Search Unity

Fragmentum - Mesh fragmentation shader

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by Arkhivrag, Apr 16, 2013.

  1. twobob

    twobob

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Posts:
    1,763
    5.2.3f1 is out. FWIW. any helps with the o/s showstopper bugs?
     
  2. lazygunn

    lazygunn

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Posts:
    2,749
    With 5.3 now out can we look forward to v3? Quite looking forward to it
     
    yandrako and twobob like this.
  3. twobob

    twobob

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Posts:
    1,763
    Now that 4 is officially discontinued is this a priority?

    Trust you are well Davit.
    Many thanks
     
  4. Arkhivrag

    Arkhivrag

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,140
    I've decided to release Wireframe shader 2 first (began working while waiting Unity bug fixes in 5.3), after that will continue with Fragmentum.



    VacuumShaders - Facebook Twitter YouTube
     
  5. Wim-Wouters

    Wim-Wouters

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2012
    Posts:
    17
    Really looking forward to the release of Fragmentum :)
     
  6. SpaceRay

    SpaceRay

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Posts:
    379
    Now it has been released Wireframe shader 2, so now is the turn to upgrade this Fragmentum, that I was going to buy but as it is now it does not convince me as the fragments are done in 2D, I mean that they look flat, like paper, I hope that in the possible upgrade you can make give them a more 3D look, at least "extrude" them in some way or whatever way you may think to avoid making them look 2D and not so flat

    I am seeing right and the fragmentation in the video is done in 3D shapes of what seems to be a wall?

    If yes, how would it be done? Will it be pre-fractured in 3D or will be dynamic or realtime?

    Great teaser and well done.

    Thanks and wish you the best for the work on this upgrade
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2016
    S_Darkwell likes this.
  7. Arkhivrag

    Arkhivrag

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,140
    Some technical info about teaser video is here.



    VacuumShaders - Facebook Twitter YouTube
     
  8. sythe

    sythe

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2012
    Posts:
    1
    So, now that Wireframe Shader 2 is out, will we see Fragmentum 3 soon? :)
     
  9. Flurgle

    Flurgle

    Joined:
    May 16, 2016
    Posts:
    368
    Looks awesome. Does anyone know if this works with unity 5.4 beta?
     
  10. pixelsteam

    pixelsteam

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Posts:
    923
    Any status on Version 3?
     
  11. Arkhivrag

    Arkhivrag

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,140
    Status: Paused.



    VacuumShaders - Facebook Twitter YouTube
     
  12. Setmaster

    Setmaster

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Posts:
    194
    Hey Arkhivrag, I have 2 questions:
    Is the one in the asset store compatible with Unity 5?
    Does it support skinned meshes?
     
  13. yandrako

    yandrako

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    Posts:
    26
    Hello Arkhivrag, any updates related with the asset? :)
     
  14. christougher

    christougher

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2015
    Posts:
    413
    Bump. Any news on update? Thx.
     
  15. SpaceRay

    SpaceRay

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Posts:
    379
    Hello, I was amazed and very surprised of the awesome version 3 teaser and how much better and quality it has on November 2015, now we are the at the end 2016, and still there is no news about this.

    On August it was told that it was paused, but now in December is not known if it is still paused, and is continued the work or not.

    thanks for any possible news and update

    happy new year
     
  16. davide445

    davide445

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2015
    Posts:
    138
    Me too interested to use the Fragmentum 3 for VFX on video creation with SLATE.
     
  17. DragonSix

    DragonSix

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2013
    Posts:
    31
    I'd like to know if the current version 2 can be made to work with Unity 5.

    I'm already a big user of Mesh Materializer, and I know how good your tools are. But it would be a shame if I bought something incompatible.
     
  18. davide445

    davide445

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2015
    Posts:
    138
    Asked to the developer and current release it's not ready for Unity 5. The question when will be was raised many times reading the previous posts, I understood no deadline is set so who knows.
    I'm personally looking for other alternatives, even if I will like more a Fragmentum 3 being available since I think it's the perfect solution for my needs.
     
  19. ethanwgross

    ethanwgross

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Posts:
    83
    just a fyi, this is listed as $1000000 in the unity asset store. : )
     
  20. christougher

    christougher

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2015
    Posts:
    413
    Hopefully that means a killer update is on the way... ;)
     
  21. Gua

    Gua

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Posts:
    329
    Interesting shader, but $1000000 is too much in my humble opinion ;)
     
  22. christougher

    christougher

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2015
    Posts:
    413
    Deprecated. :(
     
  23. Arkhivrag

    Arkhivrag

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,140
    Unfortunately Unity does not allow publishers to temporarily disable or hide asset from the store.
    I do not want it to be sold until update is available.
    But will not refuse if someone decides to do such investment :).



    VacuumShaders - Facebook Twitter YouTube
     
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2017
    Flurgle likes this.
  24. ethanwgross

    ethanwgross

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Posts:
    83
    lmao
     
  25. twobob

    twobob

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Posts:
    1,763
    Okay then.

    I can wait
     
  26. yohami

    yohami

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Posts:
    124
    Is this still coming?
     
  27. makeshiftwings

    makeshiftwings

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Posts:
    3,298
    Fragmentum mostly works great for me, but I randomly get this exception thrown occasionally when spawning an object with a frag shader:

    Property (V_FR_FragTexture) already exists. Use SetTexture instead.
    UnityEngine.Material:get_shader()
    VacuumShaders.Fragmentum.FragmentumController:CheckForErrors(Transform)
    VacuumShaders.Fragmentum.FragmentumController:Awake()
    UnityEngine.Object:Instantiate(GameObject, Vector3, Quaternion)

    Anyone know how to stop this? Also, any chance the next version could include source code, so that I don't have to guess about what's happening in CheckForErrors()? ;)

    EDIT: Of course as soon as I post asking about it, I figure out what's wrong. Well, in case anyone else hits this error, it was because the custom shader generated by the main shader included the "V_FR_FragTexture" property twice for some reason. I deleted the extra "V_FR_FragTexture" from the generated shader and the error went away.
     
