Search Unity

Free Screen melt surface shader inside (issue solved):

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by esco1979, Aug 20, 2016.

1. esco1979

esco1979

Hey, everyone. Although I am very new to shaders, I managed to figure out how to do a screen melt effect on the game screen to reproduce the game over screen in Castlevania: SOTN. It basically takes a picture of the screen and applies the melting effect to it that then reveals the game over screen underneath. This effect is just like the screen melt effect in doom:

For my purposes, the best way to do this seems to be to draw the screen to a render texture, put the render texture on a quad then apply the screen melt to it. All the effect basically does is take each column of pixels (indicated by the x coordinate of them) and move them down by a different amount each (more details can be found here for those who want them: https://davidwalsh.name/canvas-effect).

I managed to reproduce this effect in a simple surface shader that works great for quads and sprites except for one small bug: for some reason if the sprite/texture touches the top of the texture, I get this bleeding effect (circled here):

The same happens with any pixels that touch the bottom of the texture if I reverse the screen melt to go upwards.

Why is this? I've attached a package with a scene setup with the shader too for anyone who wants to test it.
    http://www.mediafire.com/download/tm7ig3m2d2tfey7/screenmelt.unitypackage

Code (CSharp):
    1. Shader "SOTN Custom/ScreenMelt"
    2. {
    3.     Properties
    4.     {
    5.         _Color ("Color", Color) = (1,1,1,1)
    6.         _MainTex ("Albedo (RGB)", 2D) = "white" {}
    7.         _MeltSpeed ("Melt Speed", range (0,0.2)) = 0            //used in helper C# script to set _Timer
    8.         [HideInInspector] _Timer ("Timer", float) = 0
    9.     }
    11.     SubShader
    12.     {
    13.         Cull off
    14.         Zwrite off
    16.         CGPROGRAM