Search Unity

First game : Top down engine or Game creator ?

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by Anteraa, May 25, 2019.

?

Which solution ?

1. Top down engine

2. Game creator

3. Spend 10 years of your life to code the foundations yourself

4. Stick to Game Creator Studio 2 and use simple squares instead of sprites

5. Playmaker

Results are only viewable after voting.
  1. Anteraa

Anteraa

Hello,

I started to create a 2D game with Game Creator Studio 2, but after 150 hours in, I feel it's too limited

I'm looking at Unity now, and for some advice

It's a personal game, a personal challenge to create a game, a mobile top down shooter. I'm realistic, it will be quite simple at the beginning. Maybe if it works one day I'll put it on the mobile stores :)

My background is :
    • 1 year of C++, Java
    • 15 years of web dev with PHP, Javascript, jQuery, HTML,CSS
    • 6 months of RPG Maker
    • 2 days of Buildbox game creator
    • 1 month of Game Creator Studio 2, GML code mode
    I'm very bad at orientation and 3D understanding, so I'm little bit afraid of Unity, but there are so much more ressources for 3D than 2D.

I'm tired of spending hundreds of hours working on the code of collisions, movements, physics ... and I'm bad at it. I'm creative, and would like to spend the most of my time on game concept, designing levels, skills, magic, enemies

That's why I think Unity has assets that can help bootstrap a game creation, like Top down engine or Game creator, and 3D models

The idea is to use a 2D floor, top view, and 3D characters, so I don't have to create hundreds of PNG sprite for animations
    Cartoon, maybe "low poly" (not "pixel art" !)

Top down engine : https://assetstore.unity.com/packages/templates/systems/topdown-engine-89636
    Game creator : https://assetstore.unity.com/packages/templates/systems/game-creator-89443
    Playmaker : https://assetstore.unity.com/packages/tools/visual-scripting/playmaker-368