Search Unity

  1. Improved Prefab workflow (includes Nested Prefabs!), 2D isometric Tilemap and more! Get the 2018.3 Beta now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. The Unity Pro & Visual Studio Professional Bundle gives you the tools you need to develop faster & collaborate more efficiently. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Let us know a bit about your interests, and if you'd like to become more directly involved. Take our survey!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Improve your Unity skills with a certified instructor in a private, interactive classroom. Watch the overview now.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Want to see the most recent patch releases? Take a peek at the patch release page.
    Dismiss Notice

File menu disabled (only if I open project through hub)

Discussion in 'Unity Hub' started by AcidArrow, Apr 14, 2018.

  1. AcidArrow

    AcidArrow

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Posts:
    4,944
    I'm using a mac and Unity 2017.4.1.

    If I open my project through the hub, my File and "Unity" menus are permanently disabled:

    Screen Shot 2018-04-14 at 12.39.34.png Screen Shot 2018-04-14 at 12.39.31.png

    If I open Unity directly everything is fine.

    It only happens (at least consistently) on this specific project, not sure what is wrong. Maybe something with permissions?
     
  2. AbrahamDUnity

    AbrahamDUnity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2017
    Posts:
    112
    Hello,

    This issue was addressed and will no longer be an issue starting at 2017.4.2f1. It only affects versions between 2017.3.1p2 and 2017.4.1. Sorry for the inconvenience.

    Best!
     
    AcidArrow likes this.
  3. AcidArrow

    AcidArrow

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Posts:
    4,944
    Cool, thanks!
     
  4. playsidepaul

    playsidepaul

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2015
    Posts:
    11
    Any chance of a fix for 2017.3.1p4? We have a few projects on this version, being the last stable LTS of 2017.3...
     
  5. AbrahamDUnity

    AbrahamDUnity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2017
    Posts:
    112
    @playsidepaul Good news! 2017.4 is actually the stable LTS for 2017 altogether. Your projects should not break from 2017.3.x to 2017.4. Give it a try and let us know if there are any issues.

    Cheers,
     
    playsidepaul likes this.
  6. AcidArrow

    AcidArrow

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Posts:
    4,944
    By the way the naming for the LTS is not working super well. I have seen multiple threads from people being confused about it.

    I think the problem is the move from .3 to .4. For all other versions, the +.1 increase means "potentially breaking changes", but in this particular instance it means something completely different.

    I'm not saying I have a better solution, but it's just something to think about for when the time for 2018.4 comes :)
     
  7. AbrahamDUnity

    AbrahamDUnity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2017
    Posts:
    112
    I agree. I hope we will heed user feedback on this one for next LTS.
     
    AcidArrow likes this.
  8. Deozaan

    Deozaan

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Posts:
    557

    Indeed! Look at how many changes occurred between Unity 2017.3.1p4 and 2017.4.0f1 LTS:

    https://github.com/Unity-Technologi...mmit/79ced167a64f35e829251fe68bcb6bf4ada1c57f

    In other words, 2017.4.0 is 2017.3.1p4. The LTS releases are basically just more patch releases for 2017.3.x to make it even more stable. AFAIK there should be no danger in upgrading to the latest 2017.4 LTS release if your project is already on 2017.3.x or 2017.4.x.
     
    playsidepaul and AbrahamDUnity like this.
  9. playsidepaul

    playsidepaul

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2015
    Posts:
    11
    Thanks Abraham for the info, and thanks @Deozaan for the 2017.3 -> 2017.4 changelog :)D)

    So all of our older 2017.3 projects that we recently moved to 3.1p4 for consistency, thinking "it's the last 2017.3 and hasn't had a patch in 2-3 months, must be super-stable", we'll upgrade them to 2017.4 instead!
     
    AbrahamDUnity likes this.