Search Unity

Ferr2D Terrain Tool

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by koujaku, Oct 9, 2013.

  1. flashframe

    flashframe

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2015
    Posts:
    798
    @Rodlaiz I think these issues are related and are by design. Ferr2D tries to create uniform mesh pieces along the the path, and each sprite segment is squashed or stretched to fit the space between. So I think @koujaku presumes that all the body segments will have the same width. Hopefully he will correct me if I'm wrong.

    You can add a width check to a method in the TerrainMaterialWindow that will fix the "not simple" issue you are having, but it won't solve the stretching problem; your wider piece will be squashed to make it the same size as the smallest piece.

    I can point you in the right direction for the material editor via PM, but since the code is not public domain, I won't post here.
     
  2. Lemmiwinqs

    Lemmiwinqs

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Posts:
    9
    Hey guys, I'm having a problem with collider on my terrain. It doesnt follow my terrain curve and does something like this:


    Notice the upper horizontal green line. That shouldn't be there.
     
    MmMonika likes this.
  3. NeatWolf

    NeatWolf

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    Posts:
    924
    Is there a way to prolong *just* the top collider length? It's confusing for the player to fall when graphically there is still space.
    I need a solution also for the background terrain, that only has the top collider enabled.

    (btw: what's boiling? I love this asset and would like to know what's on the roadmap or in development!)
     
  4. Rodlaiz

    Rodlaiz

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2013
    Posts:
    38
    @flashframe Thank you very much for your answer, I'll try to rework my textures so the width of the bodies are equal and see if that solves both problems. I'm a bit surprised to be, apparently, the only one who tried to make a TOP texture with different widths, for variety sake ;)
     
  5. flashframe

    flashframe

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2015
    Posts:
    798
    I actually requested it as a feature on Twitter. The developer seems more active on there. Maybe you could in a request too? He might consider adding it then :)
     
  6. Poulpyblasto

    Poulpyblasto

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2016
    Posts:
    2
    I didn't come back after that post but this problem is solved, don't mind it.

    So, I have another question : I have multiple layers in my platformer game and I want to apply a fog on them, according to how far a layer is from the camera. Does anyone know how to apply this fog with Ferr2D ? I'm looking around the shader scripts but I'm terrible at this unfortunately.

    Thanks
     
  7. mcbauer

    mcbauer

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2015
    Posts:
    524
    So I have an issue when I import this package into my project.

    It basically breaks my Puppet2d install.

    I get 43 errors basically telling me this:

    error CS0101: The namespace `Poly2Tri' already contains a definition for `DelaunayTriangle'
    error CS0101: The namespace `Poly2Tri' already contains a definition for `AdvancingFront'

    etc

    Any ideas on how I can make these 2 products compatible? I'd love to try your tool, but it's breaking my character controller at the moment.

    Any help would be appreciated.
     
  8. CDF

    CDF

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Posts:
    1,311
    If you have access to both Source code from Ferr and Puppet, wrap the Poly2Tri classes from each in their respective namespaces

    I'm guessing Puppet2D wraps its classes under a Puppet2D namespace?
     
  9. flashframe

    flashframe

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2015
    Posts:
    798
    They are both using Poly2Tri, so you have a duplicate of P2T.cs in your project. You need to delete one of these files.
     
  10. s2quinnh

    s2quinnh

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    Posts:
    10
    I have a question about Version Control. We're using Git, and we're seeing a lot of Mesh.asset files that are changing, and it's also changing prefabs that have those meshes in them. I'm assuming just commit those files? The weird part is they're showing up when I haven't touched anything in the project. I'm thinking it could be from someone else's commit, they missed committing those files, so when I update it's finding all the changes and trying to apply them on mine.

    Thanks for any clarification!
     
  11. mcbauer

    mcbauer

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2015
    Posts:
    524

    Yep that fixed it, thanks
     
  12. freedom667

    freedom667

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Posts:
    425
    i have a problem in EditorTools.cs. it gives `Camera' does not contain a definition for `current' at (222,48) and (223,48). I using 1.0.9 and unity version 5.2.3p1
     
  13. magique

    magique

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Posts:
    4,030
    Does this product automatically add polygon 2d colliders to the terrain?
     
  14. Too-Nerd-To-Die

    Too-Nerd-To-Die

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014
    Posts:
    44
    Hello guys, someone know about shaders, could help me, I need to make a water and in the simplest method of all is to make a plan and put between ferrs, but there is a problem rendering the "water", anyone can help me.
    I'm using Unlit Tinted Texture Vertex Color Transparent to the edges, Unlit Tinted Texture Vertex Color to fill and Unlit Tinted Texture Vertex Color Transparent to the water.

    http://puu.sh/nYU7J/cbfee74fe0.png
    http://puu.sh/nTz0I/627558076a.png
    http://puu.sh/nTzqM/93673693a2.png
     
  15. Too-Nerd-To-Die

    Too-Nerd-To-Die

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014
    Posts:
    44
  16. magique

    magique

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Posts:
    4,030
  17. _saby

    _saby

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Posts:
    11
  18. NeatWolf

    NeatWolf

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    Posts:
    924
    I think I'd use two half-planes, and create Sorting layers appropiately for each half, so that they get rendered correctly in front of, and behind, another sorting layer. Then, I would set the terrain and water sorting layers so that they get rendered correctly.

