Search Unity

  1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

framework mono / .NET 3.5 not installed

Discussion in 'Linux' started by tfnaug, Jan 1, 2017.

  1. tfnaug

    tfnaug

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2017
    Posts:
    10
    is anyone got this kind of error?
    framework mono / .NET 3.5 not installed under mono Assembly-CSharp -> References.
    the thing is the script that i make worked perfectly fine and im able to build and run the game that i make to test the lastest version unity. i'm just worried if this could give some trouble.
    is anyone know to fix it?

    i'm using elementary OS loki.

    dotnet bug.png
     
    thiagofm33 likes this.
  2. knobby67

    knobby67

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2015
    Posts:
    388
    With unity 5.6 and visual studio code, I had to install mono complete package from district repos to debug. This was for Lubuntu, but might be worth a try.
     
  3. Tak

    Tak

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Posts:
    1,001
    On recent ubuntu-like distros, you can install the mono-reference-assemblies-2.0 and mono-reference-assemblies-3.5 packages. (These are in the recommended packages list for the more recent .deb package builds.)
     
  4. tfnaug

    tfnaug

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2017
    Posts:
    10
    Well Thank you Tak.
    it's work perfectly fine, although it tooks me days to properly install mono-reference-assemblies.
    i've tried download .deb from repo and installed but that makes my mono complete won't launch. also i've tried install it for apt-get install, also same result (i don't know why).

    last thing try to install the package manualy from https://github.com/mono/reference-assemblies
    and its work like a charm.

    o yis .png
     
    Odd-Redesign and thiagofm33 like this.
  5. Emiles

    Emiles

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2014
    Posts:
    61
    Where do i put the assemblies for Visual Studio (mac) to recognise them in the Target Framework? Thanks!
     
  6. Emiles

    Emiles

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2014
    Posts:
    61
    Finally, Got it to work. I'm using Visual Studio for Mac - https://www.visualstudio.com/vs/visual-studio-mac/
    Under Preferences->Projects->.Net Runtimes you can change the Default .Net Runtime. It defaults to Mono 4.8.0.

    This is located here on a mac : /Library/Frameworks/Mono.framework/Versions/4.8.0

    From here you can download older versions of Mono https://download.mono-project.com/archive/

    I downloaded 3.12.1 from https://download.mono-project.com/archive/3.12.1/macos-10-x86/
    and copied it into the /Library/Frameworks/Mono.framework/Versions/ folder.

    Within VisualStudio you can then add the .net framework and set it as default. My project then compiled.
     
  7. eager

    eager

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Posts:
    12
    I've same error in Debian! how do you install the package manualy from https://github.com/mono/reference-assemblies

    i use mono 4.8.0 on monodevlop 5.10 and the Default runtime package(4.8) is on (/usr/lib/mono)
     
  8. tfnaug

    tfnaug

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2017
    Posts:
    10
  9. eager

    eager

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Posts:
    12
  10. bytewav

    bytewav

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    Posts:
    8
    Also in linux be careful of permission on if you copy with root.
     
  11. Climber-fx

    Climber-fx

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Posts:
    5
    I'm using the Mono develop that came with Unity 5.5.0f3, Mono 4.0.5, and you don't need to install another version to use .NET 3.5, just go into your project options and change your framework target to 3.5!