Search Unity

Question For some reason it says there is syntax in my code and im just folllowing a tutorial

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by DieFast81113, Jun 2, 2023.

  1. DieFast81113

    DieFast81113

    Joined:
    May 24, 2023
    Posts:
    1
    Code (CSharp):
    1. using UnityEngine;
    2.  
    3. public class PlayerMovement : MonoBehaviour
    4. {
    5.     public float speed;
    6.     private float Move;
    7.  
    8.     public float jump;
    9.  
    10.     public bool isJumping;
    11.  
    12.     private Rigidbody2D rb;
    13.     // Start is called before the first frame update
    14.     void Start()
    15.     {
    16.         rb = GetComponent<Rigidbody2D>();
    17.     }
    18.  
    19.     // Update is called once per a frame
    20.     void Update()
    21.     {
    22.         Move = Input.GetAxis("Horizontal");
    23.  
    24.         rb.velocity = new Vector2(speed * Move, rb velocity.y);
    25.  
    26.         if(Input.GetButtonDown("Jump") && isJumping == false)
    27.         {
    28.             rb.AddForce(new Vector2(rb.velocity.x, jump));
    29.         }
    30.     }
    31.  
    32.      private void OnCollisionsEnter2D(Collision2D other)
    33.      {
    34.         if(other.gameObject.CompareTag("Ground"))
    35.         {
    36.             isJumping = false;
    37.         }
    38.      }
    39.  
    40.      private void OnCollisionsExit2D(Collision2D other)
    41.       {
    42.         if(other.gameObject.CompareTag("Ground"))
    43.         {
    44.             isJumping = true;
    45.         }
    46.       }
    47. }    
    Code (CSharp):
    1. using UnityEngine;
    2.  
    3. public class PlayerMovement : MonoBehaviour
    4. {
    5.     public float speed;
    6.     private float Move;
    7.  
    8.     public float jump;
    9.  
    10.     public bool isJumping;
    11.  
    12.     private Rigidbody2D rb;
    13.     // Start is called before the first frame update
    14.     void Start()
    15.     {
    16.         rb = GetComponent<Rigidbody2D>();
    17.     }
    18.  
    19.     // Update is called once per a frame
    20.     void Update()
    21.     {
    22.         Move = Input.GetAxis("Horizontal");
    23.  
    24.         rb.velocity = new Vector2(speed * Move, rb velocity.y);
    25.  
    26.         if(Input.GetButtonDown("Jump") && isJumping == false)
    27.         {
    28.             rb.AddForce(new Vector2(rb.velocity.x, jump));
    29.         }
    30.     }
    31.  
    32.      private void OnCollisionsEnter2D(Collision2D other)
    33.      {
    34.         if(other.gameObject.CompareTag("Ground"))
    35.         {
    36.             isJumping = false;
    37.         }
    38.      }
    39.  
    40.      private void OnCollisionsExit2D(Collision2D other)
    41.       {
    42.         if(other.gameObject.CompareTag("Ground"))
    43.         {
    44.             isJumping = true;
    45.         }
    46.       }
    47. }    
    using UnityEngine;

    public class PlayerMovement : MonoBehaviour
    {
    public float speed;
    private float Move;

    public float jump;

    public bool isJumping;

    private Rigidbody2D rb;
    // Start is called before the first frame update
    void Start()
    {
    rb = GetComponent<Rigidbody2D>();
    }

    // Update is called once per a frame
    void Update()
    {
    Move = Input.GetAxis("Horizontal");

    rb.velocity = new Vector2(speed * Move, rb velocity.y);

    if(Input.GetButtonDown("Jump") && isJumping == false)
    {
    rb.AddForce(new Vector2(rb.velocity.x, jump));
    }
    }

    private void OnCollisionsEnter2D(Collision2D other)
    {
    if(other.gameObject.CompareTag("Ground"))
    {
    isJumping = false;
    }
    }

    private void OnCollisionsExit2D(Collision2D other)
    {
    if(other.gameObject.CompareTag("Ground"))
    {
    isJumping = true;
    }
    }
    }







    please tell me what could be wrong
     
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2023
  2. BABIA_GameStudio

    BABIA_GameStudio

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2020
    Posts:
    497
    Maybe first you should actually tell us what the syntax error is.
    Also, why have you posted the same script 3 times?

