Search Unity

  1. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity is excited to announce that we will be collaborating with TheXPlace for a summer game jam from June 13 - June 19. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice

"FMOD failed to initialize ... Error initializing output device" on WP8 device

Discussion in 'Windows' started by sathya, Sep 2, 2014.

  1. sathya

    sathya

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    Posts:
    298
    This is a big pain in my head. I have been searching everywhere about this.

    The log exception that I get for my WP8 device is :

    "FMOD failed to initialize ... Error initializing output device."
    &
    "DSP connection error. Couldn't find the DSP unit specified."

    and the audio of my device gets corrupted and fails to play all types of media.

    Now, Once you reset the device and install the app again, it kills device sound again. (Sometimes on the first launch and sometimes after 2-3 times)

    How can I fix this issue ?
     
  2. ajketan

    ajketan

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Posts:
    20
  3. Graham-Dunnett

    Graham-Dunnett

    Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Posts:
    4,287
    @ajketan - please don't bump a post within a couple of hours. I can see that you and @sathya share an IP. If @sathya needs help, he'll want to post more details.
     
    OxDEADFACE, drHogan and tiagomelobr like this.
  4. Josh-Naylor

    Josh-Naylor

    Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    Posts:
    216
    Are you deploying in Debug mode? There has been some issues when doing this, have you tried Release or Master?
     
  5. Graham-Dunnett

    Graham-Dunnett

    Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Posts:
    4,287
  6. sathya

    sathya

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    Posts:
    298
    @Graham Dunnett,
    Yes i am getting the same issue with Master Build as well. Tried disabling unity audio from Project settings still same issue repeats. Tried deploying on nokia Lumia 820 and 520.
    Once this happens game starts spamming logs thus making the game run really slow.
    Only solution i found for this was to reset the device to its factory defaults but launching the game again makes the same issue repeat again. Attached unity log with this. please check the log and assist me fixing this issue.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Josh-Naylor

    Josh-Naylor

    Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    Posts:
    216
    First thing i notice is you may be missing a script?

    Could you submit a bug report with a sample project and paste the case number in here too.

    Edit: Moved to Windows Development as it's platform specific.
     
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2014
  8. sathya

    sathya

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    Posts:
    298
    Somehow in audio settings DSPBuffer size was set to "Best Performance". Reverted it back to default and it solved the issue. Thanks.
     
  9. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,702
    Bug report would still be nice.
     
  10. sathya

    sathya

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    Posts:
    298
    No this issue started showing up again
     
  11. Devin-Curry

    Devin-Curry

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2013
    Posts:
    22
    Sorry to necro but I just ran into this issue trying to build today at the Unity 5 Roadshow with Unity5.0.2... Upgrading to Unit 5.1 fixed this issue for me
     
  12. coolbird22

    coolbird22

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Posts:
    38
    This is possibly an issue with the AudioSrv service in Windows. Go to the TaskManager. Go to the Services tab. Find 'AudioSrv' in the list, right click and Restart it. Then restart Unity. Should fix it.
     
  13. Cruzer7

    Cruzer7

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Posts:
    1
    I am having this error "FMOD instantiation failed" and I have attached a screenshot please try to fix it for me
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Tain_M

    Tain_M

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Posts:
    1
    This issue had not occurred before, simply appeared when I started Unity while working through the Tanks tutorial. I restarted Audiosrv before I tried any other fixes, and the problem was solved. Technology is weird. :)
     
  15. Max-Bot

    Max-Bot

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2013
    Posts:
    83
    I removed from scene SoundSource with AudioClip located in Resources folder, reboot computer and it works brilliant. Do not hold clip which is referenced by SoundSorce in Resources or it children, move it to other folder.
     
  16. MadCore

    MadCore

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    I had the same error when i played with playback devices properties.
    Solved it this way:
    1. Open current sound playback device properties.
    2. In enhancement tab, switched back to immediate mode.
    3. Solved. No fmod error. And in game sound working.
     
  17. luisquispe

    luisquispe

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    tengo el mismo problema de
    FMOD failed to initialize the output device, attempting to initialize the null output.
    ya no se que hacer intente todo lo de aqui, pero nada