Search Unity

For the first time in asset store

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by AbdulRahim_96, Mar 17, 2019.

1. AbdulRahim_96

AbdulRahim_96

2. MikeUpchat

MikeUpchat

Can I ask how you have the rights to sell something that is someone else's copyright, and if I buy this and put it in my game what protection do you give against being sued for using it? When you submitted the asset you declared you own the rights to everything in the asset so again how did you acquire the rights for this vehicle?

RecursiveFrog and StevenPicard like this.
  3. AbdulRahim_96

AbdulRahim_96

I have full rights over this asset. there was no problem to Unity team with this model when it was tested. I worked hard on this 3D model. I noticed that I can not find this type of vehicle anywhere in the store, so i decided to make one. Since i'm just a designer (not a programmer) so i can't make a game, but others can, and maybe some of them really wanted to make a superhero type of game that we can rarely find in any mobile app store such as google play store. So I made this model for everyone.

If someone sues your game then I'll refund. But if you upload this model in other website then I have rights to report because I'm the primary owner. Thank you :)

4. AbdulRahim_96

AbdulRahim_96

5. StevenPicard

StevenPicard

Great artwork. There's no question there. Unfortunately, I think the legal ground for this asset is very questionable regardless of how much work you put into it. It looks like the Batmobile and even has the same name. The Asset Store team's approval is not enough to assure you that Warner Bros or some other entity with vested interest isn't going to feel its Intellectual Property rights aren't being violated.

The courts found that the Batmobile is copyrightable (this example case is for an older design but I would think that same holds true the the newer designs):
    http://time.com/4046683/batmobile-copyright-protection/