Search Unity

Question Framing Transposer and Group Composer Rotation Issues

Discussion in 'Cinemachine' started by Kurteth, Sep 15, 2022.

1. Kurteth

Kurteth

I am sure this question has been asked many times before, but I can't seem to find one that was successfully answered. Forgive me for I'm a newbie when it comes to all this.

I am currently using a Virtual Camera for my game as a third person camera with a lock on system.I use a free orbit camera until I lock on, and then switch to a second camera.

For my Body, I am using the Framing Transposer.

upload_2022-9-15_4-15-2.png

For the Aim, I am using Group Composer (The target is blank during non play state, but fills in when a Look at Target exists)

upload_2022-9-15_4-15-19.png

This has been working great!...Most of the time. When the targets are far away everything is as intended. However, when the target approaches the player, the camera continues to try and keep both in frame and begins circling at an alarmingly fast rate, rotating around and generally looking broken.

The solution I've come up with is when the target is within a certain distance, switch to a third camera, but I cannot figure out what settings would keep both in frame without A: spinning. Or B: removing the entire point of the lock on.

Is there any advice anyone has? Thank you in advance, I'm pretty lost on this.

2. Gregoryl

Gregoryl

Unity Technologies

This is really something of an artistic and gameplay choice. First you have to decide what you want the camera to do when the characters are very close to each other - what instructions would you give a cameraman trying to capture the interplay of the characters? Can you describe it in words? A video of the situation would also help.

Once you know what you want the camera to do, we can help you figure out how to achieve it in Cinemachine. Switching to a specialized camera is a good idea.

3. Kurteth

Kurteth

Thanks for taking the time to respond! I really appreciate it.