Search Unity

  1. New Unity Live Help updates. Check them out here!

    Dismiss Notice

[FREE] o3n Male and Female UMA Races

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by umutozkan, Oct 8, 2017.

  1. Jaimi

    Jaimi

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Posts:
    5,067
    It looks like you don't have UMA installed. You can get it from the asset store.
     
    hopeful likes this.
  2. btckey

    btckey

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    Posts:
    23
    Thank you. You are right.
    Thank you. You are right.
     
  3. SickaGamer

    SickaGamer

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2018
    Posts:
    943
    @umutozkan Any new wardrobes coming out for the races pack? New Elf or Dwarf outfits?
     
  4. umutozkan

    umutozkan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    Posts:
    326
    I currently have so little spare time to work on content because of my job. Unfortunately not producing any new asset at the moment.
     
    SickaGamer likes this.
  5. hopeful

    hopeful

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2013
    Posts:
    5,069
    It's good to have paid work. :)
     
  6. umutozkan

    umutozkan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    Posts:
    326
    I found some time to update my current assets for UMA 2.8.1.

    Basically, this is an update for DNA, but also I merged the LOD packs for all my assets with the content package itself. Meaning you get an asset, it has LOD slots out of the box. This is also true for free o3n Races package.

    The updates are sent for review, and probably will be out in a few days. If you want to buy one of my contents for o3n Races I suggest you do it now, because the packs with LOD will have a slightly raised price.
     
    hopeful likes this.
  7. Grendelbiter

    Grendelbiter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2016
    Posts:
    119
    hey @umutozkan did you remove or forget to add the "o3n_male_body_muscular_recipe" on the updated package? I can't find it anywhere. Also could you take look at your umacommunity board once in a while? I made a request for an invite to the slack channel a while ago.
     
    samuel-levine likes this.
  8. DeadSeraph

    DeadSeraph

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017
    Posts:
    95
    Hey there. None of the eyebrows and facial hair seem to appear on the characters properly. I posted about this in the UMA support thread, and the answer seemed to be that texture sizes might have been changed, but I haven't changed any textures in UMA or o3n? Any idea what might be going on here or how I can fix it quickly? Might be interested in picking up some of the clothes packs but I need to get this sorted out 1st. Thanks for your time.

     
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2019
  9. umutozkan

    umutozkan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    Posts:
    326
    The new update has it as a DNA slider. There is not a recipe anymore you adjust it's tone by a DNA slider.

    P.S.Sorry for the late response, day work is heavy these days. I don't get a notification for posts here or UMA forum. But I do get a notification (and try to respond as soon as I am able) to the support tickets opened at o3n.org.

    Best regards.
     
  10. umutozkan

    umutozkan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    Posts:
    326
    Hi, this happens when build setting is changed to certain environments (I know Mac OS is one, because it forces square textures I guess) or texture's max size in Unity is increased/decreased:

    The fundemental reason behind it is overlays (and these values are copied to recipes when overlays are used on them), have x, y, width, height values on them. This is to scale and position a texture on top of another. These are by pixels not percentage (this is how UMA works I can't help it). So if you have a different sized eyebrow, facial hair texture it will be distorted whenever teture size is affected somehow.

    Only way to work around is modify the say, "eyebrow" texture to be in the correct position on an image that is actually the same size as the base texture (head in this case). And set x, y, width, height to 0 on both overlay and recipe. This will make it so that both the textures will be affected the same by any texture change and act together.

    (I recently pushed a change for eyebrows making exactly what I said, I will try to do the same with facial hair when I find the time.)
     
  11. jvillota

    jvillota

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2019
    Posts:
    4
    Hi... First, thanks for this amazing job. Second, please could your give me some guidance: how to use Rokoko Motion Library animations on your o3n Male and Female UMA Races???

    Thanks.
     
  12. hopeful

    hopeful

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2013
    Posts:
    5,069
    UMA / o3n models should be animated just like any other humanoid model under Unity's mecanim system.
     
