sure if I could map the settings for my flight stick, it would work very well and allow your users to use a joystick.

Nice job, and it gives me hope for one of my game ideas. I was wondering if you could use a game controller with this and my question has been answered. :D

3. Adam-Buckner

Adam-Buckner

Ya - looked interesting, but I quickly spun out of control and couldn't get it back. Could there be a set of "brakes", where the on-board computer resets all vectors to 0?

4. AngryAnt

AngryAnt

Keyboard Operator

I have no friends! Post screenshots! :D

5. JavaChilly

JavaChilly

joystick support: nothing but the default at present. I just got a stick to work it all out with. Should be finetuned in the next build.

level off: something I noted with my beta-tester that needs to be added just recently. Gets a bit disorienting at times. :)

screenshots: I'll fraps up a short battle when I get the chance.