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2017
    christougher and hopeful like this.
  28. davide445

    davide445

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2015
    Posts:
    138
  29. makeshiftwings

    makeshiftwings

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Posts:
    3,298
    Yeah, it's been working for me. I didn't even know that it wasn't supposed to work until I found this thread this morning. But I'm only using it for a couple of specific things and only on Windows, so maybe there are parts that don't work correctly.
     
  30. jimpal931

    jimpal931

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    Isn't this per polygon displacement through geometry shader? xD
     
  31. twobob

    twobob

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Posts:
    1,763
    So, is this coming then? According to your roadmap you should be back on this?
    Let me know if not, I don't mind lending you the money, but just giving it to you seems a bit unfair.

    Many thanks
     
  32. Arkhivrag

    Arkhivrag

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,140
    No release date (and any other data) is available.



    VacuumShaders - Facebook Twitter YouTube
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2017
  33. twobob

    twobob

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Posts:
    1,763
    So, should I like expect support for 5.6 or not?
     
  34. neuroTrophy

    neuroTrophy

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2015
    Posts:
    11
    I have a project that uses polyworld and the converted polyworld meshes. Is there a way to generate the Fragmentum material and retain the vertex coloring of the polyworld mesh?
     
  35. Arkhivrag

    Arkhivrag

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,140
    Mesh vertex colors can not be rendered.



    VacuumShaders - Facebook Twitter YouTube
     
  36. pgeorges-dpt

    pgeorges-dpt

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2016
    Posts:
    43
    Hey there,

    I recently bought Fragmentum and it is working for 2017.1. Great work mate. Arkhivrag, can you please check your inbox please. I wrote to you there.

    Cheers,

    Paul
     
  37. jimburn

    jimburn

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2017
    Posts:
    64
    $200 ??? seriously, and not even the source code?
     
  38. Arkhivrag

    Arkhivrag

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,140
  39. jashan

    jashan

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Posts:
    3,092
    So, this is looking very awesome ... but ... I'm a bit confused about the price and compatibility with current versions of Unity. It seems this was originally $30, then bumped to a crazy value ($100000 or something like that) to basically make sure no one buys it ... and now it's at €177 ... which is quite a heavy price.

    Does this work with Unity 5.6 and Unity 2017.1?

    Does this work with VR?
     
  40. Gua

    Gua

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Posts:
    329
     
    twobob likes this.
  41. SpaceRay

    SpaceRay

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Posts:
    379
    In November 2015 was shown the teaser for version of Fragmentum and it looks really awesome and amazing, I was WOW! this is incredibly cool!! and I have been waiting much time for the upgrade, but now we are in December 2017, and there is still no news about this.

    I do not want a possible release date, I just only want to know that this is STILL in development and it will be released anytime next year 2018. This is too awesome and too good to not be continued in development.

    Thanks
     
    jashan and yandrako like this.
  42. yandrako

    yandrako

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    Posts:
    26
    I was wondering exactly the same, I bought the asset by that time because of that and still waiting for use it :(
     
    jashan and hopeful like this.
  43. tommasocolombo

    tommasocolombo

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2016
    Posts:
    3
    Hi guys,
    I really need this plugin for a project but I have not really understood reading your replies if the plug in works correctly with last version of unity 2017.3.0.
    does it works?
    thank you in advance

    T
     
    NeatWolf likes this.
  44. joschemd

    joschemd

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2015
    Posts:
    9
    Do to the lack of current updates, I was wondering if it comes with source in case something needs to be fixed going forward.
     
    NeatWolf likes this.
  45. Arkhivrag

    Arkhivrag

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,140
    Yes, if you purchase now, I can send full source code.
    Note, it is not tested with Unity 2018.



    VacuumShaders - Facebook Twitter YouTube
     
  46. nfbtoronto

    nfbtoronto

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2019
    Posts:
    2
    Hi Davit,

    We recently got the Fragmentum asset, and really hoping to be able to fragment into quads and not triangles. It it possible to get a preview of Fragmentum 3 or some way to achieve this in the current asset.

    Thanks!
     
  47. Arkhivrag

    Arkhivrag

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,140
    Current version (2.41) has no option to fragment meshes into quads, only triangles.
    Any versions of Fragmentum 3 (Alpha, Beta, Preview) are not available too.

    Unfortunately, due to lack of enough free time development of Fragmentum 3 currently is paused.



    VacuumShaders - Facebook Twitter YouTube
     
  48. nfbtoronto

    nfbtoronto

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2019
    Posts:
    2
    There's some weird/buggy behaviour with Unity 2018...

    Can't seem to uncheck "Lock Displace" and keep on getting a Shader error..

    Shader error in 'VacuumShaders/Fragmentum/Examples/3a Plane Activator': undeclared identifier 'V_FR_INDEX' at Assets/VacuumShaders/Fragmentum/Shaders/cginc/FragmentumCG_DX11.cginc(60) (on d3d11)
     
  49. Arkhivrag

    Arkhivrag

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,140
    Current version (2.41) was developed for Unity 4.6 and re-written for Unity 2017.1
    Other versions are not supported.
    Send me asset purchase invoice vacuumshaders@gmail.com for refund.



    VacuumShaders - Facebook Twitter YouTube