Search Unity

  1. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity is excited to announce that we will be collaborating with TheXPlace for a summer game jam from June 13 - June 19. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice

Flare Problems of a Different Variety...

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by The MC, Feb 21, 2006.

  1. The MC

    The MC

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    105
    Okay, so, thanks to the wonderful help of the generous people on these boards, I've gotten my sun flare to look gorgeous. However, now I'm having a different problem with it, in the sense that you can see it through all my objects! It appears both through the "cockpit" which is a GUI pic, and the ship in the game, which is a completely solid model.... So, here's a pic.... any help would be greatly appreciated.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Joachim_Ante

    Joachim_Ante

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    5,203
    Add a collider to the big space ship.
     
  3. jeremyace

    jeremyace

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    1,661
    Woah... Colliders effect flares? Wouldn't have guessed that. :eek: Good to know.

    -Jeremy[/quote]
     
  4. The MC

    The MC

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    105
    Ah, I see. Strange, but ok. So then, how do I get it to not show through my GUI layer?
     
  5. The MC

    The MC

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    105
    Anybody?
     
  6. Joachim_Ante

    Joachim_Ante

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    5,203
    Did you make sure your gui layer has a completely white alpha channels on the visible parts of your hud?
     
  7. The MC

    The MC

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    105
    Yep.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Joachim_Ante

    Joachim_Ante

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    5,203
    Maybe the gui texture component doesn't have alpha set to 100%?
     
  9. The MC

    The MC

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    105
    Ok, this may be a dumb question, but how do I check that? (Thanks for the help by the way)
     
  10. NicholasFrancis

    NicholasFrancis

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    Posts:
    1,587
    We don't do alpha checking against gui textures to turn off a flare.

    The way to do this would be to make a mesh that matches the shape of your cockpit and parent it to the camera. Remove the Mesh Renderer from the script, and just have a collider.