Search Unity

forced paid update rant...

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by imgumby, Sep 11, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. imgumby

imgumby

https://unity3d.com/legal/as_provider
    Let me say right off.I'm a hobbyist that's retired from a business that required me to interpret and argue contractual agreements and understand that things can be interpreted differently by separate people if the language isn't concise but in this case things are pretty clear ,to me anyway.There's a metric to be met before you can successfully apply for a paid "update" .I don't believe those have been met in recent cases where a paid update is required by the developer if I want my project to stay current with all the other interstitial assets used in it.

..I've noticed as of late a couple developers asking for update fees on mainly editor extensions and templates which in truth are about as finished as Windows 10 when we buy them....constantly being updated and fine tuned to what is hopefully a fully finished product.Probably the impetus for section 9 in the above linked contract to begin with.I imagine it would be hard to sell products for an ever changing platform if you didn't promise the end customer free updates.I know this will likely be the death knell for my purchases of script based assets on sale for good.From now on only buying what I can use within a week as it'll probably be obsolete by then due to Unity API changes unless I pay to keep it current of course.