Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

[FREE] o3n UMA Race Jane & John

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by umutozkan, Jul 13, 2020.

1. umutozkan

umutozkan

Last edited: Jan 7, 2021
    Jaimi and LSPredator like this.
  2. umutozkan

umutozkan

3. hopeful

hopeful

Very nice!

BTW, a common problem with character models is that the interior of the mouth looks like it is glowing. Way too much light gets inside.

Is there a simple fix? Or is it a complicated situation?

Oh, and can you give a quick tip / explanation as to how the detail normals help with mesh distortion issues?

4. umutozkan

umutozkan

1. I'll try to look into the inner mouth glowing and see what I can do. But the main reason is I believe the inner areas don't get the right lighting because the shadow caster is the same mesh. I am not an expert on how Unity lighting works but that is my understanding. The workaround could be having more ambient occlusion that is shadowing inner mouth, basically by texture. But that is not dynamic, as in when the character opens its mouth inner mouth will still be dark.

2. The details normals are used in this asset as a way to compensate for the normal distortion when bone changes drastically. This character's morphs are all bone poses, no blendshapes. Meaning when you modified bone position, rotation and scale drastically, as the fat DNA; normally the vertices keep their normals. Causing the shadowing to look like as it is before the morph. Take a look at o3n Male and Female race (my previous UMA races) to see how belly looks flat from forward at highest upper weight value. This race has bound color DNA setup for each of drastic changes.

So for example there is the upper weight DNA on this character. There is a bone pose bound to it, scaling adjustment bones etc, to get the mesh look like a fat person.