  13. jvillota

    jvillota

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2019
    Posts:
    4
    Hi, yes... Finally I did. I changed the Default Animation Controller under Race Animation Controllers and it works.

    Thanks for your comment.
     
  14. jvillota

    jvillota

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2019
    Posts:
    4
    I am cloning some o3n models (runtime) but they did not show. I always get next error.

    Exception in UMAGeneratorBuiltin.OnDirtyUpdate: System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object
    at UMA.ColorDNAConverterPlugin.ApplyDNA (UMA.UMAData umaData, UMA.UMASkeleton skeleton, System.Int32 dnaTypeHash) [0x00105] in \Assets\UMA\Core\Scripts\DNAPlugins\ColorDNAConverterPlugin.cs:117
    at UMA.DynamicDNAConverterController.ApplyDNAPrepass (UMA.UMAData umaData, UMA.UMASkeleton skeleton) [0x00078] in \Assets\UMA\Core\Scripts\DynamicDNAConverterController.cs:238
    at UMA.UMAData+UMARecipe.PreApplyDNA (UMA.UMAData umaData, System.Boolean fixUpUMADnaToDynamicUMADna) [0x00091] in \Assets\UMA\Core\StandardAssets\UMA\Scripts\UMAData.cs:899
    at UMA.UMAData.PreApplyDNA () [0x00001] in \Assets\UMA\Core\StandardAssets\UMA\Scripts\UMAData.cs:1197
    at UMA.UMAGeneratorBuiltin.PreApply (UMA.UMAData umaData) [0x0000b] in \Assets\UMA\Core\StandardAssets\UMA\Scripts\UMAGeneratorBuiltin.cs:395
    at UMA.UMAGeneratorBuiltin.HandleDirtyUpdate (UMA.UMAData data) [0x00077] in \Assets\UMA\Core\StandardAssets\UMA\Scripts\UMAGeneratorBuiltin.cs:207
    at UMA.UMAGeneratorBuiltin.OnDirtyUpdate () [0x00002] in \Assets\UMA\Core\StandardAssets\UMA\Scripts\UMAGeneratorBuiltin.cs:280
    UnityEngine.Debug:LogWarning(Object)
    UMA.UMAGeneratorBuiltin:OnDirtyUpdate() (at Assets/UMA/Core/StandardAssets/UMA/Scripts/UMAGeneratorBuiltin.cs:296)
    UMA.UMAGeneratorBuiltin:Work() (at Assets/UMA/Core/StandardAssets/UMA/Scripts/UMAGeneratorBuiltin.cs:137)
    UMA.UMAGeneratorBuiltin:Update() (at Assets/UMA/Core/StandardAssets/UMA/Scripts/UMAGeneratorBuiltin.cs:100)

    If someone know how to fix it, please give me some guidance
     
  15. umutozkan

    umutozkan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    Posts:
    326
    Hi I am not sure about how cloning at runtime works for UMA. I think you might get a better answer if you asked on UMA Unity forum page or UMA community board.
     
  16. Smurfj3

    Smurfj3

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2015
    Posts:
    4
    Hello first off I want to say this asset is awesome, I hate the fact I only found out about this asset now. Anyways I have 2 questions. 1. Is this asset okay to use for commercial use? 2. I design my own clothing etc, I have no problem rigging it for o3n and implement the clothing. It works all perfectly fine, however if I want to hide certain base slots like the feet for the shoes I made, it will only let me hide o3n_female_feet_LOD1 for the "o3n Female" race, how do I make sure the feet are hidden for every LOD and better yet how do I implement my clothing so that it works with o3n's LOD system because I would love to use the LOD system to create some higher and lower polygon clothing pieces.
     