    I'm just going to suggest that it is an error on line 24, because you have put
    rb velocity.y
    instead of
    rb.velocity.y
     
  3. Kurt-Dekker

    Kurt-Dekker

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Posts:
    38,752
    You're just making typos.

    Tutorials and example code are great, but keep this in mind to maximize your success and minimize your frustration:

    How to do tutorials properly, two (2) simple steps to success:

    Step 1. Follow the tutorial and do every single step of the tutorial 100% precisely the way it is shown. Even the slightest deviation (even a single character!) generally ends in disaster. That's how software engineering works. Every step must be taken, every single letter must be spelled, capitalized, punctuated and spaced (or not spaced) properly, literally NOTHING can be omitted or skipped.

    Fortunately this is the easiest part to get right: Be a robot. Don't make any mistakes.
    BE PERFECT IN EVERYTHING YOU DO HERE!!


    If you get any errors, learn how to read the error code and fix your error. Google is your friend here. Do NOT continue until you fix your error. Your error will probably be somewhere near the parenthesis numbers (line and character position) in the file. It is almost CERTAINLY your typo causing the error, so look again and fix it.

    Step 2. Go back and work through every part of the tutorial again, and this time explain it to your doggie. See how I am doing that in my avatar picture? If you have no dog, explain it to your house plant. If you are unable to explain any part of it, STOP. DO NOT PROCEED. Now go learn how that part works. Read the documentation on the functions involved. Go back to the tutorial and try to figure out WHY they did that. This is the part that takes a LOT of time when you are new. It might take days or weeks to work through a single 5-minute tutorial. Stick with it. You will learn.

    Step 2 is the part everybody seems to miss. Without Step 2 you are simply a code-typing monkey and outside of the specific tutorial you did, you will be completely lost. If you want to learn, you MUST do Step 2.

    Of course, all this presupposes no errors in the tutorial. For certain tutorial makers (like Unity, Brackeys, Imphenzia, Sebastian Lague) this is usually the case. For some other less-well-known content creators, this is less true. Read the comments on the video: did anyone have issues like you did? If there's an error, you will NEVER be the first guy to find it.

    Beyond that, Step 3, 4, 5 and 6 become easy because you already understand!

    Finally, when you have errors, don't post here... just go fix your errors! Here's how:


    Remember: NOBODY here memorizes error codes. That's not a thing. The error code is absolutely the least useful part of the error. It serves no purpose at all. Forget the error code. Put it out of your mind.

    The complete error message contains everything you need to know to fix the error yourself.

    The important parts of the error message are:

    - the description of the error itself (google this; you are NEVER the first one!)
    - the file it occurred in (critical!)
    - the line number and character position (the two numbers in parentheses)
    - also possibly useful is the stack trace (all the lines of text in the lower console window)

    Always start with the FIRST error in the console window, as sometimes that error causes or compounds some or all of the subsequent errors. Often the error will be immediately prior to the indicated line, so make sure to check there as well.

    Look in the documentation. Every API you attempt to use is probably documented somewhere. Are you using it correctly? Are you spelling it correctly?

    All of that information is in the actual error message and you must pay attention to it. Learn how to identify it instantly so you don't have to stop your progress and fiddle around with the forum.
     
  4. Ryiah

    Ryiah

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Posts:
    21,205
    You made a minor typo with the following line in Update(). You need a period between rb and velocity.y.

    Before:
    Code (csharp):
    1. rb.velocity = new Vector2(speed * Move, rb velocity.y);
    After:
    Code (csharp):
    1. rb.velocity = new Vector2(speed * Move, rb.velocity.y);