Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Frame Advantage and Disadvantage on Attacks for a 2D Fighting Game or Beat Em Up

Discussion in '2D' started by beserkgorilla, Dec 30, 2020.

1. beserkgorilla

beserkgorilla

Hello! I'm relatively new to Unity and working on my first from-scratch project test game.

I have an animated player character with attacks and hitboxes that spawn during their attack animation to check for collisions, but now I'm trying to figure out how to gauge and measure the animation lengths so that I can create consistent frame advantage and disadvantage for the player character depending on whether the attack hit or was blocked.

To drop the fighting game lingo, I'm hoping to find a way to get a consistent measure of exactly how long it takes for the first hurtbox of my character's attack animation to appear from their idle animation. I'm hoping to find out how long the animation needs to loop so on hit the player character can continue attacking while the enemy is still in hit stun (creating a combo) and on block the player character will recover later than the enemy recovers, making them vulnerable to counter attack. I'll need to find a way to get a fairly precise measure of how long the startup and recovery of my attack animations are so that I can implement situations where a fast attack can combo but a slow one cannot, or alternatively a fast attack can punish a blocked attack but a slower one cannot.