Search Unity

.FBX UV unwrap with Probuilder?

Discussion in 'World Building' started by Antonyvw, Sep 23, 2019.

1. Antonyvw

Antonyvw

Hi folk. Excuse a complete newbee asking questions which have probably already been done to the death. I want to know if its possible to use probuilder to add a texture to an imported model in say .fbx format? I know I can add it in blender for instance but having had a quick peek at probuilder I was wondering if it was capable of uv unwrapping said model and applying the texture.
    Ive built a model in blender and imported it without problem - and without any textures, but when I try to add a texture to a simple plane (not using probuilder), all Im getting is a base colour not the actual texture. I noted from one of the tutorial videos that a probuilder model can be exported to blender etc so is it possible to go the other way around?

2. calpolican

calpolican

Yes, you can use probuilder to make the UVs. You can grub any imported geometry and use "Probuilderize". This'll give pro builder all the info to treat it as its own. You can then open the Pro Builder UV editor. It has some auto features, probably you should pick the faces and use "Reset UVs" and then> "group the selected UVs". Though, I'm pretty sure that it would be much easier to just make it in Blender. I'm guessing the reason why you're not seeing the UVs in unity is, you just haven't made the UVs in Blender, period. You should search some blender tutorial on youtube, Blender is definetley better for the job. Do the UVs in blender, check how the texture look there, export your mesh to .fbx and you'll see them there.

R1S3R likes this.
  3. Antonyvw

Antonyvw