Search Unity

flickering gameobjects (pixel bleeding) when moving, using an ortho camera

Discussion in '2D' started by DGordon, Dec 10, 2013.

1. DGordon

DGordon

Hello,

This is my first time posting here, so if I've placed this in the wrong place (or done any other taboo), my apologies. Its 2:30am here, so I blame any mistakes or incoherence on that :).

I'm in the middle of creating a 2D system that has a workflow which includes some of the better aspects of both Corona and Flash. As much as I love Unity, for small scale 2D projects, its still faster to be able to create things using a parent/child hierarchy in code with strict X/Y values (at least coming from my company's background). The system allows a user to specify a target resolution, creates a 1:1 pixel to unit ratio for that resolution, and keeps the screen scaled properly whenever the screen's height changes (meaning, it looks the same regardless of screen resolution, with extra padding given on the sides when the w/h ratio changes). It uses the standard AddChild/RemoveChild syntax, has alpha/scaling trickle down through children, an event system that bubbles up, has both interactive and interactiveChildren flags per displayObject (anyone in flash will recognize mouseEnabled and mouseChildren), etc etc.