Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Floating objects becoming flush to other objects when in line with camera

Discussion in 'VR' started by Based01, Jul 16, 2018.

1. Based01

Based01

Hi, I'm pretty new to Unity/Mixed Reality development and whenever I use a tap-to-place or the DirectionalIndicator (from microsoft gaze tutorials), the object that floats along with the user (e.g. the directional indicator) becomes instantly stuck to any other object that it passes.

For instance, I have a tag-along menu and a directional indicator. Whenever the line through the camera and the indicator intersects the menu, the indicator teleports to the distance of the menu.

How do I make the indicator not react this way? I tried to mess with physics layers but I'm not sure how to do that/ if that is the solution.

Thank you in advance.

2. JasonCostanza

JasonCostanza

Unity Technologies

Check if your direction indicator has a physics collider component on there. If so, remove that if it's not needed or tell your raycast script to ignore the collision with the indicator object.

3. Based01

Based01

I disabled the box collider of the menu and it didn't change anything. Directional Indicator has no collider in the inspector.

Not sure what you mean by my raycast script... I found a component on the menu called "Graphic Raycaster" but it was already set to "Everything" which included "Ignore Raycast"

Also couldn't find any raycasting happening in the directional indicator script.

Could you elaborate on the raycast script you mentioned?

4. JasonCostanza

JasonCostanza

Unity Technologies