Search Unity

  1. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Forum is blocking all images from infinitypbr.com including in private messages. Why??v

Discussion in 'Meta-forum Discussion' started by infinitypbr, Mar 27, 2017.

  1. infinitypbr

    infinitypbr

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Posts:
    3,149
    https://forum.unity3d.com/threads/i...ion-concept-art-sound-fx-music-25-off.352226/

    (Not just that pack, but EVERY SINGLE FORUM POST). Yes, I yelled. That's how serious I feel this is.

    What the hell. This is seriously messed up and is making me REALLY mad. If you don't want to host the images, let me host them. If you plan on changing size requirements, TELL PEOPLE. All of the images are broken now.

    But maybe that's not the problem -- the images are about 100kb, so that can't be too big.

    Whats going on??

    EDIT: It looks like this is only affecting my images. Other posts with larger images are fine. Have you guys somehow blocked images from http://www.InfinityPBR.com?

    Edit 2: this is also affecting my communications with artists I'm working with through the forums, as all images in private messages are blocked as well.
     
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2017
  2. and-poulsen

    and-poulsen

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2016
    Posts:
    66
    It looks like the images were down at some point, so the forum could not fetch them - and after a certain amount of tries it will mark the image as dead. I have purged the images in the thread you linked, so they work now.

    If you embed images hosted on an SSL enabled site (using the https protocol), it will hotlink them instead of being proxied through the forum.
     
    infinitypbr likes this.
  3. infinitypbr

    infinitypbr

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Posts:
    3,149
    Thank you for the quick action on this!

    The image below is a test. It's https://infinitypbr.com/forumImages/dragon/title.jpg -- however it shows as a broken image (question mark icon, default for safari) currently, but I think when I post it will show up. However, it will be the proxy image still. Is this the correct functionality? I was thinking that the https would show up as an image from my site? Or should the image name be different as well?



     
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2017
  4. and-poulsen

    and-poulsen

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2016
    Posts:
    66
    Ah, my bad. It will proxy the image no matter the protocol.
     
  5. infinitypbr

    infinitypbr

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Posts:
    3,149
    Ah ok. It seems like an extreme step to assume that the entire URL is bad if it's done for a little bit...esp if the images are already saved as a proxy. Is this going to happen again? Like many small time web site ppl, I can't say if the host will have another little minute of down time in future.

    How often does your server check to see if things are ok in order to fix the problem?
     
  6. infinitypbr

    infinitypbr

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Posts:
    3,149