  17. umutozkan

    umutozkan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    Posts:
    326
    Hi I'll start to answer in order:
    1. It is perfectly ok to use for commercial use.
    2. You need one mesh hide asset for each LOD slot and have it all on the recipe that is hiding the feet. A more simple approach is to have alpha overlays on the hiding recipe. There are examples of it in the package. Alpha texture will hide the mesh making it transparent. And since all the LOD slots use the same texture you only set it up once. Downside is it only works for hiding base slots that are on the base recipe. For any other slot you'll have to go with mesh hide asset way.
    LOD system is not o3n special btw. It's coming from UMA package. When uma LOD script is on the avatar, it checks the library for the equipped slot's lods. And that is done with the slot name. Slot name property is setup such that <slot_nam>_LOD0, <slot_name>_LOD1 etc. Then script automatically switches them (when switch slot is marked).
     
  18. RealidadEmpoderada

    RealidadEmpoderada

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2016
    Posts:
    13
    Is there any documentation about o3n Male and Female UMA Races?
     
  19. umutozkan

    umutozkan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    Posts:
    326
    Hello,

    No there are demo scenes provided in the package that shows how the scene is setup.

    It's actually 3 steps to get a scene ready.
    1. Just add o3n folder to the UMA Global library (open global library window from UMA menu and drag the o3n folder to the area)
    2. Drag UMA_DCS.prefab from Assets/UMA/Getting Started folder
    3. Drag a character prefab from one of the race folders (male/female) for example Assets\o3n\o3nBaseUMARaces\Races\o3nFemaleRace\Prefabs\o3nFemaleDynamicCharacterAvatar.prefab

    That's it.
    Please keep in mind that o3n races for UMA asset is just a race package that uses UMA in the background. Please check UMA documentation for the things that are not specific to o3n races.
     
    Jaimi and hopeful like this.
  20. RealidadEmpoderada

    RealidadEmpoderada

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2016
    Posts:
    13
    Hello,
    Thanks for your answer.
    I understand and I just using the o3n avatars with Photon and in my application environment. In our application the avatars will need to change the DNA on the fly. This is one of the reason why I decided to use o3n characters.

    I understand that for change the ADN in runtime, I must to use the DynamicDNAConverterCustomizer gameObject. Is it correct?


    I checked that using DynamicDNAConverterCustomizer gameObject when the scene start, the Rigidbody component is loaded. But with preset values of the parametes of the components. Where may be defined another parameters for setup the component? Or it must be done later?
     
  21. umutozkan

    umutozkan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    Posts:
    326
    I know it is possible to modify the DNA at runtime. For o3n races it is all bound to the UMA framework under the hood. I have theoretical knowledge especially when it comes to manipulating UMA at runtime by code.

    You can get more information at UMA forum page (https://forum.unity.com/posts/5137748/) about modifying DNA at runtime. (Maybe it is in the documentation even.) You might check the demo scenes too they have sliders on the UI that modify the DNA at runtime. There must be stuff that you need in those methods called from UI.
     
  22. umutozkan

    umutozkan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    Posts:
    326
    Jaimi, hopeful and kenamis like this.
  23. hopeful

    hopeful

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2013
    Posts:
    5,069
    FWIW, I'm always interested in what the various issues are in getting a better character model, so if you ever want to drop a brief note or two of your "developer's journey," I think it would be interesting to read.
     
  24. umutozkan

    umutozkan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    Posts:
    326
    When I looked back at what I have created I always see the flaws in them. There is always something that you say, "I should have done this like that and it would be better". (I think you know what I mean when you looked at them side by side in the picture above)

    For UMA races what I am trying to create is a realistic model, that looks beautiful, and also can morph realistically. And facial expressions should be realistic as much as possible too.

    There are a few important things for achieving this.
    1. The shape of the body: apparently the shape of the body must be realistic, proportions should be right and it should be well... beautiful I guess.

    2. The topology: The topology should have a few things. It should have enough polygons so the model looks right close-ups too. Better if you have LODs to support multiple levels of detail for performance too. Also, it should have such flow that when morphs are applied it would still look good. Good topology is also important for animations too.

    3. Weight-painting: This is very important and highly coupled with skeleton structure. The number of bones and places of them defines how good your model will morph but it is also overhead, so you don't want to add too many bones.

    4. Maybe the hardest part is putting all these together and make it work with each other. And usually you want the old stuff to work with the new model too. There are two options, you can either sacrifice from the betterness of the new model or sacrifice backwards compatibility. (I had to sacrifice backwards compatibility, as in this race won't be able to use the o3n races' or UMA's content)
     
  25. hopeful

    hopeful

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2013
    Posts:
    5,069
    I like efficiency, but I'm generally in favor of high poly base models. It's like with textures: it's easier to go from a high resolution source to a low one, than it is to go the other direction. Also, when a game developer creates slots for UMA, they have control over the number of polys in their slots, so if they want, they can replace the torso or limbs with lower poly slots, lower poly clothing, and run more efficiently that way.

    I also think we should be able to compensate for high poly source models by using LOD, and maybe a shorter camera distance for LOD0, forcing LOD1 to be in use more of the time.

    In my game, for a proper tactical view, nearly all of the time a player's camera would be far enough back that all characters would be at LOD1, 2, and 3. Generally, you'd have to zoom in during a non-combat moment in order to see a character at LOD0. Aside from that, you'd also see LOD0 in the player's character generation/selection scene, and maybe in cutscenes. So for efficient use of memory, I would probably delete all of the LOD0s during play, and re-generate them only when a close-up is needed.
     
  26. umutozkan

    umutozkan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    Posts:
    326
    That's what I usually consider when creating LODs.

    The new model has more polygons than the previous one. Also UMA LOD script replaces the slots. So when I add LODs it will all be handled by UMA.
     
    hopeful likes this.
  27. hawk-hawk-studio

    hawk-hawk-studio

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2016
    Posts:
    7
    Hi! First of all, congratulations for this asset, it looks nice. I have downloaded it, but it doesn't work yet, I will check why next days because I didn't have enough time to do it since I downloaded it.

    I have a small question, I want to use it in a mobile game, could I just generate the bodies of the characters and import it into my project? Or should I include the whole packet to generate them with their physical characteristics each time I start a scene?

    Thanks!!
     
  28. umutozkan

    umutozkan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    Posts:
    326
    Hello, this is an extension asset to the UMA Character system (UMA2 to be exact) you need that asset for it to function. I'd suggest checking UMA first because it is not just a model to drag to your screen, this is a complete character customization system.

    SecretAnorak's youtube channel has a lot of useful videos about this system. UMA might look a little scary at first but it's not as complicated as it looks. And it's so powerful you'll love it when you get the hang of it.

    (This video should get you started
    but I really recommend SecretAnorak's video series)

    And regarding instantiating; as a short answer, there are ways to save a character as a text for example and load it up at the start. But there is more than one way probably. The best place to ask is UMA Unity forum page or UMA community forum website.

    There is also the UMA slack channel.

    Best regards.
     
    hopeful likes this.
  29. digitalerr0r

    digitalerr0r

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2013
    Posts:
    25
    Hi,
    I'm using your assets in my game, and have purchased some of your packages. I need to extend the pack a bit with some glasses and so on. I use Blender 2.8, but have trouble exporting the model using your base blender file for the male and female o3n models.

    Do you know what settings I need to use to export things correctly? It seems only the axis is wrong.
    1.png

    2.png
    I have tried exporting the FBX using Anoraks FAQ video, where I need to adjust the default axes set by the exporter, but no difference.

    Maybe the blend file is based on an older version of blender, and I need to do some magic to make it work?

    Thanks a lot for your assets!
     
  30. umutozkan

    umutozkan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    Posts:
    326
    This is my settings.
    But you also need to make sure the objects are applied all the rotation position scale. (CTRL+ A if I remember right)
    fbx_settings.png
     
    hopeful likes this.
unityunity