Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.
  2. Unity 2022.2 is now available as the latest Tech release.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. We are making some changes to the DOTS forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Join us on Dec 8, 2022, between 7 am & 7 pm EST, in the DOTS Dev Blitz Day 2022 - Q&A forum, Discord, and Unity3D Subreddit to learn more about DOTS directly from the Unity Developers.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Have a look at our Games Focus blog post series which will show what Unity is doing for all game developers – now, next year, and in the future.
    Dismiss Notice

Feedback wanted - Your feeling about 2019.2 in its current state (b7)

Discussion in '2019.2 Beta' started by LeonhardP, Jul 5, 2019.

?

How would you feel if we released 2019.2 in its current state (b7)?

Poll closed Jul 26, 2019.
  1. 1 (I would be furious! 2019.2 is absolutely unusable!)

    6 vote(s)
    5.5%
  2. 2 (I would be disappointed. 2019.2 does not feel ready.)

    33 vote(s)
    30.0%
  3. 3 (I would have mixed feelings. 2019.2 is good enough to be used, but not great.)

    36 vote(s)
    32.7%
  4. 4 (I would feel positive about Unity's quality standards. 2019.2 is in good shape.)

    28 vote(s)
    25.5%
  5. 5 (Ship it already! 2019.2 is a prime example of excellent software quality.)

    7 vote(s)
    6.4%
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Baste

    Baste

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Posts:
    5,970
    What is the "old behaviour" that's being guaranteed here? Is there built-in Unity shortcuts that shouldn't execute in play mode?

    Shouldn't those have to play nice like the rest of us have to and
    Code (csharp):
    1. if (Application.isPlaying) return;
    +
     
  2. r618

    r618

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Posts:
    1,188
    new scene (def. on windows Ctrl+N) won't execute in playmode
    and I only *wish* build (def. Ctrl+B on windows) *wouldn't* execute in play mode -
    that mainly due to mistyping ctrl+v, but there are probably more actions which shouldn't be/aren't permitted in play mode
     
  3. BradZoob

    BradZoob

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2014
    Posts:
    61
    Not sure if this is helpful to anyone and is just my experience but the only stable version of Unity 2019.2 i was able to eek out is 2.0a13, everything else just takes hours to clear the errors and bugs out of, whoever is release manager for Unity should probably do regular build tests using defaults in their various HUB configurations because Hub/PM don't seem to be working as intended. (basis of tests is clean installs in a fresh directory, not existing projects, i should expect 100% of these to work or they shouldn't be exposed by default).

    The Progressive CPU/GPU lightmapper also appears to work well in this version. Issues with other Unity 2019.2 versions range from Unity default setup including conflicts with itself (PP2), Unity selecting bizarre directories to drop configs (PP2.17) which results in permission issues, Unity pre-emptively enabling options based on incomplete info resulting in PM errors (Rider plugin auto-enable as a Package but it's a fresh project, Rider hasn't been opened yet). Sadly the Asset store issue is universal, there's not a single version of Unity that can mitigate the CEF / editor freeze issue, so it takes a few hours to get a single Asset from the store if you have over 1000 Assets, but once it has cleared it's internal meltdown you can download normally until it throws it's fit again. Hopefully once UT reach a "feature complete" stage of their current Khanate style expansionism they'll go back and fix the magic so it no longer causes pain, painless magic is best magic!
     
    fherbst and Vagabond_ like this.
  4. optimise

    optimise

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2014
    Posts:
    1,536
    Hi @LeonhardP. Can you get someone to look at Case 1140018? It has been confirmed by Nvidia that it's Unity editor bug.
     
  5. LeonhardP

    LeonhardP

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Posts:
    3,022
    The team has reached out to Nvidia to follow up on this.
     
    optimise likes this.
  6. AaronC

    AaronC

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    3,552
    Please go back and fix it.

    There's no way to make an HDRP asset? I have imported the HDRP package but the instructions:
    Create an HDRP Asset by selecting Assets > Create > Rendering > High Definition Render Pipeline Asset.
    Are either out of date or the apps broken.

    There is no such thing as Assets > Create > Rendering
    in the menu.

    Uber frustrating! unity gets out the door way more buggy than I remember it. I can handle fixing my own code flaws and fixing stuff that gets deprecated but Im fed up with trying to fix in-engine bugs and figuring our why menu links are completely missing.

    That's a no from me

    EDIT: I can't do any work until someone explains to me whats wrong.
    Please don't take too long!!!!!!!
     
    Last edited: Jul 24, 2019
  7. AaronC

    AaronC

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    3,552
    Create an HDRP Asset by selecting Assets > Create > Rendering > High Definition Render Pipeline Asset.

    OK Unity, sure, whatever you say

    Screenshot (266).png
     
  8. elbows

    elbows

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Posts:
    2,499
    All that really indicates is that the HDRP package is not working for your project - if it was working then you would see that menu option.

    Are there errors in your console? How did you import the HDRP package? Using package manager? Which version of HDRP?

    Try removing it and adding it again. Also you could try starting a fresh Unity project using the HDRP template, so you can see how it is all supposed to show up and work.
     
    Immu likes this.
  9. Lurking-Ninja

    Lurking-Ninja

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Posts:
    8,759
    Why are you using the alpha version then?

    If you're frustrated because of these things, use the LTS version (2018.4). Or maybe the tech release (2019.1).
    But certainly not the 2019.2.0a7 when the question was about 2019.2.0b7.

    And check which HDRP package is compatible with the engine version you end up with.
     
    JoNax97 and elbows like this.
  10. DavidSWu

    DavidSWu

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2016
    Posts:
    183
    One thing that I do like about 2019.2 is that for us at least, it crashes a lot less.
    Although I think that most of our crashes are due to firebase.
     
  11. mdyerga

    mdyerga

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2018
    Posts:
    4
    For some time i have just hit the update release button when Unity told me to. 2019 destroyed my project folder that has been with me for a year. it wont even open back in 2o18 now. I have already been told that i should back up before opening in a new release. Guess Ill know better next time. If any one has any advice for somone who would just like to recover the project in an earlier 2018 version, please let me know...
     
  12. LeonhardP

    LeonhardP

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Posts:
    3,022
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.