Search Unity

Feedback please :D

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Rakhee503, Jan 27, 2020.

1. Rakhee503

Rakhee503

Hello i'm new to making game's i've always dreamed about creating 2D pixel game :D. This is just a background for now. What i need from you guy's is a quick look at the background, its not finished and if you have any suggestions just tell me what im doing wrong or some idea's, thanks.
    if you gonna hate my background just write it...

Attached Files:

2. BIGTIMEMASTER

BIGTIMEMASTER

The image is too small to see. Make it bigger!

also, in general, usually art has some goal. something you are trying to communicate. Letting us know what the goal is will help us give better feedback compared to a general "is muh art crap or wut?"

Last edited: Jan 28, 2020
  3. Murgilod

Murgilod

I'll be honest, I did a WHOLE lot of work with a top to bottom critique, editing the whole thing, but there's a pretty big problem here.

100x50 is a ridiculously small resolution. It's very hard to draw any amount of detail out of that small resolution. To put things into perspective, the original Game Boy had a resolution of 160x144. That's 23040 pixels compared to your 5000. That's a prohibitively small canvas to work with. Here's your image blown up 4x:

upload_2020-1-27_20-59-10.png

But to add to that, the art itself has a lot of problems. The clouds look like little more that splotches, while the castle and mountain I can only really identify as either of those things because they have a really vague shape to them. I've redrawn the image at 160x144 in monochrome to kinda hammer home my Game Boy point.

upload_2020-1-27_21-9-40.png

The thing about pixel art is that you have to make a lot out of very little. This image contains four shades of green and that's it, but it's also (imo) considerably more readable. Let's work from the top down: