Search Unity

Features Request

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by K0ST4S, May 13, 2022.

1. K0ST4S

K0ST4S

Hello. I have a few years experience with Unity and these are two problems that, in my opinion, just don't match the overall quality and capabilities of Unity.
    1. Raycasting and Graphic separation of components. I'd bet Raycast Target was made a part of Graphic in order to be noob friendly. However, I think Unity's community is strong enough to move past this. You don't always want to raycast a graphic and sometimes you want raycasting without a Graphic and consequential draw calls. There are cheats, where you can inherit Graphic and override methods that create draw calls, however, this still introduces overhead. I wish Unity made this more modular.
    2. Postprocessing Overlay Canvas. What if I want to have postprocessing on my UI and I wouldn't need a camera otherwise? I have found no solution to this and it's really disappointing because you either have to introduce a camera, which makes your game less lightweight or you have to settle with more minimalist UI. The best example of this is blur like in MacOS, which is currently not possible without cameras.
    Feedback is welcome, thanks.

2. DragonCoder

DragonCoder

1. You refer to raycasts on UI, right?
    Isn't UI the only place there this kind of raycast makes sense? Mean where would you want to use it without a visual component?
    For other purposes there is Physics.Raycast.

2. The requirement of postprocessing is always to have all pixels rendered onto some texture (render texture) where you apply the processing. That's exactly what a camera achieves. What part of a camera's "overhead" do you think could be omitted?
    A single second cam for UI is still fairly lightweight, I'd say.

3. hippocoder

hippocoder

Digital Ape