Search Unity

First Game - Endless Runner - Help?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by SCoolidge, Sep 19, 2015.

1. SCoolidge

SCoolidge

First post, so forgive me if its not the correct subforum.

I was given a book on learning C# programming with Unity3d as a gift and have decided to give it a go.

I consider myself fairly green when it comes to programming/coding. Ive messed with java back in the day in a computer class I had; we built a few basic programs, but i wouldnt say i understood what i did or why they worked - i didnt care at the time. Ive also messed around with html, css and a touch of javascrpit in another class - more stuff i would say i didnt retain.

While Im still a novice in other areas, I easily have more experience with art, modeling and audio and i wouldnt feel too lost learning more advance skill sets in those arenas.

Anyway, fast forward many years and im finally interested in learning.

My question is related to endless runners, since im going to attempt one during my learning process. Prior to getting into the mechanics and watching a tutorial ive found, im just taking the time design/outline the functional and non functional features of the game that i would like (well that i can think of at the moment) and a question popped up in my mind about level design.

I was wondering if these maps such as in Temple Run are completely a random generation, built or a combo of both.

Say i would like different parts throughout the run to be built but i would also like most parts to be generated, is this a fairly simple process once you understand what you are doing?

Thanks in advance.

Last edited: Sep 19, 2015
  2. goat

goat