Search Unity

Firing Bullet using Playmaker - Animation gets weird

Discussion in 'Animation' started by nluckett, Oct 14, 2014.

1. nluckett

nluckett

Hi guys, so I have a character that is able to walk, run, jump etc (I used Character Controller Pro to get the basics setup). Now I want to add an attack. I decided to add a throw motion and have him throw a ball/bullet that will kill things.

I have the ball working. I can throw it every time I click the mouse button and it comes out of the spawner and does what it is supposed to do.

However, I can only figure out how to get the animation of the guy throwing the ball to play once. It plays once (using the Animator Play function) and then wont play every time I press the button. Somehow it's not getting in the loop.

And then the other problem is that I can't figure out how to release myself from the Throw state and go back to idle.

I am attaching a pic showing my PlayMaker setup. I am a newbie at coding, so Ive been using Playmaker.

You will see that I added a new state in the Animator called "Throw". Inside that is my throw animation "p1_throw" with 3 sprites in it. PlayMaker calls the Throw State from the Animator, but then gets stuck somewhere.

Any help would be appreciated!

Attached Files:

2. TD10074405

TD10074405

It doesn't appear you have any of your animation states linked, you need to send and return to a state to actually get it to return IIRC

We've only used the mechanim system rather than the legacy system for this project we're working on. But each state is returned by a flow-system using boolean values!

Gimme' a second and I'll load up UFree on my other machine and take a look for you

3. TD10074405

TD10074405

Whilst not the best representation of a mechanim system, this was our early tester before we added blend trees to compensate for the crouching motion too