Search Unity

Feedback or comments needed for texture formats

Discussion in 'General Graphics' started by mingwai, Nov 9, 2017.

1. mingwai

mingwai

Small Graphics Potato Unity Technologies

In Unity nowadays, we have TextureFormat and RenderTextureFormat, also we have TextureImporterFormat. I have some questions about how users use them. So I have a few questions:

1. What is your method of choosing a format to use?

2. Do you struggle with choosing a correct format?
    Correct means the format fits perfectly with your needs, it is supported on your platforms etc.

3. Does the current API help you to make the decision? Do you rely on the APIs e.g. SystemInfo.SupportsRenderTextureFormat?

4. Any other difficulties you have when you work with texture formats?

2. nat42

nat42

I'm very new to Unity, but looking at the links I was surprised EAC formats are available given I wasn't seeing them in the editor for texture compression. Not having much experience with Unity I'm going to answer based off my gut...

1. I would imagine that these being enums common formats would have the same underlying value, but I would stick with using the appropriate enum for the use case (TextureFormat for a straight texture my shaders are going to sample from, RenderTextureFormat for a texture I intend to render to, and presumably TextureImportFormat would be formats the texture importer knows how to load?)

2. It seems like Unity has made certain choices forcing my hand to not try and target multiple fallback cases (ie. multiple compression methods, linear and gamma) It seems like I'd try and author maps / combine channels outside of Unity, and then import and use texture compression and see if the result looks acceptable.