    I did it in the screenshot above, in this page.

    Is the creator still working on this asset? I can't see him answering.
     
  19. ParityClaws

    ParityClaws

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Posts:
    15
    Can anyone provide any tips to a complete beginner to drawing about how to go about creating textures for this plugin. I see there are tutorials on how to use the textures once you have created them but nothing regarding how you should go about creating them. I guess I am looking for a few simple tips, e.g. create them in this size and this type, use Illustrator or Inkscape etc. I understand this is a very vague question, but I am not really sure what to ask.
     
  20. Cruz.Guinho

    Cruz.Guinho

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2014
    Posts:
    3
    Hi, I use this template, to paint over in Photoshop, with this all textures clip are the same position and is pretty faster to setup the Ferr2dTerrain in Unity.
     

    Attached Files:

    breezinstein_iv likes this.
  21. trudeaudm

    trudeaudm

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Posts:
    116
    I actually use this asset to make planets, and I was wondering if you had any ideas on how to change the cliff textures to be based on the steepness from the center of the planet rather than the generic up coordinate.

    I also was wondering if you thought it would be possible to procedurally generate a planet like I have made, using this asset.

    Thanks,
    Reference Video. Planet shown about 3 mins in.
     
  22. Too-Nerd-To-Die

    Too-Nerd-To-Die

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014
    Posts:
    44
    someone has this problem or am I doing something wrong, I created a boolean to check whether it is day or night and so change the color texture using the vertex color, in the editor it change the values but not in the terrain, it's a bug or i need to call some function to update its color?

    Code (CSharp):
    1.             for (int i = 0; i < ferrMaterials.Length; i++) {
    2.                 ferrMaterials [i].vertexColor = nightColor;
    3.             }
    http://puu.sh/ox5cT/a9d4195327.png
    but if i click on the terrain on scene editor it change to new color.
    http://puu.sh/ox5hV/12083d9fb0.png
     
  23. SunshineSunshine

    SunshineSunshine

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2013
    Posts:
    1
    Call "Build()" from Ferr2DT_PathTerrain
     
    Too-Nerd-To-Die likes this.
  24. Too-Nerd-To-Die

    Too-Nerd-To-Die

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014
    Posts:
    44
  25. ionrain

    ionrain

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Posts:
    9
    Hi everyone!

    I'm happy to announce that I've finished a cartoon forest asset pack with support of Ferr2D. Here's the preview:



    You can use it for prototyping or finished projects. The graphics is vector based and contains source images in Adobe Flash (Animate CC) format. So you can save it in any resolution or even in SVG. You can also change them in any way you like or hire someone to build what you want upon it rather than to start with scratch.

    Feature list:
    - Popular cartoon style;
    - 2.5D look;
    - Ferr2D support. Materials include ground, platform, hills, bridge and animated water;
    - 50+ total objects;
    - Mobile-friendly. Pack doesn't use any image effects or fancy shaders that can harm performance;
    - Vector-based graphics. Save in any resolution or even in SVG;
    - Demo scene included!
    - Sources in Adobe Flash (Animate CC) format included!

    Download it here: https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com/en/#!/content/57828

    If you have any questions or feature requests leave them in corresponding Unity Forum thread or send via support email or twitter.

    Hope, you'll like the pack, and can't wait to see what you'll be able to do with it! :)
     
    NeatWolf and Too-Nerd-To-Die like this.
  26. biscito

    biscito

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    Posts:
    138
    so any news @kaujaku
     
    Too-Nerd-To-Die likes this.
  27. Too-Nerd-To-Die

    Too-Nerd-To-Die

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014
    Posts:
    44
    Any News @koujaku ?
    Don't forget us!
     
  28. AshyB

    AshyB

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    Posts:
    191
    Hey guys, how do you go about getting physics2d.raycasts working with ferr2d terrain? At editor time (not runtime). Far as I can tell, ferr only creates the colliders at runtime?
     
  29. NeatWolf

    NeatWolf

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    Posts:
    924
    This is great news! Please make more! (maybe non cartoonish this time)

    What happened to the creator? @koujaku hasn't logged for months now, is there a way to contact him, is this package abandoned? :(
    It's a unique asset, it would really be a pity not having more updates and improvements :(
     
    Too-Nerd-To-Die likes this.
  30. breezinstein_iv

    breezinstein_iv

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    4
    He's way more active on twitter
     
    Too-Nerd-To-Die likes this.
  31. NeatWolf

    NeatWolf

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    Posts:
    924
    Thanks for the info... on twitter, with which nick?
     
  32. k3pp

    k3pp

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    Posts:
    23
    flashframe likes this.
  33. flashframe

    flashframe

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2015
    Posts:
    798
    He's @koujaku on there too
     
    NeatWolf likes this.
  34. xpachin

    xpachin

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2014
    Posts:
    62
    A lot of things keeping me busy right now >.< I'm still doing stuff with Ferr2D, just not very quickly!
    from @koujaku
     
  35. NeatWolf

    NeatWolf

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    Posts:
    924
    "I was hoping to get an update out soon, but I dunno when I'll have the time to wrap it up!"
    from @koujaku

    Also, this video:
    https://twitter.com/koujaku/status/728643750679863297

    "That's something you can do right out of the box =D"

    What? How do you manage to create variable-width tendrils in Ferr2D?

    Does anyone know how to?
    EDIT: oh, there is the Scale icon. Lol, I only discovered it now!
     
    Last edited: May 6, 2016
    Too-Nerd-To-Die likes this.
  36. Bonusbob

    Bonusbob

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2013
    Posts:
    3
    Hi!

    First of all, awesome plugin!

    I'm having an issue with the collider creation on iOS. I get the following error:

    NullReferenceException: A null value was found where an object instance was required.
    at Ferr2DT_PathTerrain.GetColliderVerts () [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
    at Ferr2DT_PathTerrain.RecreateCollider2D () [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
    at Ferr2DT_PathTerrain.RecreateCollider () [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
    at Ferr2DT_PathTerrain.Start () [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:

    It works fine in the editor.
     
  37. fks_off

    fks_off

    Joined:
    May 9, 2016
    Posts:
    1
    How can I use NavMesh baking with ferr2dterrain?
     
  38. armedjack

    armedjack

    Joined:
    May 13, 2016
    Posts:
    4
    Hi folks!
    I got magic bug. Starting from random node edge texture disappears.


    And all nodes of that part has up-arrow near:


    Any ideas?
     
  39. windvane

    windvane

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2016
    Posts:
    4
    I have got crazy bug with DOTWEEN!!

    while using dotween path , the Terrain just rotated itself while running the game.....(Y=90 , see the attached)
    and the most imporant is ... when I check the "Create Collider" box of Ferr2D Object...
    UNITY JUST FREEZED and stop response...
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.jpg
      1.jpg
      File size:
      305.2 KB
      Views:
      698
  40. NeatWolf

    NeatWolf

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    Posts:
    924
    My idea is that the geometry of your terrain got way over the limits. It looks insanely smoothed. Have you tried lowering the smoothing value, so that the resulting terrain mesh gets simpler?
     
  41. armedjack

    armedjack

    Joined:
    May 13, 2016
    Posts:
    4
    I've even unchecked "Smooth path". Doesnt help. And only 36 vertices total in terrain .
     
  42. NeatWolf

    NeatWolf

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    Posts:
    924
    Did you try the option to force terrain rebuild?
     
  43. armedjack

    armedjack

    Joined:
    May 13, 2016
    Posts:
    4
    You mean Assets->Rebuild cash or what?
     
  44. jackfreak

    jackfreak

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2014
    Posts:
    2
    If you add a PolygonCollider2D to your Ferr2d terrain, it will bake its collider info right into that component and you will be able to use it in editor time. Be sure to uncheck/check the "Create collider" checkbox to force a refresh of the collider.
     
  45. Too-Nerd-To-Die

    Too-Nerd-To-Die

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014
    Posts:
    44
    Hello devs, this is one of the scenarios we are producing, a good portion of the objects use ferr2D to extend the objects like the bridge, wall, floor and columns.
    Even the art in the early concepts what do you guys think of the environment?
    It is possible to notice the use of ferr2D in those objects?
     
  46. NeatWolf

    NeatWolf

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    Posts:
    924
    Not so evident but everyone knowing Ferr2D could guess it's using Ferr2D. Is that a problem?
     
    Too-Nerd-To-Die likes this.
  47. armedjack

    armedjack

    Joined:
    May 13, 2016
    Posts:
    4
    still trying to findout source of "no edge" bug.
    created "no smooth" path and split terrain into 2 separate objects. doesn't help.
     
  48. Too-Nerd-To-Die

    Too-Nerd-To-Die

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014
    Posts:
    44
    so no, we just want to know an opinion of who already used ferr2D, to understand if we are managing to leave as natural as possible.
     
  49. tpetersen125

    tpetersen125

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Posts:
    2
    Hi, I'm new to Ferr2d, and so far it has been really easy to use! My only problem is a glitch that is happening when I use my own texture for the outer tiles (I plan on making my own fill texture). When I use my own texture it makes an artifact that puts the whole tile set next to a corner. I was wondering if you would know why this is happening. The artifact is connected to the corner highlighted below. Here's a pic:
    upload_2016-5-22_2-41-58.png
     
  50. Too-Nerd-To-Die

    Too-Nerd-To-Die

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014
    Posts:
    44
    U set a wrong configuration on Ferr Prefab Material